Wickes Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wickes Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Simon King
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get a lot of good benefits working with Wickes as it is under the Travis Perkins Group(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good staff discount and perks scheme(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work and stress is not worth the minimum wage they offer you(in 8 reviews)

  • "Uneducated People given store managers position without training(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "customer assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wickes full-time

    Pros

    good work enviroment good working team well worked shift plan

    Cons

    can sometimes be hard physical work

    Advice to Management

    Apply more than one person to a task if the item could potentially be strainuous

    Wickes2019-05-13
  2. "Same routine, different day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Wickes part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You got pizza working on the odd night shift

    Cons

    If you love routine you’ll love this because your never going to be trained past induction, never pushed, and management will never seek to improve your skills... trust me it sucks. I wasn’t even interviewed, I knew someone that worked there. Work for a company that takes pride in the culture it creates for its colleagues.

    Advice to Management

    Offer programmes for colleges to better themselves, apprenticeship schemes work because employees get a qualification on the job.

    Wickes2019-05-10
  3. "Customer sale assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service/Sales Assistant in Blackheath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wickes part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible ,close to my house

    Cons

    Not creative , less communication between staff

    Advice to Management

    To update staff regarding new policies ,more training

    Wickes2019-05-12
  4. "Finance head office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Watford, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wickes full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Flat hierarchy - Canteen downstairs - Location not bad

    Cons

    This organisation has become very toxic, especially after the 2018 redundancies. I’ve witnessed other employees in finance at the head office belittled and undermined constantly. Senior managers have become very petty and have ruined the culture of this workplace. Avoid at all costs. No progression unless your on a senior level. Staff turn over is incredibly high and more people will be leaving, especially from finance.

    Advice to Management

    Value staff and stop ruining the culture of Wickes.

    Wickes2019-05-03
  5. "It wasn’t what it use to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wickes full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    A great team spirit with your stores and met some amazing people spent 18 years progressing to a Operations Manager

    Cons

    The list is endless: Poor recruitment of external management, brought in on hugely inflated salaries and not having a clue. Although have worked along side some of the best managers Regional management expectation is ridiculous with budgets cuts left right and centre. You are expected to work past your finish time almost everyday. They push their family values, failed to see any in my last few years

    Advice to Management

    There is a whole another world out there, best decision I ever made leaving

    Wickes2019-04-10
  6. "Amazing Progression and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wickes full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Have worked for a few great managers since joining as a part time sales assistant. - Progressed from part time sales assistant to operations manager in 2 years and on track for my own store. - Fair and respective management team. - Great regional managers. - Amazing colleagues that are what you make them to be!

    Cons

    - Shortage of staff is an issue as expectations of stores are outpacing the support given in wage budgets. - Low cost operator - meaning we can’t always compete with other large businesses when making pay offers. - Over reliance on stores to implement new strategies with minimal external support.

    Advice to Management

    Lessen the dependence on stores to do as much of the process work and increase support in stores when it comes to implementing new projects or promotions. Need a lesser reliance on teenagers as they are the only demographic we can appeal to with our pay offer.

    Wickes2019-03-25
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst 

    I worked at Wickes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not great about here just giving this review for fun

    Cons

    Not good enough holy city

    Advice to Management

    You should treat your employees well

    Wickes2019-03-22
  8. "Pros/cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Wickes part-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours which is good

      Cons

      Little progression which ca be frustrating

      Wickes2019-03-12
    • "Great company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Northampton, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Wickes part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I found this job great while I was at the university. The management always listened to my availability and altered my shifts for me when needed. I have started working as a temp through an agency and got offered a permanent job just after a few weeks. I found it great since I got to know all the tasks well, from data input to booking deliveries and then working with the Wickes Installations customers and installers themselves....

      Show More

      Cons

      There is some strict dress code rules however uniform is provided in case you prefer not to wear your own clothes to work. The building is quite old. Working as a customer service agent can be challenging and occasionally there is a lack of time off the phone in order to complete your tasks. Dealing with colleagues from the stores can also be challenging.

      Advice to Management

      Stay great and listen to your employees!

      Wickes2019-03-04
    • "Average"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Wickes full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Full time work guaranteed

      Cons

      Minimum wage Little chance to progress

      Wickes2019-03-07
    Found 160 reviews