Shell Energy Retail Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Shell Energy Retail Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Shell Energy Retail CEO Colin Crooks
Colin Crooks
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pension scheme could be improved(in 19 reviews)

  • "You don't get sick pay for the first few days which is a shame(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Credit Specialist 

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time

    Pros

    Working environment, door to door service

    Cons

    Shifting, politics, shared service so far from stakeholders

    Shell Energy Retail2019-10-17
  2. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Surat
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent work Culture, value, good salary

    Cons

    Limited Site Team, Self transportation issue, far away from City

    Shell Energy Retail2019-10-13
  3. "Pleased to join Shell Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employee wellbeing programs Monday fruits Great on-boarding process for new developers 15" Macbook pro Enthusiastic team Great manager and team lead Flexible working hours Work from home Nice perks Table tennis Football table Massive car park Canteen with ok prices

    Cons

    Lack of sit/stand desks Cable management on desks could be better Pension scheme could be improved

    Shell Energy Retail2019-10-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, bad practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working Good cheap coffee Free fruit

    Cons

    Lack of communication across teams produces detrimental results Micro management by colleagues

    Advice to Management

    The business still acts as First Utility. Plan, deliver, correct everything mid flow. Too much of a start up mantra

    Shell Energy Retail2019-10-11
  5. "A+"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thorough training programme so you will not go into your role without what you need. Constant help from managers and colleagues so you're never on your own.

    Cons

    Bit more hands on work during training as the call listening/grad bay is where you learn the most.

    Advice to Management

    Above^

    Shell Energy Retail2019-09-27

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    October 10, 2019

    Many thanks for your 5 star review. We’ve put a lot of time into our training programmes so I’m glad that you felt prepared and had all the tools available to you to serve our customers with confidence. This is really important to us. It’s great that you feel you have the support of both your colleagues and managers as that is very much the environment we are aiming to build. We continually monitor the effectiveness of our training and I will pass your comments on to the team about having the opportunity to do more hands on work. Great to have you with us, John.

    Show Less
  6. "Good place to work, improve and"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Kraków
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -salary -relationships -work approach -inside structures -good management and team leaders

    Cons

    -shifts time - lack of HR in Krakow office - lack of any pay rise

    Advice to Management

    consider having HR in Krk office

    Shell Energy Retail2019-09-25

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    October 10, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It’s great to hear that you're experiencing the leadership and structure that you need from your management team. Building positive, supportive relationships is something we believe is a key element in making Shell Energy a great place to work - so I’m glad that is what you are experiencing. Our shift working arrangements are very much based around the needs of our customers and providing a service to them. You will be aware of the ongoing changes we are making in our work patterns to ensure we better balance the needs of our colleagues and our customers. We are building a customer support centre in Krakow and, over time, we will review the services we need to locate in our second centre. Our HR team is based in the UK and supports all our locations, Hamburg, Krakow, London and Coventry. If you have a specific question or feedback about the services provided please do drop me an email. Great to have you as part of the team. John.

    Show Less
  7. "Supportive and flexible employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resource Partner in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility Management value staff and empower individuals Ability to work on a variety of projects Realistic targets Ambitious growing organisation Ample support

    Cons

    Salary Package could be improved

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support staff within the organisation and the business will thrive

    Shell Energy Retail2019-09-18

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    October 10, 2019

    Many thanks for your 5 star review. It’s great to hear that you are empowered in your role and have the support of your team to achieve outcomes. We encourage an agile, flexible working environment so I am pleased to see that this is something you experience and value. As a new and growing business our reward package is evolving and, as part of our ambition to make Shell Energy Retail an awesome place to work, we will continue to put in place the right mix of benefits to ensure we are able to attract, retain and motivate the very best people. We want colleagues to share in our growth and success. Thanks again. John

    Show Less
  8. "Poor reward structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Delivery Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities to develop and learn new skills. Ambitious goals for the future.

    Cons

    Poor/no reward structure in place. Exceeding performance is not rewarded . No recognition for achieving set KPI's and demonstrating high level capabilities. Underperformers are rewarded the same pay increase inline with inflation.

    Advice to Management

    Recognition and reward goes a long way. Rewards and performance related pay should be discussed in quarterly reviews and not only when an employee is looking to leave.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-10-01
  9. "Good customer service work experince"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Coveney, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    . Agents and managers are generally professional and respectful to each other. . Wide range of tasks to cover that challenges your ability and improves your learning. The tasks are not repetitive throughout your day. . Good salary compared to many other call centres around town. .Work space is clean and has the basic necessary amenities. .Free parking space. .Offer courses to develop your job/career skill.

    Cons

    .Performance indicators could be over-stressed at times hence affecting the quality of service negatively. .Not much career progression from customer service.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-09-28

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    October 10, 2019

    Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you found your time with us a positive experience and you felt your role challenged and developed your skills. It’s great that you were able to make the most of the training available to you. I’m sorry you felt unable to use these new skills to grow with us and hope that you may decide to rejoin us in the future - we're growing and new opportunities present themselves every day. Until your return, I wish you well in your future career, John.

    Show Less
  10. "Happy & Proud to be here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great community atmosphere, exiting tasks, good social benefits

    Cons

    Cannot find any so far

    Shell Energy Retail2019-09-09

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    October 10, 2019

    Thanks for your fab review. I’m glad you're finding your first year with us an exciting place to be and delighted you have noticed the work we are doing in the community. Hopefully you'll have seen the recent announcement about our brand new volunteering policy - where all colleagues can receive a paid day away from work to spend on volunteering activities. We’re really pleased to be able to play a part in supporting you to make a real impact within our local communities. I hope you will have a happy, long and successful career with us - great to have you as part of the team! John

    Show Less
Found 204 reviews