Fasken Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Fasken Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Fasken Firm Managing Partner Peter Feldberg
Peter Feldberg
17 Ratings
  1. "Fasken is my home/family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fasken full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fasken management/lawyers work very hard to create a nurturing environment which enables you to grow in your practice area and supports you personally (corporately and individually) through your journey in life. Fasken has many, many long term staff for a good reason. Having worked there for 30+ years and been through everything from getting married, having children and losing parents/child/spouse in those years, the Fasken "family" (they really are a community) has supported me through every step of the way.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only down side had nothing to do with Fasken but rather the commute to Vancouver every day. They have opened a Surrey office where I now work and it is amazing!

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to on the path you have chosen for the firm's staff. It is a good one. We are

    Fasken2019-11-04
  2. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Administrative Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fasken full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are so kind, and the conditions of work too

    Cons

    There were no problems, the environment of work was great

    Advice to Management

    None

    Fasken2020-01-22
  3. "Good Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Fasken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Pay, People, and Environment were great.

    Cons

    Heavy Workload most days but the people make it easy.

    Fasken2020-01-09
  4. "Good company with good advantages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patent Agent in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fasken full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects Good clients Balance between work and private life

    Cons

    Sometimes hard deadlines to meet Different department do not interact enough IT service could be improved

    Advice to Management

    Team building events would be nice.

    Fasken2019-10-18
  5. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fasken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and lawyers Interesting work Fun/hardworking culture

    Cons

    n/a so far so good

    Fasken2019-10-16
  6. "don't waste your talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fasken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can't think of any at the moment

    Cons

    you won't learn anything you work like a dog with no recignition or decent.raise the old bags loke to pick on secretaries rumor-mongering they'll fire you with jo warjing but with a lame excuse

    Advice to Management

    you aee 2000 and late. Employees aren't stupid. Stop playing favourites and stop making your problems those of the employees. Everuone leaveing there is depressed and burned out.

    Fasken2019-11-07
  7. "Nat bad, but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant 

    I have been working at Fasken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very reputable place to work with big clients and high profile projects.

    Cons

    The work varies greatly on who you are working with. For the most part, if you are an assistant, you do mainly administrative work. Do not expect to gain experience beyond that, even if you ask for it.

    Fasken2019-07-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Rude lawyers & management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fasken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food after meetings. That's about it.

    Cons

    Rude lawyers & management. They do not reward people based on their hard work. They will use your extra skills and then not give you the title advancements they promised you when they hired you, also they'll find a reason to not give you a raise. Then they'll fire you if you try and communicate to them that you'd like to just do what you were hired to do and not perform the extra skill duties you offered in hopes of a promotion or raise.

    Show More
    Fasken2019-02-07
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Clerk in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fasken part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work spaces brand new

    Cons

    As I write this, I've only been working for Fasken for less than 3 months, so difficult to tell

    Fasken2018-12-12
  10. "Great firm to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fasken full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -friendly environment -great benefits -good culture -great people

    Cons

    -physical space is decent but furniture and colour is boring -improve training offered to new and existing staff

    Fasken2018-12-06
Found 43 reviews