Vretta Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 of over 84 reviews

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Vretta President Anand Karat (no image)
Anand Karat
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "no dress code(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great coworkers who are always there to listen and help out with whatever you need, everyone can be a friend(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance can sometimes be an issue(in 7 reviews)

  • "You'll often see in reviews mentioning "tight deadlines"(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    675

    214 Comments

    Tech

    81.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Vretta~1023032
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great for building Experience

      Nov 8, 2021 - Quality Assurance Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work on areas that although they may be out of your initial outline, they are still close enough to help build experience in those areas which can be deemed important.

      Cons

      You might have a lot of work to joggle at once in a small span of time(within the work day).

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Educational Consulting Company

      Nov 3, 2021 - Product Support Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Autonomy of work, facilitating great learning opportunities. Diversification of work-related tasks. Bright and kind co-workers. Passionate and caring upper management. Remote work opportunities. The small gap between entry-level employees and upper management. A small company that allows you to make a big impact. Everyone is given an equal opportunity.

      Cons

      Workers must be self-motivated and willing to learn new things daily. Limited training and documentation of work tasks.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible Work Experience

      Nov 4, 2021 - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The non-management people you work for (but you can find this in most workplaces)

      Cons

      - Tech lead / cofounder: You will be managed under cofounders and he is easily the worst part of the job. He will swear, yell, backbite and shame employees for slow work, mistakes, and 'wasting his time' (Yes even new hires and juniors). He cannot communicate assignments and requirements at all and will not put any effort into explaining them either. He is the most difficult part of the job. - Work/life balance: There is no work/life balance, working here will be your life. You're expected to work at least 9AM to 6PM or 8AM to 5PM, but you will often work overtime without additional pay. Anywhere from 50 - 80 hours a week. You will never know what time you will finish when you wake up in the morning. - Tight deadlines: Very common, deadlines are extremely tight and unexpected at times, you could get a deadline for an assignment of the day it was given to you. You will be pulled from project to project at random to work on tight deadline assignments, even for tech and projects you never worked on before. - Codebase / development practices: The codebase and architecture is a mess as it was written mostly by one of the cofounders, it is filled with unprofessional code. 0 documentation, bad coding practices. You will be expected to understand it yourself without much help or guidance. A very bad place for new developers to learn good development practices. - Culture: The company president and management love to throw the word 'culture' and 'family' to sell the company. There is no culture other than the collection of stressed employees reporting through calls and late hours. 'Family' is just a word used to make employees work overtime through bad conditions with no benefit. Actual 'family' will not make you work terrible hours and swear/yell at you for minor inconveniences. - No mentorship or growth: You will work day one, no training, and be expected to know the badly written codebase. You will be treated as if you've been working here for months. - Pay / benefits: Industry low, especially with the stress it comes with. - Fake reviews: The company hides any faults with obviously fake reviews and by not improving anything within the company. The company is over 10 years old and if you read older reviews nothing has changed. Unlike a real functional HR department, the HR at Vretta spends their time prompting fake reviews and replying to criticism with sales pitches. Believe the negative reviews, it's not by chance that they all describe the same negative experience with double-digit helpful tags.

      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I didn't want to write this review for a long time, but my trauma can't deal with all the fake reviews on here.

      Sep 30, 2021 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I made friends cause all of us had the same struggles and sentiments about the job.

      Cons

      - as a software developer, the man you will be working under is a sociopath, swears at you, belittles you when you don't understand something, never really gives you any guidance, expects too much from new hires, overworks you. - hours are insane (base hours are 9-6, but you only get paid for 8 of those hours everyday??), and often times you work till 9-11 because of the copius amounts of work - training was abysmal, basically non-existent, yet you are expected to perform starting day 1 - code architecuture is extremely outdated and confusing, made worse by the fact that there is 0 documentation, 0 code reviews, 0 guidance by the tech lead, and he is the only one who knows anything about the code, yet is constantly unavailable but expects you to just figure it out?? - There is no scheduling, and way too many surprises, I could have some tasks planned for the day, and all of a sudden get pulled into another project that I had never worked on and expected to finish more tasks for that, then get back to the current tasks that I already had for the day, and put in overtime to finish if I couldn't do it all by 6. - me and many other employees I know had to skip lunch constantly to put all our focus into work - Pay was lowballed, which I didn't even mind but to mentally ruin us and overwork us on top of that??

