Eventbrite Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Eventbrite Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 330 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Eventbrite CEO Julia Hartz
Julia Hartz
166 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains associated with a scaling company: some disorganization at the senior level can give individual contributors whiplash and cause burnout(in 15 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of changes as expected with a growing company, but sometimes I feel the communication could be better(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Problems at Vancouver office potentially saved by Eventbrite brand, but history of toxic culture and high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time

    Pros

    - Eventbrite has a positive brand and culture and will likely try to improve local reputation. - Fun space to work in: events.

    Cons

    Do extra research and reference checks if you're looking at a job at this office. While Eventbrite has a workplace brand of being inclusive, diverse, and supportive, this office has a reputation of something quite different. The Eventbrite Vancouver office came from the acquisition of a Vancouver startup called Picatic. That team and its leadership are still intact there, but was wrought with high turnover and toxic... workplace culture for years. Here are some specific examples: - Extremely high turnover and so many disgruntled former employees. In the last 2 years leading to the Picatic acquisition by Eventbrite, for example about 70% of the people hired to do sales, marketing, or support (the half of the company not coding full time on the core product) left in frustration or were abruptly fired. You'd never get a genuinely convincing reason why they quit or were fired, they'd never visit the office, you'd see them remove Picatic from their LinkedIn bios, you'd see them write insinuating comments around the web about it being a mediocre job, and you'd even see them leave disgruntled comments on the management team's social media posts. The origin story of the company was rarely shared because it's full of burned bridges. It was so painful. - Not diverse, not supportive. For example, no women were hired or could be retained as employees. Many times, you would hear people's opinions be insulted out loud in front of other teams or colleagues. If an opinion wasn't the same as management's, often you would be ganged up on. Over time, everyone just started sucking up because other opinions and debate were so dangerous. - These aren't just fixable skills, like hiring, managing, firing, defining job responsibilities, etc, but systematic problems. Also being able to say that the company was acquired (though really acqui-hired to the detriment of many people) probably only gives them validation that how they were doing things is ok, so they are unlikely to change. - Look at roles at other offices, or just hold off 6 months and see if things and office leadership dramatically change.

    Show More
    Eventbrite2019-03-12

    Eventbrite Response

    March 25, 2019Eventbrite

    At Eventbrite, we strive to create a culture of open dialogue and feedback, so I really appreciate you taking the time to share this with us. While I can't personally speak to the specifics of Picatic's culture and office environment in the past, I can say that we have made and continue to make a big investment in our Vancouver Britelings. We have put leadership training, feedback workshops, and coaching in place. We have seen our culture and our development training create best in career experiences across our global offices, and we are dedicated to creating a Vancouver office where all perspectives are represented. Continuous improvement is super important to us, so please reach out to me directly if you'd like to share more (omer@eventbrite.com). -Omer Cohen, Chief People Officer

    Show Less
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Developer in Mendoza
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, a lot of benefits

    Cons

    Home office options is too limited

    Eventbrite2019-09-19
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, friendly work environment

    Cons

    Disorganized, not really many other cons

    Eventbrite2019-08-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Culture, Challenging Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team-oriented environment. Coworkers are eager to assist one another. Laidback office with complimentary food/snacks. Management is flexible, understanding, and trustful. Day-to-day is full of problem-solving so there's variety.

    Cons

    Disorganized resources (difficult to find the most relevant material with constant product updates). Too many communication platforms. There's a company-wide sense of stress at this moment due to company acquisitions.

    Advice to Management

    Organize resources centrally and eliminate out of date information. Prioritize the design and engineering of the product.

    Eventbrite2019-08-19
  5. "Amazing culture questionable management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, coworkers, free lunchs

    Cons

    Sometimes the process and decisions can be slows, not much changes opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Generate more spaces for career developing and evaluate more the people who becomes manager. Despite, continue with the amazing culture of the company!

    Eventbrite2019-08-19
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned, grew, great benefits. I think the company overall is in an exciting place.

    Cons

    None that is unique to Eventbrite

    Eventbrite2019-08-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Company with a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Madrid
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive company, they work for people inclusion in many ways, they're always open to talk with employees, you work as a team, collaborating with your colleagues. They used inclusive languages, they support internal groups as woman, diversity, etc You have a 1:1 with your manager every week or every 2 weeks and you also as a 1:1 with the manager of your manager to be sure everything is going well.

    Cons

    Sometimes it's a bit hard the different timezone but they're working on improve that for everyone

    Advice to Management

    You're doing a good job

    Eventbrite2019-07-29
  8. "Great company, but the job sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunches, snacks, drinks, friendly team, great office, free parking downtown..

    Cons

    The job itself really sucks. People call, email, and chat in all day to complain about the product.

    Eventbrite2019-07-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good office culture, supportive management, great product, accommodating hours, friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    Longer hours than ideal for commuters, but not a huge problem.

    Eventbrite2019-07-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work, very focus on building a great culture and each employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Vision: Eventbrite is very good at guiding to the company's vision sharing transparency from the Board to any employee. Product: It is a product company and you feel that. Culture: The people that work in the company always try to help you, cultural fit is very important and the rest of the team make you feel like home Perks: A great amount of good perks.

    Cons

    After several company acquisitions it is still hard to create one culture, one way regardless the office. It is a work in progress issue that requires more time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being as open as you are, try to replicate the model that works in every office and also, let's target soon not only the creators, but our lovely attendees!

    Eventbrite2019-07-01

    Eventbrite Response

    July 3, 2019

    So happy to hear about the positive parts of your experience so far. Thanks for sharing, it helps us know what to keep focusing on! The insight about how to merge different cultures after acquisitions is spot on - we want to balance giving new offices and teams autonomy to develop their own authentic "Briteland" while still offering the core parts of the company culture that make it so great. We'll keep working hard to make sure each office feels like they're getting the support, access, and perks that are on par with the Eventbrite culture. And more attendee goodness is coming! If you have great ideas, don't hesitate to share while we keep building out this area :) - Vivian Chaves, Community Director SF

    Show Less
Found 330 reviews