ooma Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ooma Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
ooma CEO Eric Stang (no image)
Eric Stang
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch on fridays, free bagels on Wednesdays, hourly wage is ok(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "They do tell you what marks you have to hit to become a full time employee(in 8 reviews)

  • "Unrealistic goals, micro management, always checking to see what you are doing(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good people. Business Strategy is in flux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at ooma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people Flexible schedule Competitive benefits and pay

    Cons

    Resources on the consumer side are down.

    ooma2019-10-14
  2. "Terrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesman in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ooma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good product, at a low price point

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals, micro management, always checking to see what you are doing

    Advice to Management

    More support, deals take time,

    ooma2019-09-27
  3. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ooma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and great team! Excellent communication upper management all the way down to direct management and even better company culture.

    Cons

    Outside sales is not always the easiest but I have nothing but good things to say about the company and management.

    Advice to Management

    None to mention, management takes great care of us.

    ooma2019-08-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Old school fixed mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Revenue Analyst in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ooma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative efforts by key stakeholders to push product is evident. Individuals from other teams try to gather people together to keep company culture uplifted is quite evident. Decent snack kitchen, lunch catered Fridays, standard health benefits.

    Cons

    Promotion of team building and company bonding times but behind the smoke screen, in some teams, management with extremely low EQ and communication skills exists. Management makes efforts to cover up each other's mistakes but passive agreessive behavior by immature managers or outright hostile emails/communication sent by them and even fellow team members is a norm. Little to no interest in career development of its... staff. Just expectations to get the job done. Regular turnover in staff within accounting team because of management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more mature people with a growth mindset and higher EQ. Use people's strengths and follow through on team building luncheons off site. Work on creating more collaborative teams and hire people who know how to communicate effectively.

    ooma2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I have ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Newark, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ooma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good management team. Lunch on Fridays. Company outing's. I have had alot of jobs in the past starting at this company they welcomed me with open arms when i came in no judgment and they are always willing to help you be successful. this is the first job that i have ever got to have a sit down with the CEO. :) also i love how they have their breaks set for the employee's.

    Cons

    The job is hard. But it is called work for a reason.

    ooma2019-07-25
  6. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ooma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO and the executive team regularly communicate with rest of employees on company objectives, goals, etc. CEO has a great open-door policy and very approachable. You surely make some good friends working here in/out of work.

    Cons

    Nothing too bad. Perhaps new products can be brought to market faster. Also, parts of the office/cube layout look old school. Looks like they are updating it section by section over time though.

    ooma2019-07-27
  7. "Working at Ooma has been very gratifying and rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Newark, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ooma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Ooma has been a very pleasurable and rewarding experience. The most exciting part of my job is that you never know what the day will bring. You may be having an average month, and then you close a large deal and feel elated! Ooma has an excellent compensation structure with the opportunity to earn lots of $$$. We have a close knit sales team that genuinely roots for one another to succeed. Our... thriving work environment is spearheaded by our sales manager. He's engaging, very knowledgeable, charismatic, and puts in the time to help our team achieve and break our sales goals. We get rewarded for our efforts. We've gone to A"s games, bowling, and we've had other outstanding company events. I love coming to work every day.....it's a great, positive, and enjoyable work environment. We also get delicious catered lunches every Friday!

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    ooma2019-07-26
  8. "Awesome Culture Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Newark, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ooma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best management i've ever had the pleasure to work with! Very supportive, this job will push you to grow in several aspects and the team will be there to help.

    Cons

    Telephone Sales is not for the faint of heart.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing.

    ooma2019-07-23
  9. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Newark, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ooma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch on Fridays. Thats pretty much it

    Cons

    Stressful work environment. I understand people have to move fast to improve metrics, but a lot of workers. including myself, felt stressed with supervisors constantly telling us to get onto the next call.

    ooma2019-07-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Salary plus Very little commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ooma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Protected territory since it's a relatively new company.

    Cons

    Extensive training promises but only had 2 days of it. Then its sink or swim and you nae $20 commission per sale unless you sell 20 per month. Then you make $500 per month.

    Advice to Management

    Train as promised

    ooma2019-07-12
Found 88 reviews
</>Embed