York Region Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

York Region Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
96%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
York Region Chairman & CEO Wayne Emmerson
Wayne Emmerson
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Wonderful work environment where you can constantly learn new things and develop skills(in 19 reviews)

  • "good benefits, lots of engaging events(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons to York Region(in 5 reviews)

  • "Unionized positions make it difficult to get a permanent position due to preference for seniority over fit(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Evaluate community health service human based programs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Evaluator in Newmarket, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice environment and good colleagues

    Cons

    Public sector limitations which include changing government agendas

    Continue reading
    York Region2020-02-20
  2. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Project Coordinator in Newmarket, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at York Region full-time

    Pros

    Extremely competitive pay, great opportunity for movement internally

    Cons

    Some lack of cohesion between departments

    York Region2020-01-28
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Assistant in Newmarket, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job life balance, good pay

    Cons

    Lack of growth, career advancement

    York Region2019-11-23
  4. "Payroll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Payroll Administrator 

    I worked at York Region full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, management is helpful

    Cons

    None. I really enjoyed working there.

    York Region2019-12-05
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Early Interventionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, employers cares about you, training, salary

    Cons

    Government cuts, job freeze due to cuts

    York Region2019-11-08
  6. "L&D Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newmarket, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee engagement programs, lots of opportunity to move around, support growth and development, work life balance

    Cons

    Seniority comes into play a lot working in a union environment

    York Region2019-10-29
  7. "Large office, small town feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great learning environment. Potential for growth.

    Cons

    Some confusion between the responsibilities of corporate IT and the various integrated business services.

    Continue reading
    York Region2019-10-06
  8. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sergeant in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at York Region full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Respect, values, variety, benefits and challenges

    Cons

    As far as a working environment goes, I have no cons. Every job has its good and bad. I’m a retired police officer and I had an excellent career.

    Continue reading
    York Region2019-09-16
  9. "Lots of opportunity and lots of heart!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Client Services, Information Management in Newmarket, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -People are friendly, professional and collaborative -Good Senior Leadership Team that is committed to the Organizations values. - Organization is committed to creating an inclusive and diverse workplace - Very good benefits including flex time, compressed work week, telework, performance pay -Strong staff participation in the United Way Campaign -I have worked in Federal Government, For-profit, Non-profit, Private Sector and this continues to be my favourite place to work. I really enjoy the people and the organizational culture.

    Cons

    - Decentralized budget oversight amongst departments creates a two tier system which allows Departments to empire build - Systemic pay parity issues unintentionally create pockets of the organization that are "pink collar ghettos", particularly in support departments.

    Continue reading
    York Region2019-06-28
  10. "Room to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RPN, RAI Coordinator in Maple, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at York Region full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you try hard you can move up in the corporation, they will allow for the training when they feel the position is required and your supervisor allows

    Cons

    The need to get along with your supervisor to be able to advance in your career

    York Region2019-06-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 69 reviews