STEMCELL Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

STEMCELL Technologies Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
STEMCELL Technologies Chief Executive Officer and President  Allen C. Eaves
Allen C. Eaves
113 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "relatively low salary for the cost of living in Vancouver(in 6 reviews)

  • "Low pay, small increase once a year can be very depressing(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome HR recruitement team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Great HR recruiters open the door to bring in good talent and idea. They play a critical role in a company's growth and development. STEMCELL has such a great HR recruitement team, and I luckily met one of them -- Sarah Mansour. She is generous, thoughtful and has a great insight for matching talent into the right position. I applied several times for the RA position with STEMCELL. She remembered my expertise, always kept an eye out for a good match to my experiences. With her encouragement, I finally landed in the right position with a fantastic team! Thank you Sarah! 

    Cons

    I have not found any yet!

    STEMCELL Technologies2020-02-19
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources 

    I worked at STEMCELL Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Good culture. Very professional

    Cons

    Difficult career progression without Science degree

    Continue reading
    STEMCELL Technologies2020-01-22
  3. "Company culture is good but still needs to be communicate properly to the teams."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies

    Pros

    Good purpose, reason of the company and vision . The owner is an incredible person

    Cons

    All depend on the people you work with and the department you work for more than the company culture. Management or senior with low experience and without interpersonal skills can’t lead a department. Ask first who you are going to report to and research the background and why the people have left , etc , this could avoid you to be on a undesirable , unhealthy environment Good culture is not everywhere for example there are teams that do not have work life balance because of the nature of the job so be aware of this. Ask what Fast paced environment means. Fasted paced could have different meanings. If 5 minutes count in a daily base work for 8 hours you could be living in a continuous stress. Fast paced is good but all depend on what kind of fast paced your position is ... in my job position fast paced means that you won’t achieve the “work-life” balance offered ever.

    Continue reading
    STEMCELL Technologies2020-02-20
  4. "Working at Stemcell as a research associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay but can be very difficult.

    Cons

    Expectations are very high always.

    STEMCELL Technologies2019-12-23
  5. "Mismanaged company with lots of miserable staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Given training opportunities Work with lots of excellent, driven people There are processes in place for most business functions

    Cons

    Have to play a lot of political mind games which is part of the cultural norm People bursting into tears during meetings is completely normal They have created a toxic, overly competitive environment

    Continue reading
    STEMCELL Technologies2020-01-05
  6. "Good company, simple work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall good company, simple work. Great work environment.

    Cons

    Unclear career paths. Difficult lateral movement.

    STEMCELL Technologies2019-12-20
  7. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good management - Encourages Professional Development - Great people!

    Cons

    - hard to get visibility on things required to carry out my job - roles are not very defined but this ultimately Encourages employees to define the roles Themselves - more politics than I thought there would be!

    STEMCELL Technologies2019-12-11
  8. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RND Laboratory Assistant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture was very inviting and policies allowed for an easy-going environment. Free coffee was always in supply. Great facility (Station Street).

    Cons

    Growth opportunities are fairly limited unless you have a Master's or PhD.

    Continue reading
    STEMCELL Technologies2019-12-07
  9. "Marketing coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits, nice people and exciting products

    Cons

    Low pay, very high turnover

    STEMCELL Technologies2019-10-25
  10. "I liked it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STEMCELL Technologies part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, good coworkers

    Cons

    Everyone tends to stay late (by choice)

    STEMCELL Technologies2019-08-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 150 reviews