Whitepages Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Whitepages Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Whitepages CEO Leigh McMillan (no image)
Leigh McMillan
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Whitepages has about 30 employees, which means it is small enough that everyone knows what is going on(in 53 reviews)

  • "They are very understanding that life happens and the work/life balance is the best I've ever seen at a company(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "It takes a little bit of time to get used to people giving you a funny look when you tell them you work at Whitepages(in 16 reviews)

  • "(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Poised for growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitepages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super engaged senior leadership. They realize the challenges of not just the organization, but what the people who make up the organization have gone thru. There is a clear plan in place and the parts and pieces are coming together to make it a reality. There are really smart people here and they work together really well. You can literally see the learning and growth and how the company is adapting to a... changing landscape. It's fun being a part of the office!

    Show More

    Cons

    Great place if you are willing to be adaptive. The changes are well understood and the team is working hard at moving the right direction. I wouldn't say this is a con at all, unless you are the type of person who wants to do the same thing everyday.

    Advice to Management

    You've got the right plan in place. Let's keep kicking butt in delivering it!

    Whitepages2019-09-25
  2. "Healthy work environment & culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitepages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at Whitepages close to a year now, and I can honestly say that it is the healthiest work environment I've ever been a part of. Although the company is relatively small, and there's a lot to get done, leadership promotes healthy work/life balance, and understands that not everything can be done at once. For a team of this size, Whitepages has a lot of incredibly talented folks. The company as a whole... is is full of collaborative, fun people, and it's apparent that we all genuinely enjoy working together. The diversity here is unlike anything I've ever seen for a company this size. Whitepages leadership/recruiting doesn't just talk the talk - they actually walk the walk when it comes to recruiting/hiring people from all different walks of life. It's very refreshing. For a not-so-sexy product, I've thoroughly enjoyed a lot of the projects I've worked on (more so than I expected, to be honest). Every employee is encouraged to take ownership of their projects, get creative, and push back when they feel strongly about something. There's a lot of transparency within the company. It's easy to see how your work impacts the business. The company pays competitively and offers a lot of perks (free snacks, drinks, HH, Friday lunches, good insurance, solid bonus structure, etc.) Whitepages genuinely values their employees. Leadership cares about every person here not only as an employee, but as a person. They make that apparent in how they handle career development & personal goals, health/benefits, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    Data aggregation isn't sexy, plain and simple. It takes a little bit of time to get used to people giving you a funny look when you tell them you work at Whitepages. However for most, that's easy to move beyond. Small company = lots of hats to wear. Every employee is expected to juggle a wide array of projects and tasks, and it can become overwhelming at times. Thankfully, leadership is aware of this, and they... make a point to promote an open door policy so that you can speak up if you're feeling swamped. Resources can be scarce, and it can be tough to get things done quickly. This is something leadership is aware of, but it's an obvious pain point that the company is still working through.

    Show More
    Whitepages2019-08-29
  3. "Great place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitepages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Whitepages is a great place if you're looking to make a direct impact with your work and grow your career. We have a great new group of leadership who encourage and empower us to pursue new opportunities in our respective fields. - I don't feel the need to tiptoe or beat around the bush with my manager, we are very direct and open. My manager also treats me like a person, not just an employee. They are very... understanding that life happens and the work/life balance is the best I've ever seen at a company. - Whitepages doesn't stand still or become complacent. We are always looking forward and it continues to be an exciting place to work. - The overall culture feels more like family/good pals versus co-workers. Employees go out to lunch together, happy hour, etc. Everyone is just so friendly and welcoming. - We have the most diverse group of employees, especially for such a small bunch. - There are a lot of the typical tech company perks such as snacks, lots of drink options, events, happy hours, lunches, stand-up desks, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    I completely understand the pros of hiring new grads, but we need some more mid/manager level engineers to mentor these youngins.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keepin' on. The transparency is great. With the new leadership, I feel very optimistic about the future of Whitepages and the opportunities for the employees in all departments.

