Waddell & Reed Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Waddell & Reed Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 401 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Waddell & Reed CEO Philip Sanders
Philip Sanders
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Waddell & Reed Mutual Funds are fantastic with great leadership at the flagship(in 25 reviews)

  • "Good work- life balance with flexible schedules(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also they don’t pay for any of your licensing, so until you’re(in 22 reviews)

  • "100% commission and it can be difficult to build your own book from scratch(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lots of Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 

    I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    If you work at the home office you receive all kinds of special treatment and are well taking care of

    Cons

    If you work in the field you get left behind and it is up field leaders to recognize. Also, with all the changes there will no longer be any field positions left unless it is management

    Waddell & Reed2019-05-14
  2. "W&R"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, good people in both field and HQ. Used to have gifts and awards, give turkey for Thanksgiving, etc..

    Cons

    Revolving door of advisors, many were thrown in the oven without a life best. Job duties change swiftly and vary between field offices. Communication between HQ and field was not great. Lots of pressure on admins to correct expensive mistakes without much training. They have worked on that though in the years I was there. Did not make living wage.

    Advice to Management

    A little goes a long way. There are a lot of ppl that love the company that feel unappreciated

    Waddell & Reed2019-04-06
  3. "Back Office Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BOSS Associate in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Having the weekends off is great, the benefits package is very good.

    Cons

    You do not know when you get off daily until about 3pm-330pm. If you are an extrovert and like to be "busy" on your feet, not the right job for you.

    Waddell & Reed2019-03-28
  4. "Could have been much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for folks bringing a book of business, which is next to impossible in today's industry.

    Cons

    If you aren't bringing a book of business, and they decide to hire you as a "scratch-start" advisor in order to fulfill hiring quotas they set internally, be prepared for 0% of the infrastructure geared towards your development, and I wish I was exaggerating.

    Advice to Management

    None, unfortunately the list would be not worth my time.

    Waddell & Reed2019-04-10
  5. Helpful (5)

    "On its way to the bottom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    My direct manager and co-workers are great. If I didn't work with good people, I'd find a new job. Good work- life balance with flexible schedules.

    Cons

    The company is being ran by a HR leader who has somehow managed to manipulate those in the C- suite into thinking he's a genius - on all topics. He's a bully who lacks integrity, professionalism and basic understanding of HR functions. Your HR leader should not throw tantrums like a 2 year old when he doesn't get his way. There's little training, low raises, consistent turnover, low morale, basic benefits, poor leadership,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up! You are being led off a cliff. Really invest in your employees. Provide better training, opportunities and pay. Adding a foosball table to the cafe is not the right strategy to obtain and maintain top level talent.

    Waddell & Reed2019-04-03
  6. "Brokerage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Administrative Assistant in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    good work life balance and great hours

    Cons

    Disappointed that office is relocating

    Waddell & Reed2019-03-20
  7. "High hopes to advance, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BOSS Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    great benefits, 401k, pto, sick time

    Cons

    no home/work life balance, no overtime only allowed to work 37.5 hours, over worked and under paid

    Waddell & Reed2019-04-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A great company appears to be headed downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    They provided great benefits that downgraded to above average during my time there. There is a lot of great people working there. The facilities are well-run and provide a great walking trail to spend breaks. The best part of working there is that when you have personal problems, they will support you and give you time to deal with them.

    Cons

    The management is inconsistent, indecisive, and will throw employees under the bus for failures. It's difficult to move up without playing politics. Working on projects is often difficult but managers do not do their part and the failure falls on the shoulders of those running the project. There is little accountability. While you can start with a decent pay rate, raises are often below the cost of living even if...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train managers on decision making and hold them accountable when they do not do their part in projects. Provide bigger raises for your employees, especially when they have great years. It doesn't look good when a financial services company can barely provide raises that meet cost-of-living standards. Those raises should be automatic when the company is successful they should be beyond those.

    Waddell & Reed2019-03-14
  9. "Good Local Support, Not Great for New Advisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Financial Advisor 

      I worked at Waddell & Reed full-time

      Pros

      Local management is very motivated and attentive

      Cons

      Payout structure is more suited for established advisors; not a great place for newcomers

      Waddell & Reed2019-03-14
    • "Overall: Good Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Salina, KS
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Waddell & Reed part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible Hours, learn different aspects of the advising realm.

      Cons

      I wish I was able to learn more about the advising side of things.

      Waddell & Reed2019-03-04
    Found 401 reviews