Find jobs for Account Management

Marketwired Account Management Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 87 reviews

2.5
34%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Marketwired CEO Adnan Ahmed
Adnan Ahmed
1 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Account Management

    Aug 26, 2013 - Account Management in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Marketwired impressed me during the hiring process when they were open minded enough to allow me to suggest changes my job description. I was comfortable with what I was applying into, but felt I could offer more. In the end after negotiation I have built a job which inspires me. I get to work creatively and with many different teams and clients. I look forward to going to work every day. A huge change and meaningful improvement from past jobs.

    Cons

    They are growing so fast that they don't have all the internal processes ironed out yet. For instance, booking travel is not as easy as it should be. There are no web based programs, let alone apps, for submitting expenses etc. It is a mild irritation, but someone else gets to worry about the hassle of booking hotel accommodations.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    More like Marketcrash

    Jul 2, 2015 - Senior Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no Pros...don't waste your time. You will be better off working somewhere else for less money. At least you will keep you sanity. Over all Rating is less than 1 Star! This was a Great Company under former Management but since then the decline was shocking!

    Cons

    Disconnect between Management and Employees. Management will implement new procedures and Sales strategies but never ask the front line people if their strategy will work and all the Key people are all long gone.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Very disappointing!

    Aug 29, 2013 - Account Management in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great talent, outside of the upper management team - especially executives. Great office, very modern and easy going dress code - varies between departments and offices. Conveniently located at Air Canada Centre in Telus building. Easy access in heart of downtown. Mid range salaries. Easy going office. Not a micromanaged office. Easy going IT setup, not stingy on need technology.

    Cons

    Not a team environment. Too much mid-level and executive management. Too much bureaucracy! Regular emplees have no voice. No transparency with clients. Very little opportunity provided to employees. Roles open up and rather than promote 9 times out of 10 they hire an outside mid/upper-level manager. Creating a hostile environment for employees whom are easily qualified for the roles. No employee respect. Executive team are all new to company and industry, even though they quote "Good to Great" they clearly do not hold any of the good to great company qualities referee to by Jim Collins in his book, as they rarely promote from within and not have a stable setup for success - which is clearly demonstrated. Management have no knowledge of the software the company holds, which has too many legacy issues that have been passed off and never corrected until now where it is breaking down. Stingy on resources to better grow the software for clients. Time waisted in bi-monthly employee town-halls where we are consantly reminded of the idiotic leadership of which we have the "privledge" of taking our company to the grave! EVP of technology, whom I might add thinks he is a tech celebrity where he even offers personal coaching with him as incentives, is "encouraging" employees to write positive reviews about the organization because they cant help but accept the truth that is told on these reviews. Reality, if you are looking to work your but off due to low resources (staff) and get average pay, then this is the place for you. If you are looking to grow and expand your career within an environment that promotes from within and that you dan grow with... Stay away as this company does the opposite.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Wired - Less

    May 8, 2013 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work Life Balance The Hard Working Staff (Director level and below)

    Cons

    Senior Management that makes work to hide their glaring incompetencies from the Board. No project ever gets completed. Canadian press release volume dropping 20% year over year. Sysomos leadership (the brains of the product) leaving. Sales management bailing/fired. Staff turnover and over and over.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Sales Account Executive

    May 5, 2014 - SMB Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company culture, open communication, and the drive for success are the best aspects of Marketwired. The leadership has set us up for success and given specific career paths for success!

    Cons

    I would appreciate it if Marketwired matched the 401K for US associates!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Poorly Run Company with lack of direction, vision and execution and no growth opportunity

    Aug 14, 2012 - Account Executive in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some very intelligent people working at Marketwire as Account Executives and they have great insight into the communications industry. However, this is lost in the disorganization and lack of focus of upper management as nothing can ever get accomplished. At first, the company sounds very exciting to work for as the industry seems very "sexy", however, sales goals are very lofty to support a company that has virtually no marketing efforts to help with brand awareness, lead gen, or visibility of our products in a crowded space.

    Cons

    Two separate companies (Marketwire and Sysomos) trying to function as one Unsuccessful "rebrand"- company has an identity crisis Two core products with totally separate/different decision makers No growth potential unreasonable sales goals non existent marketing department disorganized company, lack of focus or vision no core product differentiators on the wire side- the supposedly "industry disruptive" technology they launched came out 2 years too late and at the same time as our major competitor. They majorly missed the mark at an opportunity to build a product that could help set them apart. lack of sales support- difficult to generate contracts in salesforce, doesn't sync with other systems- makes it a nightmare for an AE to get anything done

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Forward Thinking Company, Almost To Much Going on Though

    Feb 25, 2011 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Good Team Environment -Forward Thinking Company -Potential to make lots of money -Great if interested in Social Media and SEO -Ability to work with variety of companies from 1 person firms to fortune 100 companies -Freedom to go out on many meetings and take clients out to lunch/coffee -Freedom to go to Networking Events

    Cons

    -Though commission structure is good, base salaries can be low -With all new products coming out, tough to meet goals on the multiple products -New products/projects are ALWAYS at least 60-90 days later than planned launch. Hard to manage client expectations with this. -Lots of turnover in the IT/Development teams. -No Matching on 401k -$40 stipend for cell phone a month. My bill costs $120! And I use it very often for work. It is expected that you have a phone that gets email. I realize most people have this now, but if that is the expectation, either provide us a phone or pay us more. The $40 just covers the data package.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good company, high earning potential, but watch out.

    Sep 7, 2008 - Senior Account Executive in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Marketwire offers high earning potential. Most of the people are great to work with and are very willing to help. The company is also relatively small so it feels like a family. I also felt like there were developing and bringing to market new and interesting methods for delivering news. I can honestly say that I believed in what I was selling and that the company was leading the industry in innovation.

    Cons

    I did not feel like there was a lot of opportunity for advancement. This may be primarily due to the size of the company and that you would pretty much have to be willing to move to another location for a promotion. I also felt that there was plenty of blatant favoritism going on.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

Work at Marketwired? Share Your Experiences

Marketwired logo
or