GameStop Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GameStop Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
37%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
GameStop CEO George Sherman
George Sherman
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "You also get to "rent" video games for free for a few days(in 510 reviews)

  • "Fun environment especially if you’re a gamer(in 178 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GameStop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, Good people sharing great product.

    Cons

    High expectations and high sales focus.

    Advice to Management

    Push for more customer service rather than pure sales.

    GameStop2018-06-30
  2. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GameStop part-time

    Pros

    easy hours and fun staff

    Cons

    no cons for me personally

    GameStop2019-01-04
  3. "Not a bad place to work - depends on coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GameStop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Competitive work environment - Getting latest merch information - Working with video games and other gamers

    Cons

    - Coworkers make or break the experience - Extremely nasty and intensive sales quotas - Disconnect between actually selling the product and higher level managers who know nothing about the products being sold - Extremely difficult to get promoted at many locations

    Advice to Management

    Learn more about the products your stores sell. Try to relax a bit with the often shark-like sales pushing.

    GameStop2018-05-14
  4. "Good fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at GameStop

    Pros

    Decent discounts, interesting if you like games.

    Cons

    Pretty poor pay, after supervisor there isn’t much progression

    GameStop2018-03-05
  5. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GameStop full-time

    Pros

    Working with people and talking about games was fun

    Cons

    Tons of pressure to up-sell people on products or services they clearly don't need.

    GameStop2017-10-16
  6. "Typical retail where policies are in place but never in effect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Keyholder 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at GameStop for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Had a few good team members that made the job bearable. Good for teenagers looking for part time work and experiencing what the real world might be like.

    Cons

    Too focused on numbers, policies are written out but never enforced, you get in trouble for adhering to a customer's needs, and you also get in trouble for following procedure. Management overrides what they expect from their employees and make their staff look like fools. The raise is a total joke ($0.05 raise for a 3/5 star annual employee review).

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and support them.

    GameStop2017-05-31
  7. "Senior Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at GameStop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good customers Good place if you like talking to people about consumer electronics

    Cons

    Too demanding of metrics and does not help improve from head office

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees rather than just your managers

    GameStop2016-10-12
  8. "Don't work at EB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Game Advisor in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GameStop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Working in video games -Plenty of great customers -room to advance -first pick and discount is sweet if you're a collector

    Cons

    -Commission based job with no commission -Extremely strict sales goals based on things that are mostly out of your control -Instead of incentivising hard work, it punishes you for bad numbers -No hours to go around outside end of year holidays -Management and employee treatment are ABYSMAL. They get so many applicants that they treat their employees like trash. -If you work here, you will be miserable.... -Regardless of experience or skills, you're going to be paid minimum. I took a huge paycut with the job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees decently and stop promoting madchildren.

    GameStop2016-09-17
  9. "Typical Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GameStop for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Head office staff are generally friendly and helpful. Discounts on games and adequate opportunities for free ones. Store managers help each other with staffing, inventory, and customer service.

    Cons

    Sales promotions are often complicated, not very impressive to the customer, and poorly communicated to staff. Not much upward mobility if your store isn't in the right location. There's no hope for a promotion if your store is in a mall without the target clientele.

    Advice to Management

    Shuffle managers from store to store every year or two to give them experience in different locations. It will expose the difference between good managers and bad ones with good locations.

    GameStop2016-06-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at GameStop

    Pros

    love video games probably more than i love the job

    Cons

    cheap labor but it beats doing dishes am i right

    GameStop2016-03-03
Found 4289 reviews