ExpressJet Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ExpressJet Airlines Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 549 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
ExpressJet Airlines CEO Subodh Karnik (no image)
Subodh Karnik
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "I uses my flight benefits as much as possible so i was happy for the some freedom(in 72 reviews)

  • "Travel benefits on some airline carriers(in 33 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Expressjet first officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Officer in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training department. Good salary and benefits. Good people to work with all around.

    Cons

    Time away from home but that is to be expected in this profession.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-09-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Flight attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flying benefits, meet new people, pay

    Cons

    Being away from home, seniority list too long

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-08-15
  3. "Glad I left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airline Pilot in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training and great employees

    Cons

    Poor advancement and better pay at competitors

    Advice to Management

    Replace the current leadership structure.

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-08-22
  4. "worst job ever .....run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Scheduler in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    none....only pros were clocking out....

    Cons

    cancer, heart disease, robbery, 12+ hour days, 6 day weeks, no lunch break, verbally abusive management, very hostile environment, job led to serious illness for several people

    Advice to Management

    resign! hire new management. talk to employees like people instead of suspects on a lineup

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-09-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Personal Opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get flight benefits

    Cons

    They got rid of my position and put me back as a flight attendant, then posted my position back on the website a week later. This is an example of the type of company they are.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the position if you are going to only hire your friends so the company doesn't have to furlough people again. If they have no experience or education they should not be qualified to have it.

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-08-08
  6. "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, travel benefits, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    ExpressJet used to be a great company but Co. Changes became all about bottom line. Union staff changed to inexperienced selfish people who only care for themselfs and buddies and don't do their jobs and support the flight attendants. Give away the rights in the contract. Union dues too high for pay and service.

    Advice to Management

    Get some people who treat employees like living, breathing human beings instead of robots. Its not always the flight attendants fault! Follow the contract that management agreed to. Negotiate fairly for the next one.

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-08-05
  7. "Good place to get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Technician in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's a job at least.

    Cons

    The pay and benefits suck.

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-07-25
  8. "So far, so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a new associate I have never been welcomed to a company with such open arms. Every single person I encounter is warm and friendly. I took this job based off of the interview, and the immediate level of comfort I felt with the hiring manager.

    Cons

    The pay is not the best, but use tunnel vision to see your future.

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-07-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Airline in the Aviation Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Expressjet is a great airline to work for. Flight crews and flight attendants work close together and I always felt like we were a family.

    Cons

    Because this is a small regional airline, there are not many bases to choose from. But you are allowed to ask for a transfer after 6 months at your current base.

    Advice to Management

    Flight crews are the front line of the company and they know first hand what the customer's expectations are. Please be open to their suggestions.

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-06-30
  10. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Technician in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ExpressJet Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    if you can’t find anything else they’ll hire you. Flight benefits are nice and health insurance is good.

    Cons

    Pay is lowest in the industry with no raise in sight. Management is awful and unwilling to help. They keep around mechanics that are not capable of doing the work and management knows they’re not capable but it’s man hours on paper work so they don’t care. Older union guys hate it there and are constantly complaining.

    ExpressJet Airlines2019-08-07
Found 549 reviews