H&R Block Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

H&R Block Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3560 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
H&R Block CEO Jeffrey J. Jones II
Jeffrey J. Jones II
306 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "sometimes will work overtime (especially tax season)(in 257 reviews)

  • "base pay is low for 1st year tax pros(in 118 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great To Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Peers to work with

    Cons

    No Cons to specify exactly

    H&R Block2019-08-21
  2. "standard front desk postion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very collaborative work environment, learn how to juggle a lot

    Cons

    impatient clients and long wait times for them, bad combination

    H&R Block2019-08-15
  3. "Recommended as a seasonal job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Professional in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    professionally run organization, excellent training on tax

    Cons

    nature of the business is seasonal.

    H&R Block2019-08-15
  4. "Great work environment and flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Regina, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, and ability to grow within company

    Cons

    Low pay comparative to competitors

    H&R Block2019-08-13
  5. "Would think twice about working for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Innisfail, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Approachable management: while the management was excellent, they needed three more of them.

    Cons

    Poor, if any, training for the position I was given Was expected to work alone, late at night, WITH cash deposits on the premises Expected to work 7 days a week, even though I was a part-time employee Appalling bathroom conditions

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps, ensure the technology is working when you are training potential employees. I did not feel ready to perform the duties I was asked to complete.

    H&R Block2019-08-22
  6. "Working at H and R"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Income Tax Preparer in Kamloops, BC

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best part of the job was working with colleagues and interacting with clients

    Cons

    Pay just above minimum wage. Incentives were poor.

    Advice to Management

    Better pay and incentives

    H&R Block2019-07-26
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Kitchener, ON

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, people working there are super nice and helping. Not a hard job, welcoming office feel.

    Cons

    No cons just know a little about taxes to answer basic questions from the customers walking in or on telephone

    H&R Block2019-07-24
  8. "Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Income Tax Course in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time

    Pros

    Interesting course material and great software.

    Cons

    The list is long. The instructor could not teach the course material and was only interested in reading off the Powerpoint slides. The hiring process was a joke - they are only interested in hiring young people and not those with professional backgrounds. H & Ro Block is a money grab - they get 15 students to take the course and only hire 3 people at low wages. Al of students dropped out for they were not given...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please hire professional instructors who "can actually teach" and are friendly and want to help students learn materials so they can make a career out of doing this field.

    H&R Block2019-08-22
  9. "Can be fun depending on location and manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Associate in Scarborough, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at H&R Block for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Each tax return is different so job stays interesting, new changes every year so always learning. Good commission after 3rd year if willing to handle the harder returns.

    Cons

    Don't make much commission til 3rd year. Pay just over min. wages but yearly increase no much, after 3 years the new staff were making more than me and I was the Supervisor.

    Advice to Management

    Make salaries more consistent for longer employee.

    H&R Block2019-07-31
  10. "Great seasonal work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Preparer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time

    Pros

    Seasonal opportunity. Flexible hours are great with another full time job.

    Cons

    Low pay for difficult work

    H&R Block2019-07-16
Found 3560 reviews