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Vretta Response

      HR Assistant

      Hi ex-software developer. It is quite unfortunate that you did not have a good experience during your short stint at our company. It is also quite unfortunate that you did not bring up any of these issues to HR. We would have been able to help you out. We are quite surprised about each of the points in your feedback. Our staff members only work 8 hours a day and manage their own breaks (including their lunch which is blocked off on their calendars). Additionally, anyone who works more than 8 hours receives overtime payment. This information is available in the Onboarding Policy document that is shared with everyone. Additionally, all new hires are provided with the required training. Those that require additional training are enrolled in external training courses to upgrade their skills. This information is available in our Training Policy document that is available to all staff members. The tech-stack we use is the most modern in the industry, and our technology team is setting new standards and best practices for the world. This is quite evident from the impact that our products are having on students around the globe, and the motivation and pride in workmanship of our technology staff members. We also maintain a live wiki with all the required documentation. Every software developer has access to this information. We are not sure how you did not have access to it. All project tasks are assigned by our well-staffed and highly experienced Project Management Office, with everything perfectly tracked down to the minute detail on our PM system that all our developers are trained to use effectively. We wish you had reached out to HR to resolve your issues. However, we wish you the very best in your future endeavours. Tara

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Career Growth

      Jun 21, 2021 - Senior Software Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1-Understanding Management & Great Co Worker 2-Best Place to learn New technologies 3- Good Pay

      Cons

      Sometimes the deadlines are kind of hard to meet , so it's highly realistic to complete the stuff on those deadlines.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Vretta Response

      HR Assistant

      We’re happy to hear that you’re having a good experience with your co-workers and the management team. We’re also pleased to know that you are learning to work with new technologies at Vretta. As you will notice, all of our products are being built using the latest technologies in the industry. If you have any recommendations on further improving our tech-stack, please don’t hesitate to reach out to your Functional Head. They will be more than happy to listen to and implement your suggestions. Our objective is to be able to provide students around the world with the best possible learning and assessment experience. As we are growing rapidly through the adoption of our products by institutions and ministries across the world, the demand for our services tends to create tight timelines on many occasions. You may have noticed that in addition to doubling our staff capacity over the past year, we have also strengthened our project management office. This is for our teams to be able to thoroughly analyze timelines and deliverables to ensure that our staff members are not stretched with work. It’s a work in progress, and with support through feedback from you, we are certain that we will be able to scale our product offerings to many more countries around the world. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at hr@vretta.com if you have any further suggestions. It will be my pleasure to pass on your feedback to respective team members to create a more manageable project environment for you and the rest of our team. Happy innovating! Tara

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Co-workers

      May 28, 2021 - Program Coordinator in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work is meaningful and I work with a great team. Decent benefits.

      Cons

      Would like to do more work outside of my team.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Vretta Response

      HR Assistant

      Thanks so much for your feedback! We’re happy that you find the work at Vretta meaningful. As our Program Coordinator, you are helping us innovate and build products that are positively impacting the lives of students around the world. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to bring to our attention your interest in doing more work outside of your current team. There are many ways in which you can participate in learning and contributing from your colleagues. We are in the process of bringing back our lunch-and-learn events, starting this month. Additionally, you can contribute to becoming an assigned mentor for specific staff members. There are many other ways in which we give back to the community and would love to have you in that team. Please reach out to me at hr@vretta.com. It will be my pleasure to work closely with you to identify ways in which we can support you through your journey at Vretta. We value the well-being of our staff, and we will do our best to provide you with the support you need. Thanks and best wishes, Tara

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Full of opportunities to learn and grow

      May 18, 2021 - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Vretta allows one to work on products that have an impact on education. The team I work with is very cohesive. When one team member encounters an issue or a blocker, the whole team is very responsive and works together to overcome it. The leadership is also very friendly and approachable. We have daily meetings and check-ins to make sure everyone is comfortable with their work. As a developer, there is really an opportunity to grow since many of us wear multiple hats, from development to dev-ops.

