OneMain Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

OneMain Financial Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1005 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Doug Shulman
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The work-life balance can be trying at times(in 53 reviews)

  • "Your job was threatened if your goal was not met, Upper management lost track of how the team members were treated within the branches(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "one citi.......works for the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Resolution Specialist in Toronto, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial

    Pros

    amazing bonus's and flexible work schedule....and amazing staff and management

    Cons

    Communicatio to staff at time is irrelevant to staff... needs to be more detailed and also what dir the company wants the staff to go in. And also sometimes they are badly disorganized

    Advice to Management

    better information updated systems working and dependable IT

    OneMain Financial2008-06-19
  2. "Aggressive sales... Uncomfortable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time

    Pros

    1) Good entry level experience in Finance 2) Steady Hours 3) Benefits

    Cons

    1) Very aggressive sales 2) You will be encouraged to sell products that don't benefit the customer

    OneMain Financial2016-12-30
  3. "Branch Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Account Executive in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good flexible hours, good bonus depending on your market, and great insurance. Fun staff to work with, your colleagues are the only enjoyable part of the job

    Cons

    Too many bosses,and too complicated to make the sale most of the time. Terrible customer service depending how complicated your boss can make it be.

    Advice to Management

    Don't set objectives that are beyond what the branch is capable of achieving

    OneMain Financial2016-09-21
  4. "Learned a lot but not the best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay relatively easy to get in

    Cons

    offer ridiculous interest rates to people that can barely afford loans lots of collections immense pressure from management unethical sales practices

    Advice to Management

    try to make the business a bit more customer centric

    OneMain Financial2012-11-23
  5. "Good place to work if you're willing to relocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Account Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible hours if needed bonuses can be good depending on the market people are great to work with

    Cons

    they say they're all about the employee but it doesn't show alot of the time no clear idea of how to advance the branch manager gets all the credit regardless of how responsible you might be for the result

    OneMain Financial2012-06-21
  6. "I Couldn't get no...da da da.....satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager  in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial

    Pros

    -Very well known company with a good reputation -Very nice work place environment and amenities -Somewhat youthful workforce (if this is something you want)

    Cons

    -Very structured workplace that disallowed creativity, initiative or leadership unless through positions of management -Promotions seemed arbitrarily given in an unfair manner

    Advice to Management

    -Allow more feedback from employees on management styles and ideas on how to improve the work flow (rather than being only concerned with getting the work done)

    OneMain Financial2009-09-30
  7. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time

    Pros

    Great management, Competitive pay, and strong benefits

    Cons

    Overall just a great place to work

    OneMain Financial2019-04-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a career !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Loan Specialist 

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time

    Pros

    3 weeks pro 1st year

    Cons

    STRESSFUL Job ! They pull you in too many different directions , hard to focus on just sales.

    Advice to Management

    Hire collection people and a cashier. Sales people should not be doing that job.

    OneMain Financial2019-04-18
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Branch Manager Trainee 

      I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time

      Pros

      Competitive Environment Pay Benefits

      Cons

      More opportunity for upward advancement.

      OneMain Financial2019-04-03

      OneMain Financial Response

      April 10, 2019Community Manager

      Thanks for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoy our benefits and pay. Advancement opportunities are key to the overall development of OneMain Team Members and we strive to provide as many as possible. We encourage team members to reach out to their managers for additional information ...

      Show More
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Branch Manager Trainee in Los Angeles, CA

      I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great work setting, fair compensation

      Cons

      Incentive plan, medical cost, commission

      Advice to Management

      Change incentive plan to benefit employees and higher payouts for sales

      OneMain Financial2019-03-26

      OneMain Financial Response

      March 27, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

      Thank you for your comment! We strive to reward our team members with fair compensation for the work they do. In regards to your concerns, we appreciate your honest feedback and understand each person has individual needs and we continue to make improvements based on comments like ...

      Show More
    Found 1005 reviews