Wowcher Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wowcher Reviews

Updated 8 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Wowcher CEO Roland Bryan (no image)
Roland Bryan
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "They put a lot of effort into Summer and Christmas parties(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great People and working atmosphere, I have made many friends at Wowcher and really enjoy coming to work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Awful senior management, totally out of touch with how to treat employees(in 7 reviews)

  • "Very limited opportunity for career progression within the company(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowcher full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed office, great location, supportive staff, fantastic management.

    Cons

    Takes a long time to build your pipeline so patience is very important!

    Wowcher2019-10-09
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowcher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, relaxed office, lots of benefits, good company that cares for its staff

    Cons

    Salary can be a little low

    Wowcher2019-08-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Hard work but worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - London Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowcher full-time

    Pros

    Location of the office is decent, two minutes walk from the tube. Office has a great culture, I work with the most supportive team of people who will always help so you can get the best results. I’ve learned some good sales skills whilst working here. Management have a full open door policy and are approachable about anything. CEO is a top geezer he joins us in footy nights he is an all round top guy.... Wow her parties are definitely the highlight of the year.

    Show More

    Cons

    Office is very hot during the summer, this can be more difficult without a relaxed dress code.

    Advice to Management

    More air con units please.

    Wowcher2019-06-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company culture, all round great job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowcher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The London office culture is great, I've met some of the best people and have made some life friends. I started at Wowcher around a year ago and my start wasn't as good as I hoped, new management came in and all that changed. I have learned so much over the past year, I now feel confident in my own ability, I am sure I have not only grown as a sales person but grown as an individual too. There are great... development opportunities, the company is continuing to grow, driving people to be the best they can be. Everyone is very friendly and always make time to help you when your in need.

    Show More

    Cons

    London office can feel quite on top. Never any real private areas to have important calls with top end merchants

    Advice to Management

    Lots of companies are now doing unlimited holidays, maybe Wowcher could look into it?

    Wowcher2019-07-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Progressive Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowcher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture Innovative Strong leadership team

    Cons

    Could be more flexible to keep up with other London based companies

    Wowcher2019-06-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Compliance at wowcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wowcher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it's a sociable place to work

    Cons

    for myself, I worked hard with barely any help and did my best for a year, its a very stressful role but felt very undervalued and essentially disposable.

    Advice to Management

    notice the work your employees do, notice their contribution, their value to the company, a lot of people quit because of the way they are made to feel especially by management

    Wowcher2019-07-09
  7. "Great play to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowcher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff, team and people. A lot to learn in short space of time but commission very achievable

    Cons

    Progression can be quick but role doesn't change much.

    Wowcher2019-06-20
  8. "Fast Moving, Fun Industry, Lots of Responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowcher full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    More of a lifestyle than a job. I love eating out and trying new places so to work in an industry that promotes these things really suits me.

    Cons

    The business is constantly growing so can be tough to get to grips with new processes.

    Wowcher2019-05-20
  9. Helpful (4)

    "If you can avoid working here, you probably should"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wowcher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Free coffee and tea -Ping pong table in office -Regular Friday socials with free drinks, breakfast on Fridays, summer conference, Christmas party -Good holiday allowance -The managers and colleagues within the Content team were lovely, hard-working people who managed to remain positive despite all the company's issues (see below)

    Cons

    -THE PAY. While sales people may make good money on commission, the analysis and content teams are NOT making anywhere near what they should for the amount of specialised work they do -Lack of diversity, both within the employees they hire and the company culture. I was once told by a long-time sales person to change my chosen stock photo of an Asian woman to a white woman because 'white people sell better'... (!!!!!) -Lack of work flexibility. With a job like this, it should be easy to have flexible start/end times or work-from-home days to improve work/life balance within the 45hr work week. This was not offered and suggestions to do this were immediately shut down -Very limited opportunity for career progression within the company -Content team is treated as an admin team rather than a creative team. Sales people were given more creative authority than the content team, which is ridiculous as that is what we were hired for! -Ideas to improve efficiency were ignored or not followed through on -CEO is extremely out of touch. He told an anecdote at the summer conference about how he bought a bike for €2000 and how that was 'such a steal' (while employees had to sit there and listen to it, knowing full well they're not getting paid what they should)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Pay the content and analysis teams a fair salary for the work they do (i.e. a couple grand more than what you're paying them now). The turnover rate within the company is awful and this is the number one reason -Hire sales managers/employees who aren't averse to ideas for positive change, and ask long-time employees to be open to change as well. The standard response of 'well we've always done it that way, just do... it that way again' is ridiculous in a tech environment and will be the death of this company -Give the content team more authority in creative control. They were literally hired for this -Sort out your HR department. Any issue I had took ages to get fixed, no matter how basic it was. They also simply 'forgot' to add me to a pension plan for the first five months of my employment

    Show More
    Wowcher2019-05-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "It's not right, but it's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Writer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wowcher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Working in Content, you get to write for a wide variety of brands and your work is seen by a huge subscriber base -With the breadth and variety of content on-site, you definitely develop as a writer and editor - Great culture for recent graduates - In the 2+ years I was with Wowcher, I never had to work late or past my contracted hours -Breakfast on a Friday and regular team socials

    Cons

    - The role can become quite repetitive. The Content team work to daily deadlines, which means day-to-day there isn't much space to take on other projects. -Besides learning to use the CMS, there is no additional training. Your skills aren't nurtured and you won't be expected to learn anything new. -Internally hired managers aren't always given the right support. In some cases, they're expected to manage big teams... without being given the training to do so. -Progression is possible, but at times it feels like a waiting game until a more senior member leaves so that you can move up -The CMS is outdated and difficult to use – it kind of looks like a 1992 version of Microsoft Word (please Google for reference). Because of this, it also isn't possible to work from home #Why #Its2019People -(For some bizarre reason) Content are the port of call for every area of the businuss and blamed for anything that might go wrong (did somebody say codes?) -The CEO won't recognise your existence until the day of Black Friday. That's when you'll find him storming around the office like Lord Voldermort, ordering you to change the site in ways that literally aren't possible - the limescale in the kettles – I honestly can't even

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Treat the Content team like a creative team, rather than an admin team - Check in on your managers – just because they're in a management position doesn't mean they won't need supporting

    Wowcher2019-04-07
Found 93 reviews