StarTech.com Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
StarTech.com CEO Paul Seed
Paul Seed
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not a very good environment for fostering new ideas or being shown appreciation for the work you do(in 5 reviews)

  • "Startech had an opportunity to do the right thing and take care of their employees , the CEO could have been a shinning example of the magnanimous(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Grateful to have worked at Startech.com"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was recently laid off in the second round. When I was hired at Startech.com, the director at the time told me he didn't think the role would be around in 1-2 years. I never took the job for granted.It is a very dynamic environment. I am grateful for the time I spent Startech.com. I was probably under qualified for the job when I started and Startech.com gave me an opportunity few other employers would have. They paid for my education to become certified in my field and exponentially increased my knowledge and experience. I cannot sympathize with the negative comments about a lack loyalty to long term employees. The company had legitimately become bloated. Processes had remained stagnant for years. The ERP launch was in the long term best interest of the company and certainty has and will streamline processes and eliminate jobs in the long run. I do not expect to get rehired, which makes the temporary layoff illogical to me. If the company rebounds it did so without the additional workforce, so why hire it back? If it does not rebound then the company cannot afford to hire it back. The only scenario that I see is if the company rebounds and then returns to high growth and legitimately needs workers experienced with the system quickly and cannot retrain new employees. But by this time the best of the layed off workers will have probably found jobs else were, leaving only those who didn't really know how to use the new ERP system left for rehire. Capitalistic creative destruction is the "process of industrial mutation that continuously revolutionizes the economic structure from within, incessantly destroying the old one, incessantly creating a new one" ( Joseph Schumpeter). Don't hate Startech.com, because its operating in its own best interest, be grateful that it remained in the backwaters of London Ontario long enough to let you grow from the experience. I only knew one SLT member he was awesome! Now off to get me a public sector job :P

    Cons

    Some employees didn't know how good they had it.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "IT Department needs introspection"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing much I can think of

    Cons

    I was hired as an IT ERP Business Analyst. I was not communicated anything clearly before, during or after the hiring process. No on-boarding, no knowledge transfer, or no setting expectations. Everything was a hush-hush. I figured out myself later they were needing me to do (Developer + Business Analyst+ Lead Business Analyst + Senior Project Manager + Program Manager) job. It is what a whole team does. Not what a single human being can do. Some key observations about the IT culture: 1) Failure to plan ahead or even at a later stage of the project. 2) Total lack of empathy from the IT leadership. 3) Unrealistic timelines - Asked to complete a 1 year project in 1 month. Living in denial. 4) Hiding/downplaying project issues and risks. Pretending everything is alright. 5) No introspection or mild interest in learning lessons from the past 6) No one had time to have even a quick conversation

    StarTech.com Response

    January 4, 2021People & Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about the challenges you encountered during your time with us. We can certainly appreciate the complexity of our business with over 3,000 products and serving the globe in 23 countries especially during complex projects such as ERP deployments. Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Under appreciated and disappointed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time

    Pros

    Many different types of tax exposure. Some great people working here.

    Cons

    Being the only tax person at any company can be trying, especially when there are others that think they know tax. There have been 5 people in the tax role in the last 4-5 years, that should speak for itself.

    Continue reading

    StarTech.com Response

    December 2, 2020People & Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s great to hear that you had the opportunity to work with the great people we have on our team – we are very proud to have an engaged and dedicated bunch. We are sorry to hear about the challenges you encountered during your time with us. We can certainly appreciate the complexity of our business with over 3,000 products and serving the globe in over 23 countries. Thanks again for sharing and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people on sales team

    Cons

    Constant change was always stressful

  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great until things get tough"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers Great benefits Free coffee and tea Excellent mid-level management Opportunities to grow and advance

    Cons

    Mass layoffs were done without considering how teams would function afterward Remaining employees were required to pick up the slack, maintain morale, and continue doing multiple people's roles indefinitely

    Continue reading

    StarTech.com Response

    September 29, 2020People & Culture

    We are happy to hear that you had positive experiences at StarTech.com and speak highly of your co-workers, company benefits and opportunities for advancement. StarTech.com has always and will continue to make careful and planful decisions for the best long term interest of our team and the business. However, we appreciate that not all decisions are easy to digest for any of us and we continue to adapt to new ways of working to ensure we provide the opportunity for everyone to be successful. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and feedback with us.

  6. COVID-19
    Helpful (8)

    "It's a job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You are always paid bi-weakly

    Cons

    Top-down management in some departments

    Continue reading

    StarTech.com Response

    August 20, 2020People & Culture

    We’re sorry to hear about your frustrations regarding leadership decisions and recent changes that were made due to the economic downturn. All key strategic decisions are made with the long term interest of the company and employees in mind. We encourage you to reach out to a People & Culture representative if you have any specific concerns you would like to discuss as we value your feedback.

