Sonic Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sonic Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Sonic CEO Paul Brown
Paul Brown
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very Fun and Fast paced workplace(in 190 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours depending on how well you know your crew members(in 103 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, Sometimes you had to work more than the station that was assigned to you(in 98 reviews)

  • "I worked hard for half a year, giving my all in hopes of getting a raise above the federal minimum wage(in 93 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Average place to work, fun though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sonic full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people, close location, free food

    Cons

    Had to deal with a lot of customers

    Sonic2019-04-24
  2. "Sonic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Sonic

    Pros

    Allowed for flexible scheduling .

    Cons

    Training was unorganized, usually long shifts.

    Sonic2017-06-16
  3. "A fast food restauraunt deserving to be prideful of service and quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Waynesboro, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sonic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quality food Speed of light service

    Cons

    No Money No Money No Money No Money No Money

    Advice to Management

    Your restaurant is too clean--to be so messy!

    Sonic2019-11-26
  4. "More stress than it was worth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CarHop in Blue Springs, MO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sonic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was close to my house, sometimes a day's worth of tips was over $40

    Cons

    Unclean, stressful, they expect you to do 5 things at once. Sometimes you left with negative tips.

    Sonic2019-12-05
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CarHop in Benton, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sonic part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tips are good, management is professional, and clean environment to work in.

    Cons

    Hot in the summer and cold in the winter. Get ready to walk at least 5miles on a short shift.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sonic2019-11-19
  6. "Pretty good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sonic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mostly flexible hours Kind staff Overall easy

    Cons

    Kinda grimy Poor upkeep of restaurant

    Sonic2019-11-20
  7. "It was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Crew in Moyock, NC

    I worked at Sonic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty easy job, but you can make it difficult if you want.

    Cons

    Pay is pretty low, but a lot of people still manage to do less than they're expected to.

    Sonic2019-12-02
  8. "I was a carhop and FOH employee."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Sonic

    Pros

    It has flexible hours and lots of employees to cover shifts if needed. After a few months you’re likely to receive a lot of hours.

    Cons

    The management is poor and the pay is awful for the amount of work you’re expected to do. Little safety concern especially with sickness or water on the floor. Not forceful with food safety. Training is lacking severely to the point that not even the managers know what the actual rules are.

    Advice to Management

    Give proper hands on training to all employees and enforce food safety. And train management on how to treat employees with respect.

    Sonic2019-11-30
  9. "Adequate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Pineville, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sonic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chance to compete on a national level for who is the best in the nation.

    Cons

    No authority as a manager, no room for advancement and if there is, no guidance on how to get there.

    Sonic2019-11-30
  10. "Part time position, decent tips if you hustle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - CarHop 

    I worked at Sonic part-time

    Pros

    Good tips, customer interactions, member of team, learning new skills quickly, practice time management and multi tasking

    Cons

    Since it is fast food, some customers don't realize that tips are anticipated

    Sonic2019-11-29
Found 2472 reviews