The Conference Board Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Conference Board Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
The Conference Board CEO Steve Odland
Steve Odland
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is a must for most of us(in 38 reviews)

  • "Flexible work schedules and remote work options provide great work-life balance(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is a non-profit as such the pay is at the middle range of the pay scale for many positions(in 12 reviews)

  • "Senior Management has been in place for quite sometime with little or no changes(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Above average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time

    Pros

    Good life work balance in this world

    Cons

    I found no negative in the company

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2018-10-09
  2. Helpful (4)

    "An uncertain future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Many of the seasoned researchers, sales staff, those in finance, and in communications are exceptional —intelligent, hard-working, reliable, well-rounded, and professional. Offers challenging and meaningful work with many opportunities for all levels to work directly with clients and other stakeholders in senior positions. I always felt the career opportunities were good but it depends on your manager. I had a wonderful manager for many years and that made a significant difference. The work I was doing and my colleagues kept me at The Conference Board for many years despite many other higher paying job opportunities because it wasn’t about money for me. When the challenges (see below) outweighed the benefits, I needed to leave.

    Cons

    Not-for-profit status is questionable. High overhead contribution expectations with little value-add. Directors experience significant pressures to make financial targets while assuming administrative responsibilities above and beyond job description. Lack of strong executive team from a leadership and effective management perspective. Has focused too much on process and not on content or innovation, adding administrative burden on research staff which comes at an opportunity cost — getting business and working on billable projects. Low trust in new CEO and executive team due to lack of transparency in processes, decision-making, and organizational priorities. Lack of thoughtful communication with staff leading to rampant rumours and low-morale. Been without a Chief Economist and VP Policy for far too long - media presence has declined substantially which can be attributed to loss of thought-leadership. It’s not the firings that’s the problem as I would agree many decisions on that front to date we’re watrabtes, the bigger issue that the organization is not addressing are the employees, many of which were fundamental to the success of the Board who have left and are leaving by choice for the above reasons. Lately, there’s a new voluntary departure every week. Little investment in research may impact the sustainability of the organization and its raisin-d’être. You can only contain costs for so long...

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2018-10-12
  3. "Its ok...ish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Executive Programs 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Conference Board full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Work Arrangement, people are kind

    Cons

    Salary is low, management is clueless

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-11-07
  4. "Good company as a stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Brussels
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Conference Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Nice environment Dynamic teams Interesting topic

    Cons

    No career opportunities Constant change of strategy that creates inconsistencies Management do not hear the staff feedback Miscommunications between the teams

    The Conference Board2019-10-31
  5. "Doesn't take care of their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time

    Pros

    The left over food that they give to employees.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment with bullies and no trust. They definitely don't care about the people and it affects the way the business operates at all levels. This isn't a place of opportunity, it's a place full of despair. It's as bad as it gets.

    The Conference Board2019-11-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It's and alright start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Executive Programs, Councils in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Conference Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great work life balance. Employees are aloud to work from home three days a week.

    Cons

    Not a ton of room to grow

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-09-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Take a pay cut, get your life back."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Conference Board was the right place for me after a high-pressure career in Corporate America. All jobs are about trade-offs. Working at any not-for-profit company, your pay is going to be a lot less than in the for-profit world. That's a given, and I was no different. But, TCB gave me the flexibility to manage my work location and time as I saw fit, and the IT the company had made that work smoothly. It exceeded my expectations. The open floor plan had its pros and cons, but it worked and served its purpose. I worked mostly from home (Tri-State area suburbs), as did many of my colleagues with whom I regularly interacted via video. Actually, they were based all over the country, but it never got in the way of getting things done. Same with attending meetings remotely. When I needed to come into NYC, the office resources were more than adequate. Sure, I had to make my own copies, but I also had access to many meeting and conference spaces all equipped with HD video and Skype. IMO, that's how every company should be these days. The people at TCB are friendly and very easy to work with. The company has a very cordial culture. I didn't experience any situation where people raised their voices at each other or left a meeting in a huff. I especially enjoyed working with my immediate team and my manager. I also had very positive interactions with the CEO, Steve Odland. He does take some getting used-to, but more importantly, he understands how to manage people and run a major organization, (And the people who say management is telling people to go here and write positive reviews here have it wrong. Management wants people to post reviews good, bad or neutral to give readers more of a sample size to look at.)

    Cons

    I was frustrated by management's focus on revenues and the amount of time spent on internal matters and in internal meetings. I wanted more time to focus on the quality of the content and using the TCB platform for thought leadership and building prominence in the industry. I didn't expect this at a think tank. But, that’s not why I left. I left because my career interests and goals changes.

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-08-14
  8. "Jon Spector’s legacy: an inexperienced & unscrupulous CEOs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At his worst, he set an example that some of the worst habits will be tolerated — and perhaps even rewarded. It’s astounding how badly most leadership teams use their time together. They set meeting agendas haphazardly, frequently only days beforehand (if at all). The implications for an organization whose leadership team is poorly focused are serious: wasted resources, wasted effort, and widespread confusion become the norm. We never knew what’s really important. So whenever someone screamed at us about in any given day that was the priority.

    Cons

    But a team of excessively individualistic leaders vying for resources, status, influence, and, most often, their boss’s job, can fracture the organization beneath them. He would intentionally set conflicting goals among team members, and while he believed this would lead to the best ideas prevailing, it actually led to vicious backstabbing and information hoarding. Unhealthy competition erodes trust. If team members distrust the motivations and unspoken agendas of teammates, they will act with self-protection, even self-interest, to avoid risking personal failure. And when things went horrible, people point at one another in blame rather than healthy accountability. It was nearly impossible to make and execute critical decisions when team members don’t trust one another — and it was equally difficult to ask the rest of the organization to carry out those decisions if everyone knew they were made by people who weren’t aligned. Jon and his cohorts compromised the integrity of TCB.

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-08-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "inexperienced leadership, poor HR support & only Sales focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Brussels
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Conference Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Long history, some great people.

    Cons

    Leadership is poor, lack actual coaching skills, use outside 3rd party company to support. No budget, lack innovated mind sets and ideas to push the product forward Systems are in the dark ages, for a company who touts research its hardly earth shattering. Strictly only are about sales and nothing more.

    The Conference Board2019-07-04
  10. "Great quality of life, constant change efforts make getting things done difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home, great people, good office location with nice comfortable space, the organization wants to do good work

    Cons

    Salary is lower than competitors, there is constant change with the priority on short term revenue which impacts their ability to provide a consistent, quality product

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-06-04
Found 142 reviews