  7. COVID-19
    Helpful (8)

    "No one is safe here"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time

    Pros

    Most people here in this company are easy to deal with and supportive

    Cons

    Covid is a great excuse for the planned headcount reduction. Remaining employees are shifted around to cover their work. Lots of great colleagues including the female CEO, Chief People Officer, 5+ years employees got let go - totally no loyalty. Current employee - if you check your mailbox for PS email back on June 4th about the second layoff with the updated org chart attached, you will find that email is now totally gone from your mailbox. This is VERY sneaky. You are about to lose a lot of good talents after the pandemic.

    Continue reading

    StarTech.com Response

    July 2, 2020People & Culture

    As a current employee, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We don’t take decisions like this lightly but we have never been faced with having to make decisions to lay-off/furlough team members. While it’s a decision we have avoided for so many years, there are many factors that led us to this decision. We have been very transparent over the past few months and we have shared a great deal of information to everyone around the factors that led us to make these tough decisions. In regards to the missing email, we did resend it when our IT team notified us of this glitch. There is no reason for us to withhold information we already shared. Please reach out to People and Culture or to your manager if you would like us to resend it to you. We appreciate your feedback and since you are a current employee, we encourage you to reach out to your leader or People and Culture with any questions or concerns you may have.

  8. COVID-19
    Helpful (7)

    "worst company ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time

    Pros

    benefit plan, vacation, remote working

    Cons

    no transparency, no trust at all. Total micromanagement. The leaderships and managers don't trust their team members at all. It's almost impossible to start a career. They pretend to be very social and family orienteted but on the end they don't care at all as you can see how they took advantage of the covid-19 pandemic to get rid of almost 25% of their staff. Very poor performance from senior leadership team and executives.

    Continue reading

    StarTech.com Response

    August 12, 2020People & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We strive to create a positive experience for team members by encouraging empowerment and personal development. For example, many members of our leadership team started in entry level positions and took on management roles as they gained experience. We also encourage and provide financial support for those interested in pursuing additional training, education, etc. The current economic downturn is impacting companies around the globe and despite many years of growth, StarTech.com was also affected which forced us to make some cutbacks to staffing levels. We have been and continue to be transparent providing everyone insight as to the reasons why make tough decisions. We’re sorry your time with StarTech.com was not more positive and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us.

  9. COVID-19
    Helpful (11)

    "Sad to see the decline over the past two years"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Maybe to gain experience before moving on to a company with more mature management.

    Cons

    It is difficult to see and experience the decline in the company over the past two years. They appear to be unwilling or unable to retain good employees, especially in management positions. If you are wondering about what the culture is like, the ‘spin’ responses on here from the HR department should give you a taste. The dysfunctional political environment makes it almost impossible to perform effective work, which helps to explain the dismal sales results (which started well before the Covid crisis), and in turn has led to two rounds of layoffs totaling about 25% of the workforce. There seems to be an absence of competent, ethical leadership at the top level. I doubt the new ‘President-elect’ could even lead water downhill. When times were good the executive team would take credit, but now the rank and file employees have to pay for their expensive mistakes, such as the millions of dollars wasted on the ERP project due to mismanagement. There is no loyalty to the ‘StarTech family’. One owner has left and the other one seems to really want to get out as soon as possible.

    Continue reading

    StarTech.com Response

    August 5, 2020People & Culture

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We do our best to keep everyone informed around business decisions at StarTech.com. This includes weekly meetings, department meetings, leadership meetings, newsletters etc., but we recognize that some decisions are difficult to understand. Although not every decision may be popular, the rationale is guided by the desire to build an organization that is successful and sustainable for the benefit of all team members. We hope you reach out to management or People and Culture to share your concerns and give us the opportunity to provide additional insight.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Management, against their better judgement, will regularly disrupt our daily processes only to appease their bosses"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I was there, I met a lot of honest and hard working people. Not sure how many of them are left or willing to stick around.

    Cons

    Management will bend over backwards to please their bosses and the CEO. This is usual for any company, but for us, it seriously disrupted and changed our processes on a regular basis. Several times, I was told that our disruption was done to appease or placate upper management.

    Continue reading

    StarTech.com Response

    July 2, 2020People & Culture

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. All management decisions at StarTech.com are made with a long term, strategic view in mind and we appreciate that not every decision made will be universally accepted. Our entrepreneurial spirit and focus on capturing opportunities has enabled StarTech.com to mitigate external business factors and be a successful company for 35 years. StarTech.com has always been and will continue to be an agile and flexible organization that makes their employees a top priority and we hope that over the 3 years you were with us, you witnessed our commitment and loyalty to our team members.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 103 English Reviews