Texas Instruments Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Texas Instruments Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Texas Instruments CEO Rich Templeton
Rich Templeton
1,394 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor work/life balance in the fabs(in 102 reviews)

  • "Always under constant stress and worries upper management will come down at you for every little thing(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great workplace and competitve environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TSR 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Instruments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    always given a chance to display capability and set up for success

    Cons

    unnecessary politics in managerial ranks but thats probably the case at every large company

    Advice to Management

    hire the right managers.

    Texas Instruments2019-10-31
  2. "It's is great man"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analog Design Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Instruments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Workplace and culture is very good

    Cons

    You have to devote time

    Advice to Management

    No

    Texas Instruments2019-06-21
  3. "poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Texas Instruments full-time

    Pros

    no politics in canada branches

    Cons

    badly managed projects unorganized and poor general management

    Texas Instruments2017-12-12
  4. "Life At TI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Instruments full-time

    Pros

    Good Company Benefits,Work from Home

    Cons

    Little Management Support ,Low Pay, Long Hours

    Texas Instruments2017-08-22
  5. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Systems Tester 

    I worked at Texas Instruments for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, technology. I loved everything about working in that company.

    Cons

    I really can't think about anything bad. Maybe organize more events in the company.

    Texas Instruments2016-04-15
  6. "Depends what you value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Texas Instruments full-time

    Pros

    Good company with industry respect

    Cons

    They work you hard, but pay better than average

    Texas Instruments2016-02-10
  7. "Great company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Systems Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Instruments for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Relaxed, great salaries, a lot of new projects and technologies

    Cons

    Static organization at least in Toronto. The same original people from when it was a startup.

    Texas Instruments2015-07-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A big company with a small company feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Instruments

    Pros

    - Great people work at the Toronto office. They're very friendly and knowledgeable. - Because they work on Code Composer Studio there (Eclipse based C/C++ IDE for their embedded devices), there are opportunities to work on low level and high level software. - Stability of a large company, but the feeling of a smaller company since the Toronto office is smaller. - The gratis snacks and drinks (water, pop, etc)... are convenient.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you don't like working on IDEs, then this place may not be for you. That is the speciality of this office.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! This was one of my favourite workplaces.

    Texas Instruments2015-06-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Instruments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nothing to say other than maybe office location

    Cons

    No room to move up. Lots of politics.

    Advice to Management

    one-on-one with your staff wouldn't hurt

    Texas Instruments2014-11-12
  10. "Great place to work at as long as you have your head on your shoulders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Instruments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Generally friendly colleagues; easy going yet hard working environment; very good products.

    Cons

    No significant opportunities for advancement or lateral moves, unless at the larger US sites; processes rather ad hoc; some office politics to deal with.

    Advice to Management

    You can't keep doing things the same way yet expect different results: invest in improving processes and in infrastructure.

    Texas Instruments2014-06-16
Found 2381 reviews