H&R Block Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

H&R Block Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3043 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
H&R Block CEO Jeffrey J. Jones II
Jeffrey J. Jones II
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible Hours good to set priorities(in 221 reviews)

  • "The filing of taxes was very fulfilling(in 217 reviews)

Cons
  • "hours were not flexible during tax season(in 253 reviews)

  • "Not enough Csps and have to deal with unhappy customers for tax pros(in 116 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Pro-Assistant/Data Entry in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, Good culture, helpful

    Cons

    I don't want to comment.

    H&R Block2019-05-07
  2. "it was OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flex hours and my own schedule

    Cons

    low pay, poor management

    H&R Block2019-05-17
  3. "Maintenance Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Calgary, AB

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    team, location, clients, flexibility, experience

    Cons

    no benefits, temporary, management, work on weekend without extra pay

    H&R Block2019-04-03
  4. "Tax Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time

    Pros

    Company provides in-house training, commissions

    Cons

    Low salary, seasonal job, constant managers replacement

    H&R Block2019-04-06
  5. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at H&R Block part-time

    Pros

    - Lots of training - Was able to work on homework during downtime - Given lots of responsibility - Team was great

    Cons

    - Was supposed to be part-time but almost always scheduled full- time hours - Not much support from management - Customers can become extremely upset and aggressive at times

    H&R Block2019-04-06
  6. "Flexible work schedules but poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule which is great for students who want to work a part-time job - I work as a front desk clerk so I am tasked with greeting clients, making appointments, and answering general questions - it was a pretty simple job

    Cons

    - I even feel frustrated for our clients because the company's prices are so high - Prices are not transparent - The company pushes for profits and production, and no focus or value on maintaining customer loyalty and satisfaction - Training is very unorganized and unclear; they would get inexperienced people to train new employees

    Advice to Management

    Don't change your prices so much and be transparent so customers know what they are expected to pay us. Come up with better hiring and training procedures so that your employees will know what is expected of them. Go through a proper hiring process so that you are filtering out candidates who are not capable of working for the company.

    H&R Block2019-03-28
  7. "Tax Professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at H&R Block part-time

      Pros

      flexible hours, seasonal job can make extra money in tax season

      Cons

      low hourly rate, you can't pick what kind of customer you like

      H&R Block2019-03-28
    • "Client service professional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at H&R Block part-time

        Pros

        I loved it, decent hours

        Cons

        No cons at all

        H&R Block2019-02-27
      • "Good part time job for students"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Tax Associate 
        Recommends

        I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        People and managers are friendly and very supportive. It's okay if you don't have previous tax experience. Flexible working hours.

        Cons

        Low pay. Limited growing space.

        H&R Block2019-03-12
      • "Great place to learn"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at H&R Block part-time

        Pros

        -Gets to practice with lots of clients

        Cons

        -Pay is not the best

        H&R Block2019-02-23
      Found 3043 reviews