Genentech Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Genentech Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1899 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Genentech CEO Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance varies greatly depending on your function or manager(in 109 reviews)

  • "Food isn't free but it is discounted so not much of a con at all, difficult to find non-contract full-time position after internship(in 95 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sr administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Genentech

    Pros

    great work environment, great and helpful team

    Cons

    moving from contract to full time is difficult

    Genentech2016-08-26
  2. "Over 20 years of experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Packaging Operator 

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    sabbaticals, bonuses, catered lunches, free parking

    Cons

    changed culture since Roche buy out

    Genentech2019-07-16
  3. "Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    401k matching Onsite health services Onsite gym Flexible hours

    Cons

    Culture is shifting as Roche pushes down Roche policies and standardizes processes for global rollup. Pay may not be comparable to market standard.

    Genentech2019-07-16
  4. "gRED Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech part-time

    Pros

    Very positive atmosphere, great learning experience standard interview process and a very professional HR team helping you to get you onboard asap

    Cons

    hard to get return offer at gRED

    Genentech2019-07-14
  5. "MA&S"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company and culture! Teamwork is praised and collaboration is strong!

    Cons

    It can be political

    Genentech2019-07-13
  6. "Pockets of good, pockets of very bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I miss the wonderful people, amenities, events, and seemingly laid back culture. The people actually doing the work at Genentech are some of the brightest I have ever met. Cross functional colleagues are collaborative and knowledgeable. Built many great and lasting friendships despite people going their separate ways.

    Cons

    Everyone is restless at Genentech. The people doing the work who want to gain skills and develop their careers often get suppressed by their managers. I've had a couple good managers, a superb one, and one horrible one who went to great lengths to suppress, bully, and create a hostile work environment. Fortunately, I changed managers and realized that thankfully, there are great managers out there. It's unfortunately...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people who are actually doing the work and are closest to the science. Remove all the layers if you want to know the truth and if you want to be agile.

    Genentech2019-07-09
  7. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work you get to do has a great purpose and you improve patients lives. Challenging work, learn something new every day, great managers, and culture. Sabbatical, concert, ho-ho, and buses, brand new gym. Great work life balance

    Cons

    Difficult to move up

    Advice to Management

    Stop outsourcing careers to cheaper locations, we need the talent here in SSF

    Genentech2019-07-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Patient focus, strong pipeline, great people to work with

    Cons

    Roche’s way of working, too much bottom line driven, some departments do not encourage diversity in thought.

    Advice to Management

    Go back a few years to understand what made GNE unique and so successful!

    Genentech2019-07-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      They really value science and have a lot of resources. Company is very diverse

      Cons

      Postdocs gets paid the least and there is a little attitude towards postdoc. Postdoc projects are considered not as valuable.

      Genentech2019-07-03
    • "Genentech use to be great before transformation to flatten organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Medical Science Director in South San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great people to work with and great pipeline

      Cons

      Priorities not clear with management. Manages up with poor decisions making process. Promotions difficult

      Advice to Management

      Manage people as well as your projects

      Genentech2019-07-17
    Found 1899 reviews