    Whitepages2019-08-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Whitepages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Reliability Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitepages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with Whitepages for 3 years, seven months now and when I look back on all the major events, I can mentally point out where I had a valued impact on Whitepage's success. When you work at Whitepages, you have the opportunity have a lasting legacy that you can proudly look back on and grow from.

    Cons

    Small companies tend to require stepping out of your normal role to take on more responsibility. The biggest challenge is managing your workload.

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting good work life balance and career growth opportunities.

    Whitepages2019-08-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and fit for most"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitepages full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve been fortunate to have had a career that has spanned the extremes of business from large corporations all the way to a family business. And, there are Pros and Cons to working in a large corporation as well as a family business. At a larger corporation, you can focus on developing a specific skill set, but you have less ownership and ability to impact the business. While at a family business, your sense of... ownership is huge, and your decisions impact the business on a day-to-day basis. But, you're spread thin, and your responsibilities extend across the entire business. Depending on your personality and career goals one size company may better suit you than another. Whitepages sits in the middle - an established successful, evolving, and growing business with a startup feel. I’ve worked at Whitepages for more than 5 years and I can attest to the ever evolving business and product offerings to satisfy customer demands and needs. When I started, we had just released our first B2B product. Years later, there have been acquisitions, spin-offs, failed products, and new products released. But, most importantly, there has been continued success. Whitepages is far from a business on cruise control. Although, the business was established in 1997, every year brings new challenges and growth opportunities. Whitepages.com is a top website attracting millions of users every month with various needs and wants that are always evolving. Identifying and meeting these customer needs requires a team of high-talent engineers, marketers, product thinkers, operations professionals, leaders, and leadership. It’s a full team effort. If you’re looking for: - Ownership and the ability to impact the business immediately - Rolling up your sleeves and getting your hands dirty - Working for a smaller company and wearing multiple hats - Taking the lead, collaborating, and driving successful change - Creatively solving problems, growing, and building new products in the ever evolving technology industry - Leaving bureaucracy, drama, and ego at the door - Stepping up and proving what you can do Whitepages is the place for you whether you’re starting your career or hitting your stride. I’ve been fortunate to have held multiple job titles here at Whitepages, and I continue to expand and grow my career and talents.

    Show More

    Cons

    - It’s not a 9 to 5 job; it’s a small company with large ambitions - Not everyone thinks data is sexy - Everyday brings new challenges; you must be flexible and adapt - Taking risks and making big decisions is stressful - It takes work; success isn’t easy

    Advice to Management

    We have a smaller team, and many team members have talents outside of their job descriptions that can be leveraged to grow the business and improve efficiencies

    Whitepages2019-08-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitepages full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Whitepages has about 30 employees, which means it is small enough that everyone knows what is going on. The culture set by management is great - employees are given authority, tools and responsibly to get things done. There is little or no "politics". The whole company emphases openness (regular all hands where financial & business results are shared) & collaboration (people work together to solve problems,... often across different disciplines). There is plenty of opportunity to learn about new stuff. The overall feel is a bit like a startup (despite being 20+ years old), but just the good parts of a startup: freedom, responsibility, attitude, openness, clever people, work hard and get rewarded. The physical space is great and reflects the culture: open plan, sit/stand desks, no offices (even for the CEO) so everyone is accessible. But at the same time, it is a work environment, there is not too much noise. In one of the best locations in downtown Seattle with easy access to transit & lots of food trucks and restaurants.

    Show More

    Cons

    Whitepages has a good strategic vision and is not constantly changing direction (unlike some other "startup"-like companies), but sometimes these get interrupted to react to something that is happening in the marketplace. Benefits are very good, but can be communicated poorly (e.g. the "unlimited vacation" which is not truly unlimited).

    Advice to Management

    Continue to implement openness and collaboration. Define a mission and vision and make sure our short-term decisions align to these longer-team vision. Continue to give employees opportunities to grow & learn. Do not implement too much process but do have enough so we make the right decisions.

