Nextdoor Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Nextdoor CEO Sarah Friar
Sarah Friar
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As a fast-paced startup, work/life balance is promoted but not always practiced(in 9 reviews)

  • "The work environment feels inefficient and has eroded trust in managers(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great place to work, highly recommend"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Nextdoor full-time

    Pros

    Great engineering culture, visionary leadership, quickly growing

    Cons

    Need to work on fixing social sentiment

    Nextdoor Response

    February 23, 2021People Team

    Hi Neighbor! Thanks for leaving this review. We are glad to hear you enjoy the engineering culture. We encourage you to discuss more about the social sentiment with your manager or People Team Business Partner.

  2. "Excellent company, mission, and culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Revenue Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextdoor full-time

    Pros

    Mission driven company, with strong focus, process, and the opportunity to work with an exceptional CEO who is passionate, thoughtful, intelligent, and accessible. A place where I feel blessed to work for an organization where revenue generated goes into fueling a product that is creating kinder communities across the globe

    Cons

    Nothing that doesn't come with a fast paced startup. There is a lot to do and if you are looking for a roll your sleeves up environment with lots of opportunity to act like an owner and make an impact, this is it.

    Nextdoor Response

    February 22, 2021People Team

    Hi Neighbor! Thanks for the review. We hope your experience continues to be positive! We are grateful to have you on team Nextdoor!


  3. "Good company. Bad product."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Lots of transparency * Good ideals

    Cons

    * Too many planning docs and not enough execution

    Continue reading
  4. "A wonderful place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nextdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    collaborative, smart, and fun to work with people, a real company mission, and lots of care for their employees

    Cons

    organizational structures need to be scaled to reflect current growth

    Nextdoor Response

    February 2, 2021People Team

    Hi Neighbor, Thanks for the feedback. We are looking forward to making changes as we continue growing as a company!

  5. "Amazing people, culture, and mission"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leadership is transparent, direct, honest, ambitious, and mission-driven. The people I work with are whip-smart, supportive, and generous. It's an awesome place to grow, learn, build, and create. You get the perfect mix of ownership and support!

    Cons

    None that immediately come to mind

    Nextdoor Response

    February 2, 2021People Team

    Hi Neighbor! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are grateful to have you on the team!

  6. "Ambitious startup with strong leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nextdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong female leadership, transparent decision making and policies, purpose-driven company with motivated and passionate employees

    Cons

    As a fast-paced startup, work/life balance is promoted but not always practiced. Additionally, priorities and strategies shift quite often.

    Nextdoor Response

    January 28, 2021People Team

    Hi Neighbor, Thanks for leaving this review! We hope your experience continues to be positive! As we continue to navigate WFH, please don't hesitate to reach out to your manager about time off!

  7. COVID-19

    "Inspiring leadership and amazing culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nextdoor is one of the most diverse companies I have ever worked for, and our leadership has done an amazing job building such an inclusive and supportive culture. I admire our CEO and her leadership, and am happy I got a chance to work under our former CPO, Tatyana Mamut, who put user research and design at the center of product development. It is a privilege to work with so many talented and intelligent people and grow together with them.

    Cons

    We need more experienced people to scale our product and be where we want to be. The company is not showing flexibility in terms of work arrangements after the pandemic. Many people had to make significant changes in their lives to be able to cope, and the expectation is to be at the office again. That adds more anxiety into the uncertainty we have to deal with.

  8. "Great Place to Learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nextdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative Environment, Solid team mates, Easy going culture

    Cons

    Too cautious in their decisions. Company needs to stop being reactionary and start making hard stances on social issues. Can’t appease both sides of the table

    Nextdoor Response

    February 9, 2021People Team

    Hi former neighbor! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback.

  9. "Great WLB, CEO is awesome"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Nextdoor full-time

    Pros

    People are friendly and it's a great place to learn and grow

    Cons

    Pay doesn't feel as high compared to other startups

    Nextdoor Response

    January 4, 2021People Team

    Hi Neighbor! Thanks for leaving the review! We hope your experience continues to be positive in the new year!

  10. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nextdoor full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, opportunity to grow, young culture

    Cons

    Not a very organized company overall

    Nextdoor Response

    January 20, 2021People Team

    Hi there, Thanks for sharing this feedback with us. We are continuing to make positive changes and are excited to continue cultivating opportunities for growth!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 73 English Reviews

Work at Nextdoor? Share Your Experiences

Nextdoor logo
or