GenM Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GenM Reviews

Updated 27 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
GenM CEO Moe Abbas
Moe Abbas
0 Ratings
  1. "Super Talented Team - Huge Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GenM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - New location is amazing! Beside superstore, coffee shops, Farmboy, and many restaurants. - Employees are super motivated, dedicated to improving, and work great as a team. - Culture encourages personal growth. - GenM puts money back into the employee's. Company trips and hired team building specialists at retreats. - The days are long currently, but you are free to go to the gym or get some shopping done at any point during the day. - Participate in Ottawa local software events (react, javascript meetups, etc...)

    Cons

    - Office is really cool but it's shared currently with another company.

    GenM2019-04-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best company culture ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Customer Service in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GenM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at GenM is the best thing ever. The people are awesome, the team is driven and the mission is one everyone can relate to.

    Cons

    The office pool table could be bigger :P

    GenM2018-08-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Powerful team on a bigger mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GenM full-time

    Pros

    - All-star teammates who work incredibly hard - Great culture, office always pleasant and fun - In & out privilege to go to the gym, groceries, breaks - Unlimited coffee, snacks - Friday BBQs with friends and family

    Cons

    - Office location - could be more central - The hours are quite long, but not impossible

    Continue reading
    GenM2018-06-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior software engineer Mobile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GenM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tremendously rewarding work. Building software that will enable people to have access to free education. Great team Great learning opportunities Great potential for growth

    Cons

    Office could be better located

    GenM2018-05-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing team and an amazing atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GenM full-time

    Pros

    - Great Office -Hardest workers i've ever seen -Ability to work remote -Friday night team bbq's

    Cons

    -The hours are a bit long

    Continue reading
    GenM2018-05-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great office, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GenM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Working for a purpose to make positive change • Great culture, everyone is super friendly • Everyone's voice is heard and respected • Everyone works hard because they believe in the vision • There are some nice hiking trails to walk through in the summer

    Cons

    • Location is a bit far from central • Work long hours (but it's worth it)

    Continue reading
    GenM2018-05-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hard working team on a mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GenM full-time

    Pros

    - Great team culture - Competitive mindset - Positive environment - Your opinion is valued - Creative thinking - They value personal growth - You're helping students and businesses - Nice big windows in the office - Can work remotely and travel while working - Performance-based so it's very rewarding

    Cons

    - The bus route isn't the most convenient

    Continue reading
    GenM2018-05-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "GenM Apprenticeship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Apprentice 
    Recommends

    I have been working at GenM part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy, fast, and convenient. Currently on my first apprenticeship with a business right now. This goes on for 3 months and when you complete 9 months, you can start as a freelancer through GenM

    Cons

    Have to be cautious of some businesses trying to take advantage of you by not signing the contract/ leaving you on read. Not GenM's fault, more of the other unprofessional business owners.

    Continue reading
    GenM2019-07-28
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Digital Marketing Apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Digital Marketing Apprentice in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GenM for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to follow online learning programs that included a lot of really helpful tools I had not heard of before. Kind and passionate staff who really make you feel like you're an important part of the team and are open to feedback. I'm only just starting my apprenticeship but the hiring process was pain free and really straight forward. In just a couple weeks I'm starting to test my skills and grow my confidence.

    Cons

    You have to be aware going in to working for any start up that they are in a constant state of evolution and everyone is learning and innovating as you go along. I enjoy that environment, others may crave more structure and stability in order to feel comfortable.

    Continue reading
    GenM2018-07-01
Found 9 reviews
</>Embed