Hitachi ID Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hitachi ID Systems Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Hitachi ID Systems CEO Gideon Shoham (no image)
Gideon Shoham
19 Ratings
  1. "As good as it gets."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi ID Systems full-time

    Pros

    - a large and very strong technical team, probably strongest in whole Alberta. Best people I've worked with in my career for sure with a few renaissance developers; - generous monetary compensation and benefits, even comparing to East Coast; - paid vacation starts at 3 weeks and then a week is added every 5 years; - truly family like environment and "family first" approach from C-level management if life... happens; - management is quite approachable; - a number of teams to choose and technologies to work on; - secure jobs outside oil and gas sector.

    Show More

    Cons

    - complex problems to solve multiplied by large codebase with decades of inheritance; - deadlines can be hard to meet sometimes; - some managers think their way is the only way to get things done. They are "sitting on their chunks of codebase" -- politics and potentially investments into own job security, there are few of those though.

    Advice to Management

    People with proven ability to produce clean interfaces and maintainable code should be allowed to do some refactoring. Currently it's up to team leads (and most of them are fine with that actually). I understand that company has had a history of nightmare refactors for the "sake of change and just for fun" that's why I explicitly set prerequisites in the first statement of this section. Refactoring is not evil if... done carefully, building solutions around suboptimal interfaces is more time consuming in fact. Also, the cost of refactoring is negligible having the developer worked on this chunk of code for a while and already grasped the context.

    Show More
    Hitachi ID Systems2019-02-24
  2. "Steep learning curve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi ID Systems full-time

    Pros

    Exposure to many different technologies.

    Cons

    Management is still learning the ropes.

    Advice to Management

    Management at Hitachi ID Systems should take better care of employees.

    Hitachi ID Systems2019-05-21
  3. Helpful (4)

    "What decade are we in?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi ID Systems full-time

    Pros

    Fun people to work with. Some very competent people available to help. Good learning program.

    Cons

    Leadership acts like we're still in 1996, using outdated modes of operation, outdated code, outdated licensing scheme etc etc resulting in a very dated product. Very micro-management oriented. The employees are constantly made to feel like the boss doesn't trust them to act like grown adult proffesionnals. Management gives employees very little freedom compared to the industry average, while firmly believing they... are giving a lot. As an example, 99% of work could be done from home, but employees are mostly not allowed to do so withoout requesting permission and justifying it. Management boasts about bonus program, but bonus program is actually a conditionnal small payment split up over 4 quarters, which actually equates to a conditionnal small raise, not a bonus. The examples are too many to list, really. QA is virtually non-existant. Product is riddled with bugs and security holes that keep recurring and never really get fixed because nothing is ever thoroughly tested. Bugs and issues that keep recurring are extremely poorly documented, the company is filled with "tribal knowledge". Montreal offices are old, ugly, smelly and uncomfortable. Owners are "cheap".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust your people, if you can't trust the people, get rid of them then. Let go of the past and URGENTLY start implementing modern parctices and for gods sake... DO SOME READ QUALITY ASSURANCE.

    Hitachi ID Systems2019-01-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Channel Partner Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi ID Systems full-time

    Pros

    Excellent software built in house by experts in the field. Target companies that need a quality product, not a band-aid. Dedicated senior management that take the time to help you achieve the goals they set for you

    Cons

    Frequent change in focus makes establishing standards and goals difficult

    Hitachi ID Systems2018-10-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi ID Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and develop your skills.

    Cons

    No cons For the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Hitachi ID Systems2018-10-17
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi ID Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - A very strong group of developers. Many with 10+ and 15+ years of experience. - Professional work environment. - Good benefits and reasonable pay. - Good work life balance. 40-hour work week with flex time system. - Range of technologies in play. Both new and legacy. While it can be challenging integrating newer and older technologies, team members have lots of opportunities to expand their skill sets. - In... the past communication between departments could be strained at times. Recently communication between departments has been greatly improved. Departments are not silos and people are encouraged to work with people with different skill sets.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Due to the range of technologies in play, people need to be willing to learn both new and old technologies. This is inevitable though with companies that have 20+ year old code bases. - Software development is team based. This company is not a good match if you prefer to work on projects individually.

    Hitachi ID Systems2018-05-31
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Solid place to work if you're a team player and open communicator."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi ID Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent co-workers. It is a very professional work environment. There are a lot of long-time (10+ year) employees. - Industry standard comp plans. (Sales gets comped on new license, services and maintenance renewals.) - Territory+ model so lots of opportunity to close business. - Great benefits - RRSP matching, annual bonuses. - The company values work/life balance. There is a 40-hour workweek with banked... overtime, flexible work hours (core hours are 9-3) and there was flexibility.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Internal tools/processes. Hitachi-ID uses text editors like vi and vim to create external documents, quotes, and sales presentations. This has some definite benefits (Clean formatting for RFP responses, standardised docs, and HTML presentations that can be sent to customers that are better than a Powerpoint slide deck). However if you're not technical it can be a huge and very steep learning curve that's not for... everyone (however coworkers are happy to help). - Need to make sure it's a good fit up front. There is employee turnover, however if it is a fit most seem to be here 10+ years. - Territory+ model can be hard for a tenured sales person if you're used to a defined territory. But if you're good at communicating with your team and open in your pursuits, conflicts can be avoided and everyone can benefit. - If you're a "lone wolf" sales person this is probably not the place for you.

