Wine Rack Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wine Rack Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Wine Rack CEO Jay Wright
Jay Wright
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Get a few free bottles of wine each month(in 6 reviews)

  • "You will learn about Niagara wines and a couple of free bottles every month(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management does nothing to protect the minimum wage staff(in 22 reviews)

  • "A lot of upselling and upper management getting upset when not meeting goals(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun job, great team atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Wine Merchant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wine Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth Great co-workers Good management

    Cons

    Work can becoming boring after a while Managers move from store to store which can change dynamic

    Advice to Management

    Don't move your managers around so often

    Wine Rack2019-02-04
  2. "They are flexible - But unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Wine Merchant 

    I worked at Wine Rack part-time

    Pros

    Very easy tasks Can have with other jobs Great for wine knowledge

    Cons

    Very unstable hours Management and staff always changing Low pay

    Wine Rack2019-09-16
  3. "Good Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wine Merchant in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wine Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth within the company

    Cons

    Limited space in certain areas

    Wine Rack2019-08-23
  4. "Good part-time sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Wine Merchant in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Wine Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Building coworker and customer relationships

    Cons

    can be boring for certain shiftd

    Wine Rack2019-08-09
  5. "You must love wine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Manager 

    I have been working at Wine Rack full-time

    Pros

    Customer who share the passion for wine

    Cons

    Too much useless paperwork not customer focused

    Wine Rack2019-08-03
  6. "Good retail experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Wine Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wine lovers would find it interesting

    Cons

    There are always people who are trying to steal bottles

    Wine Rack2019-07-25
  7. "Easy job with poor upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Wine Rack part-time

    Pros

    Easy to excel, potentially good coworkers

    Cons

    Slow, poor management, unrealistic expectations

    Wine Rack2019-07-26
  8. "Changes rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wine Rack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free wine and trips

    Cons

    A lot of upselling and upper management getting upset when not meeting goals

    Wine Rack2019-06-12
  9. "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wine Merchant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wine Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Wine, so that is ok I guess. But if you work anywhere else you can just go buy better wine.

    Cons

    If you work literally anywhere else you will be happier. Management is the worst, HR is horrible, pay is pennies. Value yourself, look anywhere else.

    Wine Rack2019-07-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Low-paying corporate job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Champion in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wine Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your coworkers can be extremely nice and fun.

    Cons

    The company pays you minimum wage with rare and hilariously low opportunities for raises. Despite this, they expect you to humiliate yourself by dressing up like a grape and don't care when people harass you on the street. They also expect you to work like you make commission, but of course you don't. They make you track your goals thoroughly, but every reward they ever offer you is just... wine. How about paying... your employees properly and keeping them safe? I feared for my life on countless occasions. All my friends can't believe the stories I have from this job. But Wine Rack didn't want to pay for security. They would only pay a skinny 20 year old to be security on holidays. Some days you would work alone in the morning, even though there were always supposed to be 2+ people working. One of my coworkers was assaulted by a customer. No security. People stole from us endlessly. We were reviewed on camera by the manager and told not to even lean against the counter. If we were standing still we were told we had to swing a sign that said "free wine samples". Wine Rack fostered a toxic, partying attitude toward alcohol that brought in the wrong kind of people and the wrong kind of attitudes and neglect for the rules. If you don't want trouble, act like LCBO. I had recurring nightmares of being chased by criminals up until I left this job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change literally everything you do. Respect your employees. Pay them better and stop demanding such ridiculous things from them. Care about their safety. You're not fooling anyone with your cheery attitudes acting like it's a fun party place to work. By the way, you shouldn't make a store selling alcohol "fun". It's serious, and when you make it seem fun you risk our safety.

    Wine Rack2019-05-24
Found 100 reviews