Fortinet Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Fortinet Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "One of the best places to work in Cyber Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SE Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortinet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge company, not afraid to try new technologies and verticals. I'e worked for several vendors over the years and Fortinet has definitely been the best one I have worked for. Executive management is strong and cares about its employees and takes a cautious approach financially while not afraid to be cutting edge technically.

    Cons

    Need to be a self starter and have the initiative to figure out how things work, sometimes on your own. Not always the marketing powerhouse that it deserves to be.

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-07-08
  2. "Great company to work for with excellent compensation and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortinet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing people - smart, friendly, dedicated to helping Fortinet succeed - Lots of social clubs/interest groups where you can socialize and meet new people who share similar interests - Good comp plan that includes stock - Generous benefits plan that includes a healthcare spending account and lifestyle spending account - and RRSP matching - Good work/life balance but Fortinet does offer dinner if I need to stay late to work overtime - Being a big company, there are lots of opportunity to move around, grow and do different things - Proud to be working for a company that's providing innovative network and cyber security solutions to protect people

    Cons

    - Could be a bit more regular communication from senior management on product direction, sales etc. - although quarterly All-hands meetings do provide insight into those areas

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-08-20
  3. "Poised for growth in the industry ! Rewarding for Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortinet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined Fortinet few years ago and over the course of time, I was able to contribute and the hard work was recognized by my Seniors. My efforts were recognition and rewarded both in terms of career growth and appraisals. I find it quite exciting to be a part of the Fortinet brand as the company is well placed in the market and poised for growth. Work peaks up at times and it's challenging but it is also interesting and offers learning opportunities and when you contribute, you would have a sense of accomplishment. Leaders in our group support us and you always have the opportunity to take on something new. Management supports hiring new grads and growing their talent which is a great platform to bring new ideas and innovate that will help in our growth. There has been significant progress in improving the culture and teams are more diverse than it used to be which is great and employees are enjoying socializing, participating in events throughout the year, interest clubs are wonderful and onsite gym facilities and training is an asset.

    Cons

    Managers in technical teams need to engage more with team members, do more one to ones and offer them new opportunities at work.

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-08-20
  4. "Great company to work in BC area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fortinet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very competitive Salary, stock benefit and overtime dinner. People are very nice and helpful. It's a good choice for work-life balance

    Cons

    Some teams are still using old technologies and workflow.

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-08-19
  5. "Great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortinet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great place to work, I have been working in Fortinet since November 2015 in Fortinet LATAM but now that I am in Canada I feel the same energy and power that company can offer to all employees. I feel comfortable and self confidence growing as an engineer

    Cons

    I don't find cons, great place to work both LATAM and Canada! : D

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-08-15
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortinet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Every one is really kind, friendly, and lend a helping hand when needed. I am currently on a 4-month co-op at have enjoyed every day so far. It has been a rewarding experience as I was able to work with a diverse group of people. There are many clubs / fitness centers / sport clubs for people to join and make friends. There are also underground electric vehicle charging stations available free of charge for 2 hours!

    Cons

    not many food places near by

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-08-14
  7. "Suck the juices out of you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Engineer in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Fortinet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional development is very good.

    Cons

    Low pay for enormous amount of work

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-08-23
  8. "My experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fortinet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Fortinet about 2.5 years...I started as a junior in my team and was able to progress quickly into a team lead role. The great thing about working at Fortinet is the high-growth/pace which brings the chance to learn a lot and show the work and skills you have. Majority of teams are really positive, friendly people to work with and I haven't met someone who has been unwilling to help out - even if it wasn't their job! Besides that, I think for the Burnaby/Vancouver market the compensation is quite competitive. Salaries are good, stock options on top makes it great. Usual benefits and perks you see in other companies. Other random pros: - large office that we own (aka job security and here to stay and grow in this location) - over time meals delivered 4 days a week - free gym / gym classes (they have a trainer come in free) -

    Cons

    Maybe vamp up the vacation policy.

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-07-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not for fresh Graduates , But good for retirement!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fortinet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary and Stock. Health Benefits Flexible work hour. Peer staff and teams are very easy to reach at personal level. This company is excellent choice if you have 5+ years of experience and looking for work-life balance. But not a good choice for new graduates looking to develop their career.

    Cons

    English is not Spoken in Company. QA Mangers has absolute zero intrest in your Career Development. Micro Management from senior (CTO / CEO ) level staff disturbs work flow. Working with old techologies. Promotion is based on Seniority not qualification.

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-08-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Just Stay Away..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dev QA Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fortinet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only reason I gave 2 starts instead of 1 is the pay being above average. This advantage will be gone in no time as more and more US companies coming to Vancouver and paying $100,000 + for even new grads.

    Cons

    1. If you don't speed Mandarin, you are minority. Some teams do meetings and interviews in Mandarin. 2. If you insist on good practise, you are minority. You are expected to just get the work done ASAP. 3. "Let me help you with that" is not a thing... 4. Micro-management is everywhere 5. The tools and infrastructure they use are at least 10 years old. If you want to learn knowledge that are used elsewhere, don't go to Fortinet! 6. I can do this all day, but I will stop here because I think the things I listed above will be more than enough to stop you :)

    Continue reading
    Fortinet2019-07-31
Found 110 reviews