Rockwell Automation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Rockwell Automation Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1239 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Rockwell Automation CEO Blake Moret
Blake Moret
300 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunities to Broaden Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Business Manager in Cambridge, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockwell Automation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    What I love most about Rockwell is the ability to develop yourself into many different roles in different functions of the business. In my career I have been able to do different technical and commercial roles within the sales team, manage a services business, manage a project engineering business, and now a regional business unit. In each job I have been able to experience different aspects of our industries,... market, and gain very different skills in each role that allow me to bring broad experience to everything I do. I love to learn every day, and in all of my roles, each one brings new opportunities to develop.

    Show More

    Cons

    The processes and procedures of a large global company are sometimes to slow to develop and create the feeling or barriers in your ability to accomplish change at the speed many would see in a smaller company.

    Advice to Management

    Improve speed of change and continue to drive improvements to focus on our customers. Continue to allow employees to take on new challenges across multiple aspects of the business. This is the reason why I stay around, I always feel challenged, and am able to freely provide my opinion.

    Rockwell Automation2019-02-01
  2. "Great team to work on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Production Scheduler in Cambridge, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rockwell Automation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We had a strong team and great leaders

    Cons

    There is sometimes more work than is possibly to do in the day so you need to have good boundaries.

    Advice to Management

    More company-sponsored team building activities would be great.

    Rockwell Automation2019-09-10
  3. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded Software Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockwell Automation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with and opportunity to grow

    Cons

    So far so good, haven't been in the company that long

    Rockwell Automation2019-08-27
  4. "Used to be a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Cambridge, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rockwell Automation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Many products, some great people at ground level

    Cons

    Long hours, avg pay, poor management, terrible HR.

    Advice to Management

    Return to the days when people were considered an asset and not just a number. Step back from the trough long enough to realize that it's the people behind the name that shareholders get their value from.

    Rockwell Automation2019-09-06

    Rockwell Automation Response

    September 10, 2019Digital Communications Specialist

    Hi there! We appreciate you taking time to leave us a review about your role while with Rockwell Automation. It’s great to hear you enjoyed working with your colleagues – our people are part of what makes us a top workplace. However, I’m sorry to hear you had a poor experience dealing ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Cumbersome Process, Lack Luster Management, Obsolete Technology, Horrible Top Down Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brossard, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rockwell Automation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Commute was bliss - Salary was up there with the best - Colleagues were great - Coffee was ok (and free!) - Incompetence of the current management opened my eyes to opportunities outside RA. The thought of looking elsewhere never would've crossed my mind 2 years ago so a big thank you for that

    Cons

    - One way communication between upper management and engineering (dictatorship/bullying) - No software engineering experience in upper management leads to mistrust - Management sits on a throne of lies (e.g. we've been improving the software quality long before the new upper management was put in place, ISO is a farce, internal feedback surveys amount to absolutely nothing) - Natural leaders are being set aside... because they like to challenge whatever foolishness upper management imposes on engineering. This is as close to constructive dismissal as it can get. - Three internal reorgs in the past two years leads to instability and cynicism - Hardware for software development is lacking (no SSDs, lack of RAM, had to use VMs to work and even those were under par) - Project Management is a farce, there is absolutely no agility in the process (the simplest task takes more than 5 man/days from start to finish at best and this is not going to get any better)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Stop lying to your employees - Start embracing your employees' strengths (listen to your resident experts) - Stop spreading false rumors about your current or past employees - Stop promoting yes men and start empowering natural leaders - Hire real software engineers (software engineers that leave are currently not being replaced by equivalent resources) - Update all of your hardware (laptops, build machines,... etc.) - Embrace best software engineering practices

    Show More
    Rockwell Automation2019-03-03
  6. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Brossard, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockwell Automation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Short commute time Average pay

    Cons

    Management does not understand software development. Dictatorial style.

    Rockwell Automation2019-01-14

    Rockwell Automation Response

    January 29, 2019Director, Engineering

    Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. We know this location is going through a lot of change right now – and change can be both challenging and frustrating. Please understand, we’re making these changes for all the right and necessary reasons as a company that continues to ...

    Show More
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockwell Automation full-time

    Pros

    Very good company for beginner

    Cons

    Depend on your department and manager.

    Rockwell Automation2018-11-03
  8. "Professional, Fast Paced, Under-Resourced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockwell Automation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Respectful environment; intelligent and educated peers; emphasis on professional development

    Cons

    Poor work life balance; huge disparity in benefits (overtime pay, pension and vacation) between newcomers and longer tenured employees.

    Rockwell Automation2018-09-20
  9. "Sales and Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockwell Automation full-time

    Pros

    1) Senior Leadership are exceptional compared with other large corporations 2) The field of automation and IoT will have at least a decade of growth - money will be coming in 3) Rockwell is the most trusted automation company in North America and within all industries

    Cons

    It's a conservative company with all executives living or have lived in the Milwaukee area most of their lives which is atypical of a silicon-valley-type IoT company. That may be why it is not valued as high as it should be or is not in the press as much.

    Advice to Management

    Get ready for change and embrace it - your goal should be for Rockwell Automation to reach a minimum 100B evaluation in less than 5 years.

    Rockwell Automation2018-09-01
  10. "Cambridge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockwell Automation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people. Great product.

    Cons

    Outdated offices. No other cons.

    Rockwell Automation2018-07-25
Found 1239 reviews