ToonBox Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ToonBox Entertainment Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
44%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
ToonBox Entertainment President Hong Kim (no image)
Hong Kim
6 Ratings
  1. "Cool studio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Modeler in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented people, solid pipeline, good culture

    Cons

    Projects are fun but not the most interesting out there.

    ToonBox Entertainment2018-10-01
  2. "nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Layout Artist 

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    good work environment and great employees to work with

    Cons

    not great management that caused company to fail

    ToonBox Entertainment2020-02-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "years of incompetence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gen 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great teams and Artists -Dogs allowed -Good benefits

    Cons

    -Executive Management were all grossly unqualified and had no idea what they were doing business-wise or film-wise

    Continue reading
    ToonBox Entertainment2019-10-25
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Not one thing I can think of

    Cons

    Way too many to list

    Continue reading
    ToonBox Entertainment2018-06-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ToonBox Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Dept. leads communicate well and know their fields well.

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity for advancement.

    ToonBox Entertainment2018-03-26
  6. Helpful (11)

    "The reviews don't lie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    My direct manager/boss was so influential to me. She taught me the importance of patience and kindness. And I truly wish her well (and a lot of people there)! Despite it all, I wish only good things for my former colleagues. There are many improvements that need to made at the top.

    Cons

    I want to focus on the behaviour and mannerisms that have been brought up below. It's true that they micromanage that everyone work 40 hours like we're in a factory. So really, we're working from 9AM - 6PM. Many say it's the "Korean way" (since majority of management is Korean) but I wouldn't go so far to make that assumption. Even so, we're in Canadian culture and abide by Canadian laws. I would, however, focus on the lack of effective leadership than make comments on culture here. Management says it industry standard but no, it's not. A lot of companies are moving away from that. It's called work-life balance. Yes, it's true that executives (including the EVP) come in late and leave early. It's also true that the mannerisms of many executives (including the EVP) are unprofessional like banging her fists on her desk when she's angry at someone or being confrontational in front of all employees, yelling, and directing employees to do one thing but expecting another two weeks later (then blaming them), and micromanaging every function such that every single task must be approved by her (thus slowing down everything). Then when there's a hold up, she yells at you for not getting it done. But we were waiting for her approval. It was an inefficient and demoralizing culture. I was told to write positive entries here early on. If I could retract my previous posts that tried to make this company positive, I would. They don't reflect the true culture. Many of the "improvement" posts were written by me. The CEO doesn't try to communicate effectively with staff and provides unclear direction. It's quite disheartening.

    Continue reading
    ToonBox Entertainment2018-04-20
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Rumors its going to tank like Arc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    It paid my bills for a while. I had amazing colleagues and made some great friendships. Super friendly staff from facilities to production coordinators.

    Cons

    A lot of departures because lack of growth, freeze on wages (even though executives got an increase and go on vacations), and executives (particylarly the EVP) harrasses you about 40 hours but comes in late and leaves early all the time. I also wonder how she has unlimited vacation too. Literally executives except the VP. The EVP on the other hand is the most unprofessional, disgusting, and grotesque human being. She literally behaves like a savage to staff. And quite immature. Loves to control every function and then immediately blames people when things go awry.

    Continue reading
    ToonBox Entertainment2018-04-16
  8. "A management learning from it's mistakes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lighting Technical Director | Shader Writer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ToonBox Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A distinct social quality to interactions between employees. Openness in communication that runs up to middle management. Impressive talent pool. Year round employee organized sports groups.

    Cons

    Upper management a bit guarded and not always open to communicate information right away. A lack of clear vision for the long term plans.

    Continue reading
    ToonBox Entertainment2017-09-23
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at ToonBox Entertainment

    Pros

    - Great team with great experience

    Cons

    - Management communication - Could upgrade the coffee to slightly better :)

    ToonBox Entertainment2017-01-05
  10. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The studio has a very collaborative approach to it. A lot of creative individuals who are good at what they do.

    Cons

    The challenges is that it is still growing. There are always going to challenges with a growing company that include miscommunication, micromanagement, budget cuts, and so forth. But I have faith this is changing and have seen it.

    ToonBox Entertainment2016-09-27
Found 33 reviews