Genentech Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Genentech Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Genentech CEO Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance varies greatly depending on your function or manager(in 109 reviews)

  • "Hard to find opportunities for full time(in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sr administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Genentech

    Pros

    great work environment, great and helpful team

    Cons

    moving from contract to full time is difficult

    Genentech2016-08-26
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Great for everyone involved in the company

    Cons

    not at all for anyone

    Genentech2019-11-11
  3. "Genentech- great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are wonderful and it’s a great place to learn new areas of interest. The best of everything.

    Cons

    There is constant change and ambiguity. It’s all for the good of the company, but it’s hard to keep focus at times.

    Genentech2019-11-10
  4. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Automation Engineer 

    I have been working at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Mission, Benefits, Colleagues, Security, Helping Patients.

    Cons

    Slow to change, outdated data management practices, not enough attention to the long view, too much concentration on short term impact.

    Advice to Management

    Invest heavily in fixing the data management infrastructure. We need some one high up to champion radical change in this area. We need a change of attitude otherwise smaller more agile companies will run rings around us.

    Genentech2019-11-06
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart motivated people, passionate

    Cons

    Large company challenges as expected, no worse than others

    Genentech2019-11-05
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animal Care Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, good work-life balance, supportive manager

    Cons

    no cons. it’s a great company.

    Genentech2019-11-02
  7. "Awesome place, a bit too focused on unimportant things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to work with the smartest and best people in biotech. Resources are unmatched - whatever is needed to do your job is always at your fingertips or can be delivered to you asap. Benefits and perks are awesome.

    Cons

    The pay is lower than other biotech companies nearby. I had a friend, also a postdoc, who was making 15K a year more at a company next door (same South San Francisco). The biggest con for being a postdoc was the fact they are hiding you from all really cool and pipeline-related projects. Also, the focus is 100% on publications, regardless if it can ever become a product or not, which seems odd and wasteful.

    Advice to Management

    It made total sense for the company to be focused so heavily on the number of publications for hiring, promotions and everything else (on all levels, not just postdoc). This might have been important to establish the brand among academics, but it seems pretty wasteful in the recent years. This is also one of the main reasons why some smaller companies are becoming much more efficient and productive than Genentech... and beating it in competition.

    Show More
    Genentech2019-11-01
  8. "Was a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and super smart colleagues....the best of the best

    Cons

    Lots of busy work and unnecessary meetings

    Genentech2019-10-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Patriarchy and favortism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manufacturing Technician in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team to work with, offsite, ho-hos, and benefits.

    Cons

    12 hour shifts, when that's night shift, you miss out on everything. Chair massages are taken by selfish day shifters who get one every time, the cafeteria is closed at night and they have minimal(sometimes ZERO ) options in the grab and go. They want people to always be working on projects despite NEVER giving "project management" classes. They'd rather you make something up that doesn't matter instead of not... having a project. Why do we have support groups if we're supposed to create all these "process improvements"??? If you're not liked by a person that management loves, you're SOL. I've seen good technicians quit after being harassed. Even when technicians go to HR with witness statements, the people they're reporting get off Scott free or worse, promoted! They preach about "the companies greatest asset is it's employees" unless you have a life crisis like a divorce or a loved one die. Then you're put on a PIP if you miss too much work. Because you don't actually matter. I've personally been made aware of a supervisor who has accrued, no less than, 6 HR reports about them. Most of which happened prior to being promoted to supervisor. Supervisors get sent on out of town "learning" trips for a week to 2 weeks on the company dime but they're always saying "no overtime!" This year they're taking shifts down to 3- 5 people per line to save money on holiday pay. Even if you're scheduled, you may not work. This is a company with great potential and we produce life saving meds, however, the LT is toxic and plays favorites like no other place I've ever worked. Even in the 6 years ive been here, it hasnt been this bad. There are technicians who haven't missed a day of work in a year for fear of exceeding on occurrences. Meanwhile, Sr. (Liked) technicians seem to be on vacay all the time in between promotions and HR complaints. DONT WORK HERE IF YOU CAN HELP IT. looking for a way out now.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at your people, REALLY look. Stop putting horrible human beings in positions of power.

    Genentech2019-11-05
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Leadership is confused and too much politics

    Advice to Management

    Focus on solid work over playing games

    Genentech2019-10-13
Found 1948 reviews