Marketwired Reviews

Updated Jan 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 83 of over 87 reviews

2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Marketwired CEO Adnan Ahmed
Adnan Ahmed
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "When I worked at Marketwired, I had the benefit of a kind boss that hired me directly out of University (with no prior experience)(in 9 reviews)

  • "Most fellow employees are great people to work with(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is out of touch with what editorial does for the company(in 8 reviews)

  • "Senior management seems extremely out of touch and there is a huge amount of client issues that plague the editorial department(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome

      Jan 23, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff and leadership team. Awesome product

      Cons

      None to speak of at this time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great memories - ended poorly

      Jan 28, 2021 - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing staff, great customers, dynamic industry

      Cons

      Sold to Nasdaq who sold us to West - horrible transition. Lost the soul of the copmany

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Positive experience

      May 13, 2020 - Front End Web Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I worked with were great, creating a positive work environment

      Cons

      Culture became corporate after being sold to Nasdaq

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Taking a small to medium sized business to the next level

      May 12, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Projects are always interesting. There is a lot to do to take this company to the next level. In order to be a social company, the company goals and direction must shift quickly to keep pace with this fast-moving industry. Marketwired does this well. The working atmosphere is very positive and teamwork is strongly encouraged. Integrity, client commitment, and openness are values held by the company and individual employees. For front-line employees facing clients, their commitment to customer services is outstanding. Benefits are very good. HR is supportive and turns requests quickly. Engineering and IT staff work very hard to meet constant change requests. Our CEO is a visionary who pushes employees hard to tighten infrastructure, accountability, and work systems. Sometimes it's hard to keep up, but the leadership seems to know what they are doing and is open to constructive criticism.

      Cons

      This is not the place for employees that are not self-starters. Nor is it the place for employees who expect to put problems or concerns on their manager's shoulders rather than working together to find solutions. If you want to be challenged to do things differently, and you want to build something that will keep pace with change in both social media and traditional PR/IR, then this is a great place to work. Since many leaders and managers operate remotely, communication is sometimes challenging.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not enjoying the military-type atmosphere that's been created by upper management. Really hope things get better soon!

      Mar 20, 2014 - Non-Management in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Location -Salary -My immediate manager and their manager. I like working with them. -My job: I like what I do. -My co-workers (most)

      Cons

      -HR walks around with a chip on their shoulder, giving off an 'uneasy feeling'...'Human Resources' - Who do you work for? - Upper management or employees? Upper management? Thought so. -Upper management does not seem to care about the employees -The periodic 'Town Halls' are a waste of company time and money...last time I checked, a Town Hall was somewhere people could air their concerns and opinions, not sit there for 2+ hours and be talked AT. -Communication among departments is very, very poor -Everyone's a director. -Sadly, it seems as if we're going backwards, not forwards -Upper management changes direction/plans so often, it's confusing - we need to get organized and fast.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Account Management

      Aug 26, 2013 - Account Management in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Marketwired impressed me during the hiring process when they were open minded enough to allow me to suggest changes my job description. I was comfortable with what I was applying into, but felt I could offer more. In the end after negotiation I have built a job which inspires me. I get to work creatively and with many different teams and clients. I look forward to going to work every day. A huge change and meaningful improvement from past jobs.

      Cons

      They are growing so fast that they don't have all the internal processes ironed out yet. For instance, booking travel is not as easy as it should be. There are no web based programs, let alone apps, for submitting expenses etc. It is a mild irritation, but someone else gets to worry about the hassle of booking hotel accommodations.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Do you want to be with an industry leader?

      Apr 25, 2014 - Client Services in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      there are two companies here - the press release business and the social analytics business. both sides are leaders in their respective industries. lots of room to step up and be a leader. the client sales team which use to be a mess - is getting amazing traction with client retention. the back office functions are running at a million miles to support the client facing teams so they can sell. we have exploded with new hires.. with this much change there are bound to a few disgruntled employees. We have the best people here to work with everyday.

      Cons

      we changed enough in 2013 - 2014 has to settle down. more focus is needed on employee development.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great staff; poor Executives

      Sep 16, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the best staff I have ever worked with. Very hard working. People are very friendly and inclusive. People share knowledge very easily as they see it as a benefit to the company.

      Cons

      The executive at MW is very dysfunctional. In the short time I was there, there have been several changes at the Executive level. As a result, direction is constantly changing. And more often than not, the Executive's replacement is worse that the predecessor. This is also the first company I have ever worked at where there are no all company meetings (no town halls or all-hands). No communication to employees.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great opportunity, but a beginner position

      Sep 2, 2015 - Editor in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I worked at Marketwired, I had the benefit of a kind boss that hired me directly out of University (with no prior experience).

      Cons

      Though I had the fantastic opportunity of being hired with no experience, the company could improve on the salary it pays its editors, the respect it offers them, and putting policies in place that can withstand the test of time, as it was difficult to keep up with the constantly changing policies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      From day one, I knew I had to get out of there...

      Apr 12, 2013 - Supervisor in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some cool people working there in low level positions, but after a while you just start to feel sorry for them, as they're never going to get a chance to move up or learn anything new. When they are no longer relevant they will be laid off.

      Cons

      I worked for a company that was acquired by Marketwire. Most of our team moved over to Marketwire following the acquisition. Why wouldn't we, after all, we loved our jobs, but from the first day following the acquisition, we could tell that the energy we had for our jobs was going to sucked out. Within one year of the acquisition, all but one member of our team had left Marketwire. So it wasn't just me that had problems with the new culture. We just couldn't adjust to the poor working environment, lack of enthusiasm, and overall depression of working there.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 83 Reviews

    Work at Marketwired? Share Your Experiences

    Marketwired logo
    or