Fitbit Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Fitbit Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Fitbit CEO James Park
James Park
173 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Short overview of "Why Fitbit?""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An environment that really allows you to grow both career wise & on your personal journey. Love working with people committed to what they're doing & always eager to share some of their knowledge. We really want to make the world a healthier place with our products and we're constantly pushing ourselves over our limits.

    Cons

    Nothing that crosses my mind at the moment:)

    Fitbit2019-11-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A very good environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Android Software Engineer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The first best thing about Fitbit is the people that are behind and the way they interact in teams and cross-team. They are all open minded and willing to help you at any time. Also, Fitbit is a great place to learn lots of things and even make your ideas part of the product (there are Hackbits and also a place where you can state your idea). Last, but not least, the benefits are good and the Bucharest office is... well located

    Show More

    Cons

    There are times where you have to take meetings at later hours to sync with teams in the US, but this is very flexible: you can take them from home and come a bit later the next day

    Fitbit2019-11-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A short title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Software Engineer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    awesome people; flexible time; i've learned a lot from my team; my team is patient with me

    Cons

    none so far; i really like here

    Fitbit2019-11-13
  4. "Good collaborative workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering 

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work hard, but you're fairly compensated.

    Cons

    Hard to balance work/family life.

    Fitbit2019-11-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Work/Life Balance, Products & a Mission you can believe in, & a company focused on influencing the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The mission "To make everyone in the world" healthier is one that is talked up a lot but I feel most people do take it to heart here and it is something much bigger that we can get behind, rather than just aiming for "profit over everything" - You get an understanding of how these products change and impact peoples' lives and you feel a responsibility to them to put out your best work possible, because for some... people it really becomes a matter of life or death - Solid office perks like Friday Happy Hours, guided workouts & meditations, healthy snacks in the kitchens, regular company wide activities like step competitors, good location in downtown San Francisco, internal testing opportunities to help influence future product launches - Most people I have met and worked with are friendly and willing to help if you know how to ask. I've never really run into anyone with a snobby or "above-it-all" attitude and it definitely helps with the work flow. - Unlimited PTO, need I say more? Of course, use it responsibly and don't always be gone either, but if your work is done and it isn't a crazy time for the company I've never had an issue with a time off request. - You can feel the sense of community, especially when you see a lot of people gathered, at an all hands meeting for example, and you can feel when we all win or lose together. - Very open to self expression and supporting any extracurricular activities you're involved in and potentially bringing it to the company if you talk to the right people - Pretty recent, but there's been a strong push on diversity in the office and in recruiting which is nice to see that has become a priority, especially as someone who is considered "diverse"

    Show More

    Cons

    - While the jobs can be good, I've found a lot of different teams seem to struggle with finding an upwards mobility path. There's been a recent push for learning and development, but a lot of people don't know where to go "up" from their roles. - That leads directly into a lot of turnover, so sometimes it's hard to find a contact for something you need when the one you know left and no comms were sent out about... who is taking that over - I think it's seriously insane that we don't have a company gym. Yes, there's a small building owned "gym" in the basement, but it's a sorry excuse for a gym. I've seen hotel gyms with more equipment and space. Besides the obvious connection to fitness, it would also provide a cool environment for us to mingle in a different way and showcase features we love & use from our devices. - Could definitely use more "chill" areas or just places to work and get away from your desk and/or conference room.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We're the owners of this space, and we need to act more like it. It is hard to see competitors gaining the edge over use over simple things that we could have implemented a while ago. We need to continue to innovate and push forward company wide and ensure Fitbit stays dominant in the futre. I can tell there has been a recent push on employee health & wellness which I can very much appreciate, but there's no... excuse to not providing a gym to the employees and I believe the majority of us can agree on that. I know we're all learning and growing so I understand growing pains, but let's work together and make the future Fitbit.

