Tableau Software Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Tableau Software Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Tableau Software CEO Adam Selipsky
Adam Selipsky
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great product that customers love(in 80 reviews)

  • "This is the first job where I feel like my work/life balance is valued and truly in balance(in 76 reviews)

Cons
  • "Since the company grew so fast so quickly, we experienced many growing pains along the way(in 50 reviews)

  • "The company is growing at a good pace, however we need more space for everyone(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture At this company and smart people

    Cons

    There are none at the moment

    Tableau Software2020-01-08
  2. "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People and products are amazing! Corporate culture is even better!

    Cons

    Cultural fit is critical for people to strive at Tableau.

    Tableau Software2019-04-11
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    People and product are amazing

    Cons

    New boss is not a cultural fit

    Advice to Management

    Vet your VP selection, and ensure they are a culture fit

    Tableau Software2019-04-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiting Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best working culture out there.

    Cons

    Miscommunications between HQ and APAC.

    Tableau Software2018-04-08
  5. "good enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Tableau Software

    Pros

    the office in vacouver is too small but i liked the seattle office environment.

    Cons

    the office in vancouver was too small but i liked the seattle office environment

    Tableau Software2017-05-31
  6. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great People. great company training and support, great company culture

    Cons

    it has distributed employee to make communication harder

    Tableau Software2016-10-15
  7. "Public Sector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    I have been here for almost 4 years when Public Sector had weak leadership, no vision, and little accountability. I read the previous review and couldn't disagree more. It is refreshing to see current leadership taking the team to a new level, and holding people who have been complacent for many years accountable. This team needed to be shaken up and desparately needed leadership. Thank God we have a leader we can rally behind and get things done. I couldn't be prouder of the changes and where we are going. Those who are complaining are the people who are the problem. They just need to get on board or leave.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is alot if uncertainty over the impact Salesforce will have. Public Sector leaders have been pretty transparent and it is helping. Corporate leadership could communicate more. Some feel they are out of tune to the worries in the field.

    Advice to Management

    Find more strong leaders to complement the new leaders who joined over the past year, and flush out those who have been coasting over the past few years.

    Tableau Software2020-01-15
  8. "Amazing company that launched my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved my experience at Tableau! The culture, the people, and the product are all fantastic.

    Cons

    There isn't a lot of opportunity for growth and it's very easy to hit your ceiling, (which is typically anything past a Sr. Manager role). Once you hit it, you can expect to stay stuck for 3 years or more unless you are willing to move to HQ. If there had been a next step for me I definitely would have stayed.

    Advice to Management

    Define career paths and opportunities. Don't make it so difficult to move from each segment of the business, (commercial, enterprise, public sector) in order to retain talent. Be transparent in pay structures. Refusing a raise to tenured and performing employees only to hire new people at an even higher salary is demoralizing.

    Tableau Software2020-01-14
  9. "great place team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and great

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Advice to Management

    I do not have any advice

    Tableau Software2020-01-11
  10. "Tremendously Fast Company Growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Kirkland, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees and management tend to be very kind and understanding, the benefits are excellent. There's a lot of "morale events" and free food, which are nice!

    Cons

    The company is growing much faster than it can handle adjusting to. There is a high turnover as a result, and a lot of burnout in the senior employees.

    Advice to Management

    Move slower. Stop changing job responsibility and piling extra responsibility onto your techs by disguising it as "opportunities for advancement". The tech department is not great at helping people advance, and the main help that comes from management is "I will provide support (encouragement and cheerleading)" vs. "I can help you find the proper channels and get you in touch". There's a lot of "help" that is basically managers telling people to "figure it out themselves". Thicken out the management and employees if this is what keeps happening!

    Show More
    Tableau Software2020-01-16
Found 663 reviews