GitHub Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GitHub Reviews

Updated May 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Nat Friedman
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Easy to have work/life balance due to remote work policy and unlimited vacation(in 8 reviews)

  • "Because of this, the company goes to a lot of effort to make remote work effective(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most roles don't have a 2-5 year plan -- meaning, there is no clear path for career growth(in 3 reviews)

  • "This resulted in a lot of growing pains but I think we're past the worst of them(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (18)

    "Excellent company culture except for senior leadership in Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time

    Pros

    Lots of smart people at the company that are humble, empathetic, and driven to ship great software. Many core developers of Ruby, Rails, and Git work here and engineers here know their stuff really well. Hubbers are vocal and speak up about issues they care about. Company cares about diversity and inclusion and puts tremendous effort into it. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Senior engineering management changes in the last year have resulted in micro-mangement, demoralizing of teams, disrespect for the work of engineers and being tone deaf to the acual problems that engineers raise. Engineering teams can spend more effort appeasing certain leaders and figuring out how to avoid interaction with them than on soliciting customer feedback.

    Advice to Management

    If you keep the new leadership you are going to lose your best talent. This is being toxic to the company culture. Coaching and constant feedback to HR has brought no results.

    GitHub2017-01-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at GitHub part-time

      Pros

      great place to work at

      Cons

      nothing really, i dont have too many complaints

      GitHub2019-05-11
    • "A pretty good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Solutions Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great remote culture, a lot (but a lot) of great and smart people still around even after IPO, very good benefits (5month parental leave), decent learning budget, tooling and hardware at your choice. New CEO appears to be the real deal.

      Cons

      Still a US SF company (lots of politics) but nothing out of the ordinary. Some departments just don't work no matter how many (different) people you throw at it.

      Advice to Management

      Manage less.

      GitHub2019-05-06
    • Helpful (4)

      "Best place I've ever worked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Trust, flexibility, great product, brand name, awesome leadership that has done this before. I really feel that these will be the best working years of my career. There's plenty of room for promotions if you hit your numbers and with Microsoft in the picture, I have no doubt their influence will accelerate our ability to succeed.

      Cons

      Just like any startup we learn by doing, so there are occasional ups and downs, but the growth mindset and comfort with mistakes is embraced at the highest levels of leadership.

      Advice to Management

      Keep on modelling the right behavior and as you bring in additional leaders, make sure they fit the mold of what you're working to build.

      GitHub2019-01-29
    • "great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Specialist in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at GitHub full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      it was wonderful lots of fun

      Cons

      none is wrong with this placce

      Advice to Management

      nothing

      GitHub2019-01-27
    • Helpful (46)

      "A sinking ship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at GitHub full-time

      Pros

      Remote friendly in theory. (it really depends on your team) Some of the smartest and most incredible people I've met. Unfortunately none of them were valued by leadership.

      Cons

      GitHub used to be a dream job. But the company is changing and with it leadership is showing it's true colors. This isn't a company that values diversity in any way other than name. Leadership is toxic and abusive, and no one in charge will actually discipline the people who need it. Women and POC have an incredibly high turn over rate, but the company still claims to value equality.

      Advice to Management

      Hire people who value people to lead people. Stop abusing and underpaying women. Start taking a good hard look at your company 'values' and see if you're actually meeting them.

      GitHub2019-01-05
    • Helpful (3)

      "Bright outlook"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GitHub full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Amazing benefits and flexibility -Super promising new CEO -Generally all very nice co-workers to interact and work with -Customer-centric approach and new management being added

      Cons

      Still have some processes that need to be worked out, growing challenges

      GitHub2018-12-05
    • Helpful (10)

      "Amazing benefits, respectful and inclusive culture. Overall a great place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The ability to work remotely, unlimited vacation, good pay, excellent healthcare benefits, 401K matching, learning and development stipend. I work in a fantastic team with kind, hard-working and easy-going people. Since I am a remote employee, I log in every day thinking about how lucky I am to have joined such a great company where people treat me with respect and where I do not have to commute. Sure, there are times...

      Show More

      Cons

      I am very concerned that this is too good to stay this way, and my biggest concern is about the GitHub acquisition. Other cons are that there is ambiguity and constant change. Also, lately we have more restrictions about much we can spend on the phones we use for work or laptops get now replaced less often. This makes me feel that will be even tighter once we are under Microsoft.

      Advice to Management

      Improve communication. Sometimes, several months go by before we have a company all-hands meeting. Concerned about the company being acquired by Microsoft.

      GitHub2018-09-26
    • Helpful (42)

      "Chaos and Incompetence Abound"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at GitHub full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The benefits are outstanding the the pay is decent. There is a full bar at HQ if you are really into drinking. You don't have to use your real name. Everyone uses monikers like the 1995 movie, Hackers. You can even change your title to "Nasty Woman" before an election and that's HR approved.

      Cons

      The management lackluster and direction is constantly changing. Re-orgs occur quarterly due to the lack of experience and direction of leadership. At this point it's just rearranging the deck chairs of the Titanic. Anyone who has worked for a grown-up company will not be able to stand the immaturity. The positive reviews here don't surprise me. The majority of the company is young and lacks any experience. So...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      What management?

      GitHub2018-07-11
    • Helpful (9)

      "A unique company with unique opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      GitHub has evolved considerably over the past year. From solidifying its vision, to exponentially expanding its B2B market presence, to an eventual acquisition by Microsoft. With regards to growth potential, the future has never been brighter. My experience at GitHub has been overwhelmingly positive, and the growth opportunities are abundant. With excellent leadership, numerous development opportunities, and a top-of-the-line...

      Show More

      Cons

      The vast majority of complaints relate to growing pains and management changes. Although none of these have impacted me directly, it is important to note that this is a major turning point in the company’s history.

      Advice to Management

      Keep on listening to your employees. Their opinions are more valuable than that of any consultant.

      GitHub2018-07-15
    Found 52 reviews