GitHub Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GitHub Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
GitHub CEO Nat Friedman (no image)
Nat Friedman
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Easy to have work/life balance due to remote work policy and unlimited vacation(in 8 reviews)

  • "Remote work culture is refreshing(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most roles don't have a 2-5 year plan -- meaning, there is no clear path for career growth(in 3 reviews)

  • "This resulted in a lot of growing pains but I think we're past the worst of them(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (18)

    "Excellent company culture except for senior leadership in Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time

    Pros

    Lots of smart people at the company that are humble, empathetic, and driven to ship great software. Many core developers of Ruby, Rails, and Git work here and engineers here know their stuff really well. Hubbers are vocal and speak up about issues they care about. Company cares about diversity and inclusion and puts tremendous effort into it. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Senior engineering management changes in the last year have resulted in micro-mangement, demoralizing of teams, disrespect for the work of engineers and being tone deaf to the acual problems that engineers raise. Engineering teams can spend more effort appeasing certain leaders and figuring out how to avoid interaction with them than on soliciting customer feedback.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2017-01-26
  2. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment , challenging work

    Cons

    Nothing much, Unable to adjust work life balance due to workloads

    GitHub2019-10-14
  3. "Great ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Video Editor/Producer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People I met and grew with

    Cons

    Introduction of managers upon the sunsetting of a flat org

    GitHub2019-10-08
  4. "Open source projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GitHub part-time

    Pros

    good place to share codes

    Cons

    I didn't find any one

    GitHub2019-09-13
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Some days were great. Others sucked away your soul."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Benefits are good. -Remote work can be good. -Company is strong. -Microsoft helping GitHub to mature. -Microsoft channel is huge for enterprise sales.

    Cons

    - Clicks. Build the right relationships or your career will be limited. While this is true everywhere I've worked, it was more noticeable in certain pockets. - Poor management in some areas. CMO is desperately needed. - Rotating door in some departments. When everyone is underperforming, maybe it's time to replace the leadership. - Claim to support fail-fast, fail-small mentality, but will punish people for it at reviews. - Their 360 review process is implemented poorly. I've seen several people be hurt by feedback that the subject never received nor could respond to. - Remote work success depends on management. New CEO is in the office and rewards "tap on the shoulder" availability. - They are trying to shift to being decision-oriented, but in practice, decisions are made much higher in the organization than they should.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-08-21
  6. "pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GitHub part-time

    Pros

    Very useful to learn new things

    Cons

    Nothing cons in this github

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-08-22
  7. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - EBR 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to grow and learn i tech

    Cons

    Management is sometimes micromanagy and unorganized

    GitHub2019-08-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly - Technically rewarding - Good management

    Cons

    - Could use more diversity

    GitHub2019-07-16
  9. Helpful (3)

    "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GitHub part-time

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    nothing really, i dont have too many complaints

    GitHub2019-05-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A pretty good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great remote culture, a lot (but a lot) of great and smart people still around even after IPO, very good benefits (5month parental leave), decent learning budget, tooling and hardware at your choice. New CEO appears to be the real deal.

    Cons

    Still a US SF company (lots of politics) but nothing out of the ordinary. Some departments just don't work no matter how many (different) people you throw at it.

    Continue reading
    GitHub2019-05-06
Found 59 reviews