VIPKid Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
VIPKid Co-Founder and CEO Cindy Mi
Cindy Mi
242 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Parental bookings are not guaranteed(in 306 reviews)

  • "The only downside that I can think of at the moment are early morning hours(in 162 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Company to Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Contractor (Teacher) 
    Recommends

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    rewarding work, flexible schedule, excellent company support in areas of professional development and IT, very clear guidelines and expectations, good hr. wage, incentives for teacher to be prompt and responsible, materials prepared,

    Cons

    can be periods when bookings are low- do not rely on this as your main income until you establish your reputation and get regular clients, may be too many teachers accepted as independent contractors at this time.

    VIPKid2020-05-20

    VIPKid Response

    May 20, 2020Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for your trust and enthusiasm. Happy Teaching!

  2. Helpful (18)

    "They do NOT care about you at all"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy and no experience needed

    Cons

    No support and lower pay. If a incident occurs they are on the side of (lets pay the teacher less.) Also they just introduced no pay cuts so all teachers will be making 10%-20% less then they have been.

    VIPKid2020-05-30
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Recent pay cuts, beware"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can work from home

    Cons

    They did not consult teachers on an adjusted pay. They make it seem like it's advantageous but in reality it is unfair and not what people needed. Teachers are very angry and VIPKID does not address our concerns. BEWARE if you are a new teacher you will be getting such a low pay compared to other online ESL jobs despite of what they advertise, "part-time job" "$20-$22/hour". They claim that their bookings have increased, parents say classes are more expensive each year and that VIPKID said this is because teachers are getting a better pay which is a straight lie. This is not the first time they are being dishonest in such a way.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-06-01
  4. "Devalued after 3 years"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    VIPkid used to offer flexibility.

    Cons

    VIPKID Pay structure has changed

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-31
  5. "Teacher at VIPKID"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility in terms of setting your own schedule.

    Cons

    bookings are up and down

    VIPKid2020-05-28

    VIPKid Response

    May 29, 2020Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for your trust and enthusiasm. Happy Teaching!

  6. Helpful (30)

    "Really Disappointed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VIPKID Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I love my students - Material made for you/ready to teach - good platform

    Cons

    - low bookings - Company decreased pay for teachers (as a teacher of 2 years... receiving a lower pay to do the same job is ridiculous) - Really difficult to cancel classes without penalty - The company increases the cost for students every year... the parents are having a hard time affording it

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-30
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Shady company that find ways to cut your pay"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Pays in USD

    Cons

    VIPKid promised us $20USD an hour but then rolled out an new pay system that cut teacher's pay. It doesn't matter how long you've been with the company.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-30
  8. "Gone drastically downhill since I started 3+ years ago"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Can work from home - Can set your schedule to a certain degree - Do not have to commit to a set schedule every week - Can take off as much time as you like during your contract, as you just do not open teaching times. However, no guarantee that students will come back to you when you open times again.

    Cons

    After 3+ years of teaching exclusively with VIPKID, I'm being given a PAY CUT! When I was first hired, I was told I would get a raise after a year of experience with the company. Just before I was set to get a raise, they changed the requirements for a raise that included targets that were impossible for me to meet as I work part-time. I finally came to terms that I would never get a raise, but I kept working for VIPKID as I loved my students, and it was an easy way to work from home. Then they promised a free hoodie after you signed your 6th contract. A week before I signed 6th contract, they canceled that and gave me the "opportunity" to purchase one. Now the worst part...as of August 2020, teachers will be taking a pay cut, unless you teach 180+ classes a month. They have taken away the $2/class incentives, and replaced it with a sliding scale incentive per class that's based on your total number of classes taught with VIPKID, and your monthly total of classes taught. Only full time teachers will benefit, and the vast majority of teachers will now be getting a pay cut. Anyone who wants this as a part-time job will be getting paid less than when they were hired. Additionally, it is now impossible to get a raise. Raises have been canceled altogether. I think this is disgraceful. it was bad enough I would never get a raise. I cannot take a pay cut now too. I feel extremely undervalued and unappreciated. - Peak time hours are in the middle of the night/extremely early morning for Pacific time as you are teaching students in China during evening hours in China. If you want full-time hours, you'll be working the graveyard shift, and that's assuming you can get parents to book you.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-06-02
  9. "Easy and fun job, terrible hours"

    5.0
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you like 1:1 tutoring this is the job for you. Kids are generally sweet, classes are easy to teach. Minimal preparation required.

    Cons

    Early mornings if you’re on the West Coast.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-03-22

    VIPKid Response

    March 22, 2020Social Media Specialist

    We feel privileged to have you!

  10. "VIPKid rocks"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid

    Pros

    The teamwork is fantastic. There are workshops each day

    Cons

    There aren’t enough shifts for my liking

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-02-22

    VIPKid Response

    March 1, 2020Social Media Specialist

    We are honored that you love using our platform! Thank you so much!

Found 384 reviews