    Show More
    Fitbit2019-10-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Android Engineer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice project to work on Good career plan and personal development Different benefits Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Some late meetings, however those can be taken from home, or you can come later at work

    Fitbit2019-09-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ios Software Engineer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people huge project, the perfect environment if you want to grow not only as a developer you get your code reviewed career path support quality time with fitbit team

    Cons

    having a huge project is also a downside sometimes

    Fitbit2019-09-18
  8. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Brussels
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good brand in general

    Cons

    Long shifts Rapport after work sometimes

    Fitbit2019-09-30
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Good work/life balance, incredibly toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good time off benefits, decent work/life balance unless you're on a really overworked team, people passionate about the products

    Cons

    Management are toxic and have no interest in retaining talent, management have superior complex over employees and will flaunt it, refusal to understand the limitations of headcount at the management level, overcommitment to hundreds of initiatives they can't staff, managers give little to no direction to help employees grow skills, lowball staff in terms of base salary offers

    Advice to Management

    Invest in management training, invest in basic human decency training for management, learn to value the employees you have, and upper management needs to be aware of the company they have and stop daydreaming. Also, invest in a gym. This is a company built on exercise hobbyists and asking employees to participate in them without giving them a proper gym comes across as cheap.

    Fitbit2019-09-14
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Incredibly meaningful product portfolio with a misguided and uninspired management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work for a company creating products with purpose and meaning. You'll be inspired by the weekly customer success stories shared internally submitted by customers. These unsolicited stories share how lives are changed for the better with the use of Fitbit devices. - Generous employee product discount - Fully stocked kitchens with a variety of snacks and beverages to choose from. Each Friday the Company hosts a... "happy hour" and caters in food - Participate in field tests on beta products

    Show More

    Cons

    - C-suite is uninspiring and lacks the charisma or stage presence required to lead an innovative organization. - Product misses and increased competition has led to poor earnings and unsure outlook as an independent company. - Everything. Moves. Slowly. There are too many meetings. In order to accomplish any task or project you'll need a treasure map to locate the correct resources. - Poor middle-management... capabilities. If you thrive in an environment where no clear instructions are provided, like to figure out on your own how to do something by spinning your wheels for an eternity and have a manager that is never around to provide guidance or even just to check in how you are during 1:1's that always get canceled, then Fitbit is for you. If not (like most), you might consider working elsewhere. - Communication? Help? Those are dirty words here. When you become frustrated after spending hours or (likely) days on a task because on one was available to help you and found out only after a simpler way existed and hear the term that it's the "Fitbit way," don't be alarmed. Unlike the "HP way" that typically connotes positive things, performing something this way means doing it without instruction, by yourself since no one around is willing to help for fear they teach you something that eliminates their job security, most inefficient method possible since you have to re-invent the wheel. - No gym. Meger 401(k) match capped at $2K. Workout Wednesdays are really not workout Wednesday's as the company boasts. These are supposed to be days that employees are asked to wear workout wear and take time out of your day at work to do some physical activity they love. What this day turns out to be is just another day with worn with comfortable clothing (since you can't leave the office anyways with competing deliverables all due at the same time...or are they since clear instructions weren't given?). The most annoying part of this day is you're unable to book conference rooms at all since you're supposed to eliminate all company meetings on these days. This never happens, and it's a mad dash trying to find an open room.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake, UP. You know from the engagement surveys things need to change, The only positive thing worth mentioning is almost every single employee is proud to work there, despite miserable ratings in all other areas. Retain your talent through whatever means you know right. Start a mentoring program to allow a path for the growth of your junior staff. Have mandatory management training for your managers, and... require them to actually manage their staff if they're people managers. Take out the red tape and ask why it takes such a long time to get anything done. Are the bottlenecks from disgruntled tenured emplees? If so, remove them and hire people that are excited and motivated with a fresh set of eyes and clear mind. There's such potential and it makes many want to scream when they see how management either doesn't care or is clueless how their employees are treated and felt.

    Show More
    Fitbit2019-09-05
Found 259 reviews