H&R Block Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

H&R Block Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
H&R Block CEO Jeffrey J. Jones II
Jeffrey J. Jones II
276 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours are great with another full time job(in 231 reviews)

  • "The filing of taxes was very fulfilling(in 227 reviews)

Cons
  • "hours were not flexible during tax season(in 264 reviews)

  • "not all tax pros stay every year due to seasonal employment(in 123 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Learning and training opportunities -skilled and helpful associates -Competitive environment for gaining experience -Socially responsible

    Cons

    -Short term employment - Fewer branches - Long hours

    Advice to Management

    -Improve the work hours

    H&R Block2019-09-23
  2. "Great People/ Slow processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People at H&R Block are lovely, hard work, and extremely passionate.

    Cons

    The processes are slow, and getting a project completed can take far longer then anticipated due to top down pauses and "check-points".

    Advice to Management

    The president need to have more confident in his VP's. They are the suggest experts, so let me lead their departments.

    H&R Block2019-10-08
  3. "H&R Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Preparer in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    H&R Block provide ongoing training. Tax courses is available during the fall to help you prepare for the tax season. Awesome and very helpful team member Come back to H&R every years Work over is very flexible

    Cons

    Pricing that the customer have to pay for doing the tax return

    H&R Block2019-08-29
  4. "Great To Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Peers to work with

    Cons

    No Cons to specify exactly

    H&R Block2019-08-21
  5. "Recommended as a seasonal job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Professional in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    professionally run organization, excellent training on tax

    Cons

    nature of the business is seasonal.

    H&R Block2019-08-15
  6. "Great work environment and flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Regina, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, and ability to grow within company

    Cons

    Low pay comparative to competitors

    H&R Block2019-08-13
  7. "Would think twice about working for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Innisfail, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Approachable management: while the management was excellent, they needed three more of them.

    Cons

    Poor, if any, training for the position I was given Was expected to work alone, late at night, WITH cash deposits on the premises Expected to work 7 days a week, even though I was a part-time employee Appalling bathroom conditions

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps, ensure the technology is working when you are training potential employees. I did not feel ready to perform the duties I was asked to complete.

    H&R Block2019-08-22
  8. "Working at H and R"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Income Tax Preparer in Kamloops, BC

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best part of the job was working with colleagues and interacting with clients

    Cons

    Pay just above minimum wage. Incentives were poor.

    Advice to Management

    Better pay and incentives

    H&R Block2019-07-26
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Kitchener, ON

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, people working there are super nice and helping. Not a hard job, welcoming office feel.

    Cons

    No cons just know a little about taxes to answer basic questions from the customers walking in or on telephone

    H&R Block2019-07-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Income Tax Course in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time

    Pros

    Interesting course material and great software.

    Cons

    The list is long. The instructor could not teach the course material and was only interested in reading off the Powerpoint slides. The hiring process was a joke - they are only interested in hiring young people and not those with professional backgrounds. H & Ro Block is a money grab - they get 15 students to take the course and only hire 3 people at low wages. Al of students dropped out for they were not... given help with the material. The instructor mentioned on first day of class "I am only here till end of class." In order words, no interest in wanting others to develop etc. their income tax background. Obviously instructor was only interested in their own salary. The classroom setup needs to be greatly improved as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please hire professional instructors who "can actually teach" and are friendly and want to help students learn materials so they can make a career out of doing this field.

    H&R Block2019-08-22
Found 3188 reviews