Whitbread Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Whitbread Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 445 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Whitbread CEO Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you want to work with nice people in a known name it can give you that(in 20 reviews)

  • "good working environment, great people to work with(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, stressful and pressured environment(in 24 reviews)

  • "head office location (very difficult to reach via public transport)(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Burton upon Trent, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are good

    Cons

    Cutting to much expenditure making job very hard

    Whitbread2019-09-09
  2. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Reception 

    I worked at Whitbread part-time

    Pros

    Good perks of discounted rooms

    Cons

    Low pay no aircon in reception

    Whitbread2019-09-12
  3. "Great place with work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment. Good Career progression, Flexible.

    Cons

    Being a mature company, has red tapes

    Whitbread2019-08-22
  4. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, work hours, people. Alright at the end of the day.

    Cons

    Drama which doesn't say much as working in a kitchen.

    Advice to Management

    None to be given to them.

    Whitbread2019-08-22
  5. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount as costa, premier inn and other restaurants

    Cons

    Management is difficult as there’s so many on shift at the same time There’s a lot of online training when starting and a lot gets added to complete seasonally

    Whitbread2019-09-05
  6. "Great place to work.. until new GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Play Area Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Great work life balance. Tips kept as your own. Great benefits with Premier Inns around the country. I came in originally as a Team Member and within 5 months was promoted to Team Leader. I really enjoyed my time at the Brewers Fayre, was there just a month shy of 2 years. I worked within the Play Area and enjoyed every minute of it. That was until we got a new GM. Them and I did not particularly see... eye to eye. Felt as though I was pushed out the door. Handing my notice to them and was told "I was expecting this to be honest." I couldn't believe it. I really do miss working there. I'd go back tomorrow if the current GM was not.

    Show More

    Cons

    I didn't really feel there was any.

    Whitbread2019-08-17
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hotel Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits; great management; development opportunities

    Cons

    Pay, it’s not enough for the stress we experiencing every day

    Whitbread2019-08-14
  8. "Boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Night Receptionist in Cwmbran, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Whitbread part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work on your own very little job satisfaction

    Cons

    When you do a good job never a thank you or well done

    Whitbread2019-08-28
  9. "Brilliant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hotel Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and progression, excellent bonus scheme for senior management, scope to transfer internally, senior roles have better than average work life balance for hospitality industry.

    Cons

    - Team member retention can be low. Mostly due to hourly pay not being competitive enough. - labour model is very tight

    Advice to Management

    To become the most loved hotel chain, we need more flexible labour model to give the first class, individual and special attention to guests

    Whitbread2019-08-11
  10. "Wonderful Whitbread"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing, Costa Enterprises in Dunstable, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture, values - customer heartbeat, the whitbread way People Inclusive Clear kpis and objective appraisal setting and review

    Cons

    Location due to being on M1, Junction 11 - very heavy congestion Bigger office required Overflow car park a long walk

    Advice to Management

    Keep the whitbread way values and customer heartbeat. The only company values I remember!

    Whitbread2019-08-07
Found 445 reviews