GoPro Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GoPro Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
42%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
GoPro Founder & CEO Nicholas Woodman
Nicholas Woodman
169 Ratings
Pros
  • "GoPro sets the standard for work/life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • "First gopro is a really good company to work with they make the best cameras for capturing action videos(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is so non-experienced that they resolve problems by simply laying off people(in 17 reviews)

  • "Some definite growing pains involving first-time managers(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "directionless future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at GoPro full-time

    Pros

    The few cameras we make are awesome

    Cons

    Only two real products. future looks bleak.

    Continue reading
    GoPro2020-02-22
  2. "Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GoPro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits were amazing, fun place to work, free camera

    Cons

    Business strategy not executed well

    GoPro2020-01-10
  3. "People, Benefits & Lifestyle Great / Management, Direction & Work/Life Balance Not So Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoPro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, good people, casual. If you're committed to the action sports/surfing/outdoors world, you'll get along very well. Great benefits, DTO policy

    Cons

    Work/life balance doesn't exist (consistent emails/texts while on weekends, vacation) Budgets & staff are not adequate for management's asks and what the company needs to deliver Job security due to past layoffs Product & marketing direction pivots based on CEO's whims

    GoPro2020-01-17
  4. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GoPro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good environment, decent pay for the area

    Cons

    layoffs and declining culture make the environment worse than it could be.

    GoPro2019-12-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Worked as Engineer for couple of years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoPro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great action camera and brand. There are couple of groups which are very innovative and productive. And they are actually making the company stand out among others.

    Cons

    Some groups are poorly managed and lead. I happened to work in one. Lots of politics and lies. Managers were egomaniacs and lie through the tooth. High title inflation. People who don't have leadership skills are all promoted to the managerial position. Salary is nowhere close to Bay area standards. Work was very demanding. Which is positive and negative. It gave me opportunity to learn and if You have family, it will take Your time off from Your family. HR department is not to the standard in my opinion, given the fact that, the tech industry is human capital intensive. I noticed this, right from the day I joined and right to the last day.

    Continue reading
    GoPro2019-10-29

    GoPro Response

    November 13, 2019Recruiting Operations Program Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources Officer 

    I worked at GoPro full-time

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    sometimes not enough much managerial oversight

    GoPro2019-08-29

    GoPro Response

    September 3, 2019Recruiting Operations Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here! If you have any further feedback to share please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Cool Place to Work ... But..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Automation Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GoPro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool CEO gave the employees freedom to do anything (encouraged using GoPro cameras and accessories) they wanted on Thursdays

    Cons

    Inexperienced with managing software engineers in QA. When the going got tough, management wasn't very nice (and the founder bought a $20 million yacht). Also, the company took on a product that they had no experience in developing nor testing of. Bad choice. Bad decison.

    Continue reading
    GoPro2019-08-28

    GoPro Response

    October 9, 2019Recruiting Operations Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

    Continue reading
  8. "Cannot recommend more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations Specialist in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoPro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Passionate, intelligent and hard working colleagues Company provides fantastic opportunities & benefits True to it’s original culture Stimulating work

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    GoPro2019-08-27

    GoPro Response

    October 9, 2019Recruiting Operations Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoy your experience here! If you have any further feedback to share please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company culture, but that is not everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoPro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trust in employees, great team events, you get a GoPro!

    Cons

    Poor benefits, limited future potential, bad exec decision making, marketing hasn't evolved over time

    Continue reading
    GoPro2019-08-30

    GoPro Response

    October 9, 2019Recruiting Operations Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great product, no direction for future..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoPro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great perks, benefits, if you're a full-time employee. Cool products.

    Cons

    Unstable career outlook, lacking in business strategy, morale is very low.

    Continue reading
    GoPro2019-08-29

    GoPro Response

    October 9, 2019Recruiting Operations Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com

    Continue reading
Found 272 reviews