      Cons

      Sometimes on a tight schedule which can be a bit stressful at times. You will be expected to put in work on the first day.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Vretta Response

      HR Assistant

      Thanks for your feedback! Yes, you are correct - the products that we have been building and implementing have been having a positive impact on the lives of children and adults around the world for the past 12 years! I’m happy that you and your team are collaborating well to support the success of each other. We have recently initiated a mentoring program to provide additional support to our colleagues. Please feel free to reach out to me on hr@vretta.com for more information on this program. As our company continues to serve academic institutions and ministries of education nationally and internationally, we have strengthened our project management office to ensure that our staff members are not overwhelmed by the tight schedules. We are certain that with the support from each team member, we will be able to overcome this together. Additionally, we have many new HR initiatives to liven our Town Square! We are always looking for more ideas. So shoot them my way anytime. Cheers, Tara

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terribly managed

      Jun 18, 2021 - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, friendly team (aside from management). Always willing to help each other Interesting work to be done Diverse employee base

      Cons

      Very poor project management - deadlines are defined without any scope input from the team actually doing the development, resulting in crunch, among other things. - Very poor WLB, see above - Constantly changing feature designs / requirements on the fly (often on the day it's being shown to the client), resulting in wasted work and frantic developing - Vague/Poorly defined requirements, which is tolerable but developers need to spend half the day hunting down managers to clarify a feature (usually on the day before it's due) before they can confidently begin working on it - Toxic management: the boss often yells and swears at the team implementing a feature. Shames people in the team chat as well, for minor mistakes. Combined with the above, you get a very poor work environment with everyone walking on eggshells - Frequent micro management, status updates every few hours - Poor development practices: if you want to learn how to NOT do things the proper way (lack of testing, rushed designs that need to be refactored heavily), this is your place. - Did I mention toxic management? - High turnover: most of the teams are made of young professionals in their 20s, which is not a bad thing at all usually. However, most, if not all of them have been with the company for less than a year. Where are all the experienced people? Why aren't they staying? For a company that's been around since 2010, it really feels like there's very few people who stick around. - Below market compensation: they pay you like a junior dev but you'll have the responsiblities of a mid-level dev. Relates back to the point of having a younger, less experienced team - they can justify paying less - Complete lack of mentoring and onboarding process

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The Most Toxic Company I have ever worked in

      Jun 13, 2021 - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers share the same struggles

      Cons

      - The company has no interest in improving the way they do things. They're all about pushing out work. - Ridiculous expectations in terms of deadlines - Understaffed and horrible management - Toxic, Toxic, Toxic, No regard for employees mental health. - A boss who talks to people however he likes, swearing, talking down, condescending, because he is under pressure. - Non-existent onboarding process, no form of formal training, horrible Company culture

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A fun and dynamic team

      Apr 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will work with super smart and dedicated people

      Cons

      Can be highly stressful at times

      4 people found this review helpful

      Vretta Response

      HR Assistant

      Thanks for making Vretta a part of your journey. We believe that our work brings positive changes to students all over the world, and our goal is to provide the best learning and assessment experience to all students. That’s the kind of goal that motivates us everyday to give our best in everything we do. I’m sorry to hear that you had stressful moments while working with us. Over the past year, we have significantly strengthened our Project Management Office to provide the required support and care to all of our staff members, especially in this new remote work environment. If at any time you would like to re-connect with us to evaluate the current opportunities that we have, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at hr@vretta.com. I wish you all the best for your future endeavors! Tara

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vretta Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vretta? Share Your Experiences

    or