GitHub Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GitHub Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Nat Friedman
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Easy to have work/life balance due to remote work policy and unlimited vacation(in 8 reviews)

  • "Because of this, the company goes to a lot of effort to make remote work effective(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most roles don't have a 2-5 year plan -- meaning, there is no clear path for career growth(in 3 reviews)

  • "This resulted in a lot of growing pains but I think we're past the worst of them(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (18)

    "Excellent company culture except for senior leadership in Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time

    Pros

    Lots of smart people at the company that are humble, empathetic, and driven to ship great software. Many core developers of Ruby, Rails, and Git work here and engineers here know their stuff really well. Hubbers are vocal and speak up about issues they care about. Company cares about diversity and inclusion and puts tremendous effort into it. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Senior engineering management changes in the last year have resulted in micro-mangement, demoralizing of teams, disrespect for the work of engineers and being tone deaf to the acual problems that engineers raise. Engineering teams can spend more effort appeasing certain leaders and figuring out how to avoid interaction with them than on soliciting customer feedback.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2017-01-26
  2. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - EBR 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to grow and learn i tech

    Cons

    Management is sometimes micromanagy and unorganized

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-08-06
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly - Technically rewarding - Good management

    Cons

    - Could use more diversity

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GitHub part-time

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    nothing really, i dont have too many complaints

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-05-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A pretty good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great remote culture, a lot (but a lot) of great and smart people still around even after IPO, very good benefits (5month parental leave), decent learning budget, tooling and hardware at your choice. New CEO appears to be the real deal.

    Cons

    Still a US SF company (lots of politics) but nothing out of the ordinary. Some departments just don't work no matter how many (different) people you throw at it.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-05-06
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trust, flexibility, great product, brand name, awesome leadership that has done this before. I really feel that these will be the best working years of my career. There's plenty of room for promotions if you hit your numbers and with Microsoft in the picture, I have no doubt their influence will accelerate our ability to succeed.

    Cons

    Just like any startup we learn by doing, so there are occasional ups and downs, but the growth mindset and comfort with mistakes is embraced at the highest levels of leadership.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-01-29
  7. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it was wonderful lots of fun

    Cons

    none is wrong with this placce

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-01-27
  8. Helpful (58)

    "A sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time

    Pros

    Remote friendly in theory. (it really depends on your team) Some of the smartest and most incredible people I've met. Unfortunately none of them were valued by leadership.

    Cons

    GitHub used to be a dream job. But the company is changing and with it leadership is showing it's true colors. This isn't a company that values diversity in any way other than name. Leadership is toxic and abusive, and no one in charge will actually discipline the people who need it. Women and POC have an incredibly high turn over rate, but the company still claims to value equality.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-01-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Bright outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing benefits and flexibility -Super promising new CEO -Generally all very nice co-workers to interact and work with -Customer-centric approach and new management being added

    Cons

    Still have some processes that need to be worked out, growing challenges

    Continue reading
    GitHub2018-12-05
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Amazing benefits, respectful and inclusive culture. Overall a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to work remotely, unlimited vacation, good pay, excellent healthcare benefits, 401K matching, learning and development stipend. I work in a fantastic team with kind, hard-working and easy-going people. Since I am a remote employee, I log in every day thinking about how lucky I am to have joined such a great company where people treat me with respect and where I do not have to commute. Sure, there are times when there's confusion, not clear direction and ambiguity, or other times when the company has sold their product to companies or to government agencies that seem to oppose company values, but this happens in all companies. In spite of those things, which I consider a few bumps in the road, I find that the company has an amazing culture and that they spend a lot of effort in trying to keep the culture open, friendly, respectful and inclusive. Sure, things have changed, and maybe 2 years ago, the culture was better than now, but even so, this is much better than so many other companies that have strict hierarchies, bully and toxic cutures, or that give you barely 10 days of time off. I feel happy and valued at GitHub and it has improved my quality of life ten-fold from my previous job. I feel that many people at GitHub do not realize how good it is at GitHub and they focus on the few negative areas that can be improved, and do not realize that other companies are so much worse. My personal experience has been great and all in all it's one of the best companies to work for, and I have already been lucky to work for 2 other amazing companies.

    Cons

    I am very concerned that this is too good to stay this way, and my biggest concern is about the GitHub acquisition. Other cons are that there is ambiguity and constant change. Also, lately we have more restrictions about much we can spend on the phones we use for work or laptops get now replaced less often. This makes me feel that will be even tighter once we are under Microsoft.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2018-09-26
Found 54 reviews