Wooga Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Wooga Founder & CEO Jens Begemann
Jens Begemann
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Positive work enviroment, good work life balance(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great people, flexible times and projects are interesting(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of opportunity for career growth(in 6 reviews)

  • "you better be German if you want to be promoted and have responsibilities(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Software Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Wooga full-time

    Pros

    - great HR team that supports the employees - owners seem keen to take care of their employees - great benefits compare to other companies in the city - great parties and locations - great work-life balance

    Cons

    - career growth is a bit flat, which is good and bad - can be non transparent occasionally

    Wooga2015-05-04
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Great place, if you don't care about your career"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wooga full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very social - Lots of team events - Free beer - Work is not hard or demanding, if that's your thing

    Cons

    - Really limited career path, unless you are German - Germans are given higher pay - A lot of people in charge that clearly don't have a clue what they are doing (*see recent game launches) - Having knowledge and experience is a disadvantage, you just have to follow blindly into bad decision after bad decision - Games take forever to make - Chasing the market at a snails pace - Too many uninformed people making big decisions and cancelling projects

    Continue reading
    Wooga2015-08-27
  3. "Wooga is a great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Designer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wooga full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is very transparent and open to feedback from all employees. Wooga is very diverse and inclusive. No crunch. Work/life balance is respected. Wooga is generally supportive. Wooga actively facilitates career growth and development. Wooga is currently a very stable place to work.

    Cons

    Salaries are not transparent. Career advancement can be unclear.

    Continue reading
    Wooga2020-05-21
  4. "Fabulous, brilliant and supportive Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wooga full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started working at Wooga this month remotely and everything has been great. My impression of the company so far, is the sharing by co-workers of the hacker mentality, that is, continuous improvement looking to deliver the best gaming experience possible for story-driven games. The level of detail is enormous and I really enjoy that dedication. * You can always express your ideas loudly, they are very interested in new ones. * People is approachable and always ready to help, there are just good vibes in the air. * The whole company is focused on achieving a common goal and teamwork is always present in each department. * Wooga is a very diverse company, in the sense of backgrounds, nationalities and also, there is a strong presence of women in highly technical roles which is a big plus in this vertical. *The onboarding process is very substantial, they make sure you feel comfortable before taking actual tasks. * There is a self-development budget in order to enhance or learn skills that are important for your role. * There is a perfect work-life balance, no one seems to be burned by the job. * You can choose your preferred tech equipment and device, which is a huge plus! * There is a library in the company with books about specialized matters, on-going learning is crucial in this vertical. *There was even a productivity budget during corona times to set up a proper working space at home, hugely appreciated by everyone.

    Cons

    I don't see any cons.

    Continue reading
    Wooga2020-05-18
  5. "Not as great (anymore)"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wooga full-time

    Pros

    Awesome colleagues, but from most have left by bow :(

    Cons

    Since Playtika acquired Wooga a lot of things have been changing unfortunately...

    Continue reading
    Wooga2020-05-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Recently hired, but this is the most thoughtful company I've worked for"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Game Designer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wooga full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Superb yet intense hiring process. You really feel valued and looked after, but at the same time they really make sure you're a right fit for the role and culture of the company - Excellent onboarding despite the current situation with Corona. They created entire processes to be able to onboard people during these times of working from home. Everyone is very willing and helpful at getting you up to speed - Excellent company benefits

    Cons

    - Technical set-up/onboarding was a bit more difficult due to no not having someone looking over your shoulder to help. But this is more a product of the current situation, rather than a failing on Wooga's part

    Wooga2020-04-22
  7. "Great place to work even during difficult times"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wooga full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have joined the company after the quarantine has started, and received full support. Equipment delivered at my home, remote onboarding and full work from home policies. Great culture, great people, flexible times and projects are interesting. Many different benefits. And the city is amazing, even with limited services available right now.

    Cons

    None I can think of right now.

    Wooga2020-04-22
  8. "Amazing place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Programmer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wooga full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice culture, nice people, Work from home during quarantine

    Cons

    None I can think yet.

    Wooga2020-03-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Keep Away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Designer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wooga full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing really. Only some free coffee in the kitchen. Beer on Fridays, if that would make some people happy.

    Cons

    Toxic Management Incompetent Management No meritocracy but smile at right time to right people. Boring projects. Low salary.

    Continue reading
    Wooga2020-04-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Positive and creative"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wooga full-time

    Pros

    Wooga is a great company to work in an environment of creative and fun people. You feel comfortable and taken care of

    Cons

    Salary is a bit low, but that's normal in the game industry

    Wooga2020-03-03
Found 101 reviews