Propeller Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Propeller Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Propeller Principals Jeff Foley & Amy Weeden (no image)
Jeff Foley & Amy Weeden
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is something that is actually possible at this firm(in 11 reviews)

  • "The Leadership team is transparent about the firm's focus on growth and encourages consultants to participate in that endeavor(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is growing FAST, and that start-up feel where everyone knew everyone is changing(in 3 reviews)

  • "I have no cons to call out at this point(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growth with purpose and authenticity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Propeller full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Put simply, Propeller is an amazing place to work. The people are consistently awesome and raise the bar for all of us. Leadership is authentic and transparent. Growth has been steep and has resulted in more interesting and exciting work. Local model means consultants don't have to travel leaving more time for other non-work pursuits. Employee Stock Ownership Plan (ESOP) is an amazing benefit that allows everyone to have an ownership stake in the firm's future.

    Cons

    None! Anything here would truly be nit-picking.

    Continue reading
    Propeller2020-02-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great organization that is forward thinking and cares about its consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Propeller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - competitive pay - supportive management that is transparent, respectful, and positive - personal budget for learning and development - client engagements are challenging and rewarding - culture at Propeller is fantastic and promotes diversity, equity, and inclusivity - constructive feedback is given and used as a tool to improve and adapt to different client needs

    Cons

    nothing I can think of

    Continue reading
    Propeller2020-02-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Autonomy, Fast-Paced, People-Centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Propeller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Propeller offers a ton of autonomy, while still offering a wealth of resources and tools to collaborate, thought-partner, and learn. Even though we are spread across 4 geos and many clients, there are ample opportunities to connect with colleagues. If you are someone who likes autonomy, loves to learn new things, and enjoys solving problems of all shapes and sizes, then Propeller may be just the right place for you!

    Cons

    Coming from larger companies, I was used to more health insurance options. That being said, what is offered is fair.

    Propeller2020-02-04
  4. "Walking the talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Propeller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, trust, rigorous hiring standards, truly caring leadership. Fantastic, smart and fun co-workers who truly have your back.

    Cons

    Some additional benefits such as life insurance could be better.

    Continue reading
    Propeller2020-02-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great People but Focusing Too Much on Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Propeller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Fantastic people who are interesting, fun, a eager to share their wealth of knowledge.

    Cons

    -Salary ok but not great. -Experience at client sites doesn't align with recruiting marketing materials. -Promise of Propeller as a 'career accelerator' not fulfilled

    Continue reading
    Propeller2020-02-06
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Staff Aug in Costume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Propeller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Talented and caring coworkers. - A feeling of working for a great place (for as long as you are doing well. make one wrong step and you get iced out)

    Cons

    - Consultants find themselves left to fend for themselves without support. - Some of my former female coworkers have worked for clients who are harassing them have been completely unsupported. - Utilization target is higher than similar firms. - Most consultants who leave don’t take the time to leave Glassdoor reviews but we all talk about our bad experiences when we see each other. - Contracts tend to be staff aug with very little actual consulting work.

    Continue reading
    Propeller2019-11-18

    Propeller Response

    January 5, 2020Director of People Strategy

    I’m saddened by what you’ve shared here. It does not reflect our cultural ethos or the work environment we are committed to fostering -- one where employees have opportunities and resources to grow, while also feeling supported and safe to be their authentic selves. I don’t think it’s productive to respond point-by-point to your review in this forum. However, I do want to briefly respond to your point about harassment. We take these accusations very seriously and do not stand for harassment of any kind – either internally or at the client. We have safeguards in place to prevent and address these situations should they occur. Employees have several avenues to report harassment concerns, including to their Performance Manager, Managing Director, myself, or any other Leadership Team member with whom they resonate. If any current or former Propeller employees or future candidates wish to discuss the content of this review in more detail, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly (jbrown@propellerpdx.com). Jess Brown Director of People Strategy

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Refreshing Transparency and Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Propeller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Propeller does a really good job of hiring for culture. The people I get to engage with are all incredibly smart, fun to be around, and unlike any other group I've worked with at larger companies. The company is also super transparent. They try and shed light on how the company is performing financially and how they're doing with growth against their goals. It's really refreshing and I think they'd be transparent with you about any questions you have.

    Cons

    Some project have multiple Propeller consultants, and others only have 1-2. It's always more fun being on engagements with multiple consultants from the firm, and those seem to be coming frequently, but they do a good job of ensuring there's lots of events to get people together.

    Continue reading
    Propeller2019-10-21

    Propeller Response

    October 24, 2019Director of People Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Propeller. We consider Propeller’s culture to be our “secret sauce” and work very hard to maintain it. We do this by following a careful hiring process and prioritizing investments in our people and their development. We agree that team engagements offer the best of both worlds - challenging client work and more time with your fellow Propeller consultants. Because of the good work our consultants have done over the years, we are seeing more of these types of opportunities - a trend that will continue as we grow our collective resume. Jess Brown Director of People Strategy

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "SF Office mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Propeller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small company with a decent amount of flexibility

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of leadership in the CA office. Not creative. Bringing in more of the same.

    Continue reading
    Propeller2019-10-15

    Propeller Response

    October 22, 2019Director of People Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at Propeller. Your experience and review sadden and surprise me. We regularly survey our consultants for their honest (and anonymous) feedback. Your experience seems to be in stark contrast to the typical experience of our consultants. I sincerely encourage you to reach out to me directly, or another member of the Leadership Team with whom you resonate, to discuss these concerns in greater detail. Propeller is a team effort. A key part of being a team is a willingness and ability to share, listen to, and act upon feedback. When you are ready to share, I’m here to listen. I hope to hear from you soon, Jess Brown Director of People Strategy

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Propeller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with the company for a year. I've been so impressed with the effort to match you with rewarding work (where possible), excellent performance management, and the amount of fun we have together. Propeller hires brilliant people with emotional intelligence, so they're awesome to be around. The firm is growing and the culture remains strong. I'm thankful to be part of this team.

    Cons

    Internal initiatives are fun and engaging, but at times can be difficult to balance with client work.

    Propeller2019-07-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic company to work for with amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Propeller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Propeller is an incredible company to work at, staffed with fantastic people. Propellerites are some of the nicest people I've ever interacted with, and it seemed easy and natural to quickly become friends with my coworkers. Beyond that, everyone is smart, driven, and top of their game, and it makes me want to be better at my job in a very positive way. Work-life balance is built into the firm, and work is actually fun! I would recommend the company to anyone looking for a place to work where people work hard, want to be successful, have fun, and also have a life outside work.

    Cons

    People are social- if you are someone who like to come to work and go home and not be involved with the community of work, it may not be the place for you.

    Propeller2019-05-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 55 reviews