Genentech Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Genentech Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Genentech Chief Executive Officer Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
55 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance varies greatly depending on your function or manager(in 110 reviews)

  • "Hard to find opportunities for full time(in 99 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sr administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Genentech

    Pros

    great work environment, great and helpful team

    Cons

    moving from contract to full time is difficult

    Genentech2016-08-26
  2. "Lots to learn with opportunity for those who put in effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Professional development, environmental sustainability, and ethical development of products (therapeutics) are at the forefront of culture. Opportunities to move within the company are available for those who put in time and energy to network and apply. Great people. Super smart colleagues who are changing peoples lives through cutting edge medicine.

    Cons

    Some employees who have been here for a long time (20+) years have a lot of negative energy and make things political. Lots of bureaucracy at times can make it feel like you’re not productive, but that’s often the reality of a highly regulated industry (we need to make sure our products are safe! We aren’t making software like tech companies nearby, we are improving quality of life!)

    Advice to Management

    Transparency to decision making will help break the appearance of bias and political in-fighting.

    Genentech2020-01-15
  3. "Great company, clear mission, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    The people Focus on wellbeing Development opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance (although depends on where in the organization you are) Consensus decision making can impair speed and innovation A lot of process

    Genentech2020-01-13
  4. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, very friendly

    Cons

    None that one can think of

    Genentech2020-01-11
  5. "Great place to work for the most part!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, flexibility, lots of brilliant people to learn from.

    Cons

    You will really enjoy working here if you have a great manager and team. Lots of people leave because of leadership. Certain job levels are capped out for growth and you have to change roles to keep developing. Hard to move around within the company. Some leaders are not professional and gossip too much.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to adapt to the times. We need new ideas and leadership needs to get on board.

    Genentech2020-01-07
  6. "Senior Clinical Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Genentech

    Pros

    Cutting edge research, great compensation and benefits

    Cons

    Customer engagement model too fast too soon

    Genentech2020-01-05
  7. "good training for postdocs who want to get into industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Working in a big company

    Cons

    postdocs are not regular employees

    Genentech2020-01-04
  8. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Oceanside, CA

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s a great company but your still a contractor.

    Cons

    Your still looked down and feel like you get treated as second class.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees because they are the ones doing the work, help them grow not lie and motivate them.

    Genentech2020-01-14
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bioprocess Technician in Vacaville, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like my condensed schedule. Some don't but if it works for you and your family it can be really nice

    Cons

    Hard to move up or into different positions

    Advice to Management

    Dont hire so many engineers. They all leave, along with their training for engineering jobs in other companies.

    Genentech2019-12-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pharma technology firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager/PR Specialist 

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and many opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Company was bought and closed.

    Advice to Management

    They were great.

    Genentech2019-12-22
Found 1976 reviews