StarTech.com Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
StarTech.com CEO Paul Seed
Paul Seed
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not a very good environment for fostering new ideas or being shown appreciation for the work you do(in 5 reviews)

  • "Good people have left HR, the people side of the business in direct relation to his appointment(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time

    Pros

    Great People and a great team atmosphere. Employees are treated well

    Cons

    Somewhat difficult to advance in the company.

    StarTech.com2020-05-28
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Still an amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefit packages. Company goes above and beyond to make employees feel welcome. Communication has been great from the top down during this pandemic and yes tough decisions had to be made but no company has been immune to this. There are some amazing programs for employees to develop themselves and employees are encouraged to use as much of the training budget as possible.

    Cons

    Communication can always be better as with every organization but leadership is working on it.

    Continue reading
    StarTech.com2020-05-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company During Tough Times"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    With significant impact to the global economy COVID-19 has caused, I appreciate the transparency the Executive has shown. Tough decisions were made and you could see the sincere emotion in the CEOs face. The weekly update he has provided has kept the company informed and all of the leaders continue to ensure complete transarency.

    Cons

    Pre-COVID-19, the company required most people to work in the office. Given how well the company transitioned to working from home with increased productivity, I hope the company maintains this arrangement in the future.

    Continue reading
    StarTech.com2020-05-12
  4. Helpful (10)

    "No loyalty to long term employees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, everyone looking to help one another, friendly and hard working.

    Cons

    Recent layoffs have really put things in a new perspective. Understandable that things had to change, but most other companies try to weather the storm by either looking for government assistance for wages, or taking a 10% wage cut across the company with a 30% wage cut for Executives, but that wasn't done here. Putting 20% of your company on "temporary layoff" for up to 35 weeks after a month of above average sales revenue and a couple of weeks of below average sales is a pretty quick and rash decision. To see the number of employees that have 5-15 years of tenure at the organization just put out of a job with no payout of vacation or severance is horrible. It really looks like a lot of these employees were laid off due to their long term employment and the fact that they would be up for a large severance package, so the decision was made to remove them by "temporarily" laying them off. Nobody will be able to weather a 35 week layoff with no pay and only getting CERB or EI to compensate. This looks like letting people go hoping that they will find another job and just go away so that there is no payout of severance which would save the company thousands of dollars. No loyalty to those that stuck with the company over the tough years and spoke so highly of the company over those times. It's doubtful that any of the tenured employees would be comfortable in returning to a company that so quickly discarded them when times got difficult. At least pay them out!

    Continue reading
    StarTech.com2020-05-15

    StarTech.com Response

    May 21, 2020People & Culture

    Thank you for your taking the time to share your feedback and for your 8 years of service. We are proud that 42% of our team members are 5+ years tenure with the company. Being a long term employee, I’m sure you have experienced and witnessed all that StarTech.com does for our team. It’s unfortunate that the challenges of COVID-19 have forced all businesses to make tough decisions and StarTech.com is not exempt from that reality. We have, and will continue to be transparent with weekly calls and newsletter. However, the privacy of our current and past employees is important for StarTech.com, and for that reason not all decisions are able to be communicated to the wider organization. As a current employee, please meet with your manager or P&C to discuss your engagement. We welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns in person.

  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time

    Pros

    People are wonderful. Great benefits

    Cons

    Each department was in survival mode.

    StarTech.com2020-05-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Cozy job with really good mid-level managers...top level, not so sure"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time

    Pros

    Nice perks and cozy atmosphere with some awesome people to work alongside. Lots of 'fun' events and free food (when we're in office), good benefits, employees are well taken care off for the most part.

    Cons

    Company says all the right things but the actions don't always align. Office layout and org structure resemble a traditional bureaucratic hierarchy where decisions flow one way. IT hardware can only be so exciting to work on. C-suite turnover and a big layoff have been troubling. Core business concept seems flawed, not adding enough value by rebranding Chinese hardware. Unsustainable focus on revenue growth

    Continue reading
    StarTech.com2020-05-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Temporarily Laid-off"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time

    Pros

    Many company perks Great people to work with

    Cons

    Poor management of the IT department Works in silos Brags of full disclosure, then are excluded from decisions that affect your role

    Continue reading
    StarTech.com2020-05-11
  8. "Average but Fair"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Average Benefits; good for a small company

    Cons

    Expectations not clear with changing business challenges

    Continue reading
    StarTech.com2020-04-29
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Loyalty works both ways!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at StarTech.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    That I am still employed when so many are not.

    Cons

    There are many examples of companies that have had to lay off employees due to the devastating effects covid 19 has had on their business especially in the food, hospitality and services industries. Time and time again you hear about how many of these companies are doing every thing in their power to help their employees through the tough times. The same cannot be said about Startech.com! I am shocked at how Startech.com has treated some of their most competent, hard working and loyal employees. Laying off tenured and talented people with no severance or assistance what so ever after only two weeks of low numbers and forcing them to subsist on what the government hands out, hoping they resign, is obscene!! Startech had an opportunity to do the right thing and take care of their employees , the CEO could have been a shinning example of the magnanimous “entrepreneur” in the City of London who cared about the people that have been on this journey with him through thick and thin. Most understand the risks you took and the hardships you must have faced by starting out “with the credit card in your basement”, but that was then and this is now. You did not grow the company to the size it is today by yourself! The people you have laid off are our teammates, friends, extended family. When the covid crisis is over I suspect your attrition rate of talented employees will be high because loyalty works both ways! On the update call last Friday you smirked and laughed over a negative comment you were given claiming you are being fully transparent. In the spirit of transparency why dont you tell the staff the real reason you laid off 80 people with no severance or assistance….it was to protect the only thing you truly care about, your bottom line and personnel net worth.

    Continue reading
    StarTech.com2020-05-25
  10. "What a joke..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at StarTech.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perceived as an innovative technology company... not so much....

    Cons

    Where to start... the owner has no clue how a business should run and frustrates all the executives to no end, especially when his surrogate is running the show. I have never seen such a poorly run company in my life. PS parades around like StarTech is some darling company of the tech sector but it is a wholesale junk business buying garbage from China and selling it at a mark up pretending to be a Canadian company. The fact people are writing these glowing reviews like PS won't throw you out at the first sign of slumping sales is a joke (or more likely P&C to boost their glassdoor rating). If you had any clue about how this company treated so many loyal and hard working employees when they laid them off without any notice, didn't allow them to take their vacation pay and then attempted to tell people they could keep their benefits like they were doing them a favour (it was done so they could "temporarily layoff" people as stipulated in the ESA), you would be sickened. This isn't how you treat employees that have given so much to your company. The weekly meeting with PS is a joke, reading from a script with "pain". You're worth tens or hundreds of millions of dollars, can the garbage like you're taking a hit. Is it any wonder that the same percentage of sales dip is the same amount of staff percentage you let go? If you have any skills, take them elsewhere, they won't be rewarded unless you're a great suck up to PS and his surrogate.

    Continue reading
    StarTech.com2020-05-27
Found 94 reviews