Michelin Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Michelin CEO Florent Menegaux
Florent Menegaux
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No work life balance (you need to work 12 hrs almost every day just because Capgemini also does), very biased behavior, no recognition for leader roles(in 21 reviews)

  • "Another thing is that being a french company, I interacted with a lot of(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at Michelin full-time

    Pros

    Great experience working with big company

    Cons

    lots of drive to the plants

    Michelin2019-08-29
  2. "Summer Student"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Bridgewater, NS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Michelin part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money and the people you work with are typically pretty nice

    Cons

    Hot and hard working, can take a lot out of you at times

    Continue reading
    Michelin2020-01-27
  3. "Mechanic"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electro-mechanical Technician in Kentville, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Michelin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, enjoyed the people I worked with, interesting work

    Cons

    Can be called in at any time, pressure from inexperienced management

    Michelin2019-10-07
  4. "Good pay/Poor environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Bridgewater, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Michelin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, (for most), with minimum experience. Good benefits. Very good job security, virtually no chance of being laid off. Now... I have a lot of Cons, but this is only based on my experience at a single site. This is a rather large company all across the world, and I'm sure experiences, and even policies vary. Even despite all the negatives, Michelin is second to maybe only one (Highliner) local employer in terms of entry-level pay and benefits, and quite a step above most of the competition. It's certainly not the worst place I've worked, and I probably wouldn't be making as much money anywhere else I might have remained employed.

    Cons

    Unfair pay-schemes. Older employees make a lot more than newer ones. Some jobs that are essentially the same have different tiers as well. If you get hired as a contractor you make even less. So, there could be a situation in which an employee makes half the hourly wage of another who has the same job. Aside from the pay inequities, the work environment can be abysmal, depending on where you work. Poor support, and management as well (again, this depends on where you work as with most companies). The schedule is horrid if you work 12 hour rotating shifts. It can be nearly impossible to get time off when you need it. A lot of over-time. On call with no pay for being on call. No career progression; that is to say, you can progress within the company, but it's extremely competitive and mostly based on seniority and knowing/being related to people in management (or so it would seem). You can come to the company educated, with experience, perform extremely well for years, and essentially stand no chance of getting promoted since there are already so many other employees with more seniority competing for the few opportunities available. From what I've seen, unless you have an engineering degree, don't expect education to get you anywhere in this company in your first 10 years if you get hired as an operator.

    Continue reading
    Michelin2019-06-21
  5. "Best employers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Michelin full-time

    Pros

    A real school where a beginner can get a lot of experience and face different types of people and difficulties with great people and management that’s available to show the team how to think and overcome

    Cons

    So strict and firm school with tough management that will stress the beginner but will lead to better person

    Continue reading
    Michelin2019-02-26
  6. "Your experience may vary..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical in New Glasgow, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Michelin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay toward top end of scale. To make more money than this will involve a job with risks. Lots of technology, room to move and always room for promotion. Lots of training opportunities but you have to jump at them. If you are eager, there is room to grow. Secure employer. Constant change toward improvement. Work/life balance has improved over the years.

    Cons

    Your supervisor is everything, so poor supervisor = poor experience. A reputation sticks with you, deserved or not, so don't get pigeon-holed by a bad supervisor or stupid actions. Very clique-ish, you had better fit in. Constant change, not all of it is improvement. Diplomas or alliances are needed for promotion.

    Continue reading
    Michelin2018-11-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Getting worse month by month"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Bridgewater, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Michelin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are some great people working there trying to make ends meet. Benifits package threw sunlife aren't bad if you don't mind loosing them once you retire.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. Management doesn't care about you, your family or anything other then their own pay check. Forced overtime, understaffed, refuses to hire qualified people. If you get hurt, they'll hide it from workers comp at all cost. They'll also hold it against you and try to fire you. Miss time for an illness? Be prepared to fight for your job. Seen them try to fire a woman with cancer because she was missing time. She passed away before they got chance. Zero remorse from management. Probably 10 years behind in training. Tries to use scare tacktics to keep employees working harder - constantly saying they are gonna close the plant. Removal of benifits at retirement is a dirty move. Removal of the employee tire program is disrespectful, they even took our cafeteria and made it day shift only. No weekends. Poor fella that wants a hot meal better use the microwave and if you forget your lunch, can't even run out on break unless you have banked OT hours to cover it. Place is getting worse by that month.

    Continue reading
    Michelin2018-01-27
  8. "idk"

    4.0
     

    I worked at Michelin

    Pros

    they are a good company

    Cons

    they are quite busy, but that's also a pro

    Continue reading
    Michelin2017-10-12
  9. "Technical"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in New Glasgow, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Michelin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent experience, lots of technology, good pay

    Cons

    Strong rubber smell, shiftwork, some supervisor problems. easy to get pigeon-holed

    Michelin2017-10-10
  10. "Best place ever!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Michelin full-time

    Pros

    Highly professional, learned a lot, great environment

    Cons

    Can't think of any con

    Continue reading
    Michelin2017-09-27
Found 455 reviews