    Whitepages2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Short-term gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitepages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Summarized: Exposure to technology and people. It's a smaller team, so there's a lot of exposure to the different types of technologies. Issues are handled quickly by the people on-call. Lots of interaction with both your teammates, and people in other groups.

    Cons

    Summarized: Short-term gig. The learning curve levels off fairly quickly after a year. Not much of a code review since PMs are breathing down your neck, so no wonder there's a good handle on fixing production issues fast.

    Advice to Management

    I understand that there's a lot of communication. "twice monthly all-hands meetings, many smaller team meetings and in quarterly reviews where we talk openly about the good and the bad". But there's a definite difference in quality of communication. It's great knowing how fantastic the company is, how we should all write reviews on Glassdoor and the app store on how fantastic our products are, and tell our... family and friends to use the product, but it gets old to a certain point.

    Show More
    Whitepages2019-08-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Needs more experienced leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitepages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - A lot of different technologies (Python Flask, Scala, Rails, React Native) - Some nice perks like snacks and team outings - Cool people to work with

    Cons

    * Ineffective 1:1’s: 1:1's should be a place for employees to express how they're feeling, what their goals are, and how management can actively help them achieve their goals. Instead, it was a time for management to reiterate team goals > individual goals. It was demoralizing and made career growth difficult. * Product & Engineering Imbalance: Many times, it felt like Product was in charge of... Engineering. It should rather be a team effort where all opinions are listened to and discussed. * Bad use of bandwidth: Not using much bandwidth for tech debt or a deeper learning of each tech stack. Though I mentioned we have many technologies to work on, it's difficult to take time to have a deep understanding. In fact, to increase efficiency, teams were split into frontend & backend, which makes it easy to feel pigeon holed. * Unclear vision for the company: The business is definitely gaining money every month, but it's difficult to understand the acceleration. It's also difficult to understand where the execs see the company in 2-3 years (even in the next year). I was having a hard time being excited for the product. * Many repeat tasks: Because we pull to the left and get things done quickly, many bugs are introduced to the codebase. And the next several weeks are just fixing those small bugs. It gets frustrating for engineers to do the same thing several times & and have artificial deadlines. And I'm sure it's frustrating for PMs to not be able to move on to other marketing initiatives.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. It's clear that there's a pattern of complaints for career development across the company, so prioritize that. 2. Listen more, and don't be so quick to explain why people's thoughts & feelings are wrong. It comes off as dismissive. 3. Create more of a team environment where everyone's opinions feel important. It's currently more of a bureaucratic feel, which is normally a reason people don't work for... big companies (definitely shouldn't be happening at a company as small as Whitepages). 4. Be a little clearer about the year's timeline & goals. Get all people in all departments to really believe in the product.

    Show More
    Whitepages2019-08-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "not for the long haul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitepages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to know everything, and able to handle production issues really quickly. Have exposure to all the technologies the company uses. Cool and interesting people. Compensation is good for a company this size. The company makes good profits.

    Cons

    Career is stagnant after a while, little room for growth Constantly rewriting the same services, solving the same issues over and over. Culture is secretive, decisions made behind doors and not communicated well No clear vision for business growth No matter how good or important you are, you can get laid off out of the blue, sometimes on the morning right after you are back from vocation. Decent place to start,... not long term Almost 100% turnover in engineering within 4 months definitely says something...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the people, not randomly laying them off.

    Whitepages2019-08-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience with Whitepages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitepages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Strong culture fit for me -Hardworking people throughout the entire company -Passion, care, and interest in the work -Growth, the company is growing internationally -Lots of morale events, e.g. lunches, company trip, holiday gift, etc. -The Pro product proactively prevents fraudulent transactions at the enterprise level, it really does use "data for good" (one of the company's mottos)

    Cons

    -The consumer product is useful and a long-standing money maker, but it makes information about people that they assume to be private, public. More documentation and advertisement should be made available to consumers regarding how their information is made available - that this is public information from multiple public databases and we've gathered it in to one place - that we don't have the power to delete it.

    Whitepages2019-01-21
Found 124 reviews