    Show More
    Hitachi ID Systems2018-05-09
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Archaic Company Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi ID Systems full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary. Good Co-Workers. Nothing else.

    Cons

    I was hired in what was supposed to be a permanent, full-time role within their Internal IT department. This department consisted of 3 people--myself, 2 other people in Calgary. I came into a completely broken Windows Environment. I rebuilt, redesigned and fixed all the problems in 5 short months. I brought back to life completely dead DC's, a dead W S U S environment and implemented and built a corporate... image and deployment services with MDT. I gave them a migration path and initiated their migration from Windows 7/8 to Windows 10. 2 weeks prior to my 6 months probation, I was thanked for all of my hard work and told my services were no longer required. The people in Calgary is a very knowledgeable Linux Systems Administrator but will not document or share any of their knowledge on any of the internal systems whatsoever. They sit in a corner of the office and treat internal requests like a pain in the behind and have 0 Windows knowledge whatsoever. All of their internal systems (with the exception of the Windows environment now, thanks to me) are at least 3-5 years out of date and no maintenance or upkeep is done on anything. All equipment is out of date, some 7-10 years old. When you walk into their server room, it is wall-to wall desktops running server software. They don't use official vendors but order from Amazon and e bay and any order over $150 needs to be approved by the owner and CEO of Hitachi-ID. The Calgary office is plastered with signs about respecting the environment you work in. IE, wipe your feet signs are prevalent everywhere. The owner is a former smoker, so there is anti-smoking propaganda at every corner to the extreme. IE, you are not allowed to use the elevator if you go outside for a smoke. One former employee described to me while I was there, and I quote "It's like going to Grandma's house." I received no day to day direction or training. I came in as an IT Specialist and was given the "keys to the kingdom" so to speak but was never shown any systems or provided any documentation whatsoever. I was sent to Calgary for 3 weeks for training but spent the majority of that time cleaning the pig sty of an IT area and formatting computers. The people in Calgary spent a total of about half an hour one day of those three weeks running down the network infrastructure--all of which they did not seem to be 100% completely familiar with when posed with questions. They are complete paranoid about telecommuting and have this attitude that anyone working from home is simply taking a day off, despite an abundance of evidence to the contrary. A broken bonus system that doesn't kick in until after 3 years with the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's time you let go of archaic business practices and start looking in the mirror. You have a plethora of great employees working for you but in my short tenure, I witnessed over 2 dozen resignations, many of those extremely tenured employees (which, by the way is almost unheard of now having someone say 10 years or more).

    Hitachi ID Systems2017-10-27

    Hitachi ID Systems Response

    September 18, 2018Head of HR

    It's an unfortunate fact that over the years we have had a small handful of staff who really struggled to show up for work on time and with any regularity -- thus we had no choice but to let them go, despite good skills and otherwise positive characteristics. Please don't exaggerate the churn rate. Yes, as any company, we have had a few resignations over the years, but two dozen during your admittedly short tenure is quite a wild and transparent exaggeration. It's true that we tend to retain staff for the long term, hence the large number of team members with 5, 10 and even 20 years of tenure with the company. We like to think that's a positive characteristic of our organization.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (4)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager - Professional Services in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi ID Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Excellent co-workers. It was a privilege to work with such a brilliant, dependable, hard-working team. It was a very professional work environment. There are a lot of long-time (10+ year) employees. - Great benefits - RRSP matching, annual bonuses. - The company values work/life balance. There is a 40-hour workweek with banked overtime, flexible work hours (core hours are 9-3) and there was the flexibility to... work from home when needed. - The location is a two-minute walk from Victoria Park Stampede Station. Parking on the property is subsidized and there was street parking nearby. - It provided an opportunity to work on projects with Fortune Global 500 companies. Working with and learning from these diverse client teams was a valuable experience. - As I gained experience, there were opportunities to work on more complex and challenging projects. - There is a very supportive team culture. Management was very approachable and invested in the team's success.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The internal tools/processes. Using LaTeX as a document preparation system to build PDF documents created efficiency but could be time-consuming when there was a need to troubleshoot build errors or expand beyond standard documentation.

    Hitachi ID Systems2017-09-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hitachi ID Systems full-time

    Pros

    Hiring process is rigorous, which is a pain when applying, but it means your co-workers will be competent Benefits are good, they have RRSP matching Overall there is a good amount of work and they keep you busy No micromanagement

    Cons

    The amounts of work can be inconsistent, some months are very busy, others are slow Social events/budgets have been cut The internal tools are kind of rough More focus and effort needs to be put into automation to improve efficiency

    Hitachi ID Systems2017-07-26
Found 34 reviews