TC Energy Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
TC Energy President, CEO, and Director Russell K. (Russ) Girling
Russell K. (Russ) Girling
194 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "At times can be Canadian-centric, but changing to be more a global-minded company(in 11 reviews)

  • "Average leadership, very political, Old boys club culture plays in for leadership roles(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Electrical Engineering Co-Op"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineering Co-Op in Calgary, AB

    I worked at TC Energy full-time

    Pros

    Good Environment to work and develop

    Cons

    Some times slow in operations

    TC Energy2020-05-11
  2. "A very good company with numerous internal opportunities."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at TC Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Canadian-owned with large North American footprint; diverse energy portfolio (Gas, Oil, Electricity); good benefits and bonus structure; time off includes vacation, flex, and paid sick leave.

    Cons

    Runs very lean, particularly in Operations - tight budgets, tight resourcing, and numerous OT hours required (for certain positions, this may be Unpaid OT); promotion of ‘high potential’ employees may not be well-aligned to the groups they manage; much work completed by contractors and contract employees; can be an extremely political environment.

    Continue reading
    TC Energy2020-05-19
  3. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at TC Energy full-time

    Pros

    Cares about safety of their employees

    Cons

    I think it is a great company to work for.

    TC Energy2020-04-26
  4. "Lots of opportunity and a company that cares"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TC Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With lots of growth, this means lots of career opportunities for employees throughout the company. Senior management genuinely cares about the employees.

    Cons

    Constant org changes make it difficult for front line employees and managers to maintain focus and settle in.

    Continue reading
    TC Energy2020-04-17
  5. "Good leadership..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TC Energy full-time

    Pros

    Senior leadership values people, and acts accordingly

    Cons

    Lack of growth opportunities in some areas

    TC Energy2020-04-13
  6. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TC Energy full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance, organization's overall strategy

    Cons

    Instability of industry and reliance on external factors such as the government

    TC Energy2020-03-30
  7. "OK"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Engineer in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at TC Energy full-time

    Pros

    It's a good place to wokr

    Cons

    No complains really it's all good

    TC Energy2020-03-24
  8. "Employee review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TC Energy

    Pros

    Great company to work for!

    Cons

    Field workers who are core employees are expected to work long hours, without a fair reflection of this in pay.

    TC Energy2020-03-14
  9. "TransCanada / TC Energy"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Calgary, AB

    I worked at TC Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities in different areas of the business

    Cons

    Unstable leadership leading to highly politically charged environment.

    TC Energy2020-03-14
  10. "Good pay, old school mentality"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TC Energy full-time

    Pros

    Pay is good, as are benefits, stock and bonus structure

    Cons

    Would not consider it innovative or forward thinking, lots of folks have been there a long time and interested in maintaining status quo

    TC Energy2020-03-25
Found 394 reviews