Instacart Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Instacart Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Instacart Founder Apoorva Mehta
Apoorva Mehta
182 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I wish my shoppers were paid a bit more(in 288 reviews)

  • "I always have things I can bring with me to work on in between batches, so I make it worth my while(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews by divisions

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Exciting growth in Toronto!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Instacart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing and dynamic team, with strong technical leadership. Challenging and exciting work. Great culture with people to learn from, and lots of social and volunteer opportunities.

    Cons

    Office space is tight due to fast growth, but we're moving soon!

    Instacart2019-06-13
  2. "rip off company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shopper in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Instacart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is not good and there's not much hours only part time hours

    Cons

    Instacart withdrew funds from my bank account lucky my wife noticed on time.

    Instacart2020-01-15
  3. "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Service Shopper in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, keeps me busy, reliable payments

    Cons

    Can be slow at times

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-12-11
  4. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Cheap company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Shopper in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Instacart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing I know so far

    Cons

    Cheap management, pays less then minimum wedge to employees, eve you do good job no compensation

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-11-10
  5. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (1)

    "Great for extra money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Personal Shopper in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Instacart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Set own hours Can make good money

    Cons

    Wear and tear on vehicle Hard to get shifts because of oversaturation

    Instacart2019-09-03
  6. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (3)

    "Better pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Shopper in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Instacart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, and good shopper service.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than Minimum wage

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-07-02
  7. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (4)

    "Crappy Gig Economy Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Personal Shopper in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Instacart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. You spend time on their platform and don't get any shifts.

    Cons

    Was unable to talk to anyone. They send preset answers to your questions that don't answer your questions. They suggest areas that are an hour drive away. They say you can use your own cooler bags, but then disqualify them so that you have to buy theirs. The company has $1.8B from investors but expect you to buy bags.

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-07-20
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Instacart Toronto is a let down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Instacart full-time

    Pros

    - Competitive pay - Free lunch - Equity - Nice colleagues

    Cons

    - Impossible tech debt - Nothing in the product team is best practice or particularly good. We need to step it up but that's going to be difficult for a lot of people - The Toronto office is not a priority for Instacart HQ. We are always an afterthought

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-05-07
  9. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (4)

    "Slave Labour! Find a better job people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Shopper in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You chose your schedule that’s it!

    Cons

    There is honestly nothing good about working for this company except for picking your hours .. I was desperate for a quick job so I took it...and even still you’re not guaranteed to make money $$ during your shift. For example for one shift of 5 hrs, you may have 1 grocery batch only paying you $10-$20? Terrible! You’re timed..to get to the store , shop all the groceries with the exact items specified , cash out load car , drive to customers house/business and unload, in a specific amount of time. Customers don’t tip always and when you receive your batch with Amt you will be paid plus tip...customer that’s super cheap can retract the tip amount after you do all the work and shop for them within a certain time frame. The ware and tear on your car and gas is not compensated by the company all comes out of your pocket. Also for a huge grocery list being delivered to a building you’re responsible and not forewarned by company to buy out of your pocket a buggy to carry all the groceries to customers living in high rise buildings! Customers complain when store doesn’t have items and remove tips and mark bad reviews on your page as if it’s your fault the store was out of stock. This is my second time trying to post my review so much to mention but won’t go on or they will not post my review. All in all get a better more reliable better paying job. This company is nothing short of CHEAP! If I wasn’t a single mother trying to provide for my kids I would quit immediately.

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-06-07
  10. "Instacart Shopper - Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart full-time

    Pros

    - Meeting new peoples like business owner - Choose my own hours

    Cons

    - Alot of student lying about their order goes "missing or damaged"

    Instacart2019-04-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 373 reviews