UCLA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

UCLA Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
UCLA Chancellor Gene D. Block
Gene D. Block
608 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is not enough funding for graduate students, specially international(in 39 reviews)

  • "There are no cons I can think of(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "CC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Realtor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at UCLA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    more flexibility, more opportunities by the time work in there

    Cons

    the company is a scammer

    UCLA2016-11-25
  2. "Post-doctoral fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UCLA full-time

    Pros

    Well-known institution. Many faculty are very good.

    Cons

    - Extremely low pay, despite being unionized. - Terrible administrative staff: extremely slow, many things required multiple requests, updates not done correctly, mistakes on important documents such as VISAs.

    UCLA2016-06-10
  3. "Staff Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Environmental Professional in Outremont, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UCLA for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment depending on the department, great exposure to current events due to location and standing of UCLA, very competent research and work

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy, low funding for environmental fields, low respect for traditional engineering fields from the dean, low salary for researchers and postdocs.

    Continue reading
    UCLA2015-11-11
  4. "Postdoctoral Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA

    Pros

    Excellent institution with diverse research and teaching opportunities

    Cons

    massive administration and structure, thus one could get lost, vis-a-vis career planning, if one is not prepared and does not have clear goals.

    UCLA2015-01-18
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at UCLA full-time

    Pros

    -great benefits -top med school

    Cons

    -once your in its easy to get comfortable -no one is helping to push employees to do better/ or provide opportunity resources

    UCLA2020-03-25
  6. "Laid back work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Researcher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UCLA part-time

    Pros

    Very accomodating to student work schedule

    Cons

    Work structure in research is a little disorganized. The hiring process is also slow and sometimes faulty.

    UCLA2020-03-24
  7. "immunotherapy blotting project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at UCLA part-time

    Pros

    near my house and convenient

    Cons

    public institution and limited resources

    UCLA2020-03-23
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UCLA part-time

    Pros

    A highly intellectual environment you can learn as much as you brain can accept

    Cons

    There is nothing that I could share

    UCLA2020-03-06
  9. "UCLA fellowship review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Instructor 

    I have been working at UCLA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mentors, teachers and attendings. Very knowledgeable and helpful

    Cons

    Administration is a little disorganized and chaotic

    UCLA2020-03-19
  10. "fair environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSR in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at UCLA full-time

    Pros

    people are supporting each other, friendly environment

    Cons

    equipment is old, lacks of lab keys

    UCLA2020-03-18
Found 2157 reviews
</>Embed