Eskew Dumez Ripple Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Eskew Dumez Ripple Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Decent place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Interior Designer 

    I have been working at Eskew Dumez Ripple full-time

    Pros

    learned a lot while I was here

    Cons

    not a place I want to be long term

    Eskew Dumez Ripple2019-06-28
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at Eskew Dumez Ripple full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good people, and quite good design. Hours are great!

    Cons

    The projects are mostly from the south part of US. So it's kind of regional.

    Eskew Dumez Ripple2018-04-02
  3. "creative company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Eskew Dumez Ripple for less than a year

    Pros

    creative and thoughtful architecture gather together in this company.

    Cons

    people are working so hard!

    Eskew Dumez Ripple2018-03-02
  4. "Good for New Orleans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Eskew Dumez Ripple

    Pros

    The studio is great and they attract many great people. The workplace culture is open and easy although people don't engage much while working, which can be tough.

    Cons

    It's hard to show leadership at EDR beyond traditional—very traditional—channels. There's interest in innovating the business but the senior leadership hasn't figured out how to empower employees to do that yet.

    Eskew Dumez Ripple2016-01-22
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Designer in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Eskew Dumez Ripple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work space on the top floor of a downtown high rise overlooking the river. They take design pretty seriously and is definitely the best in the city and one of the few really great design firms in the region. The scale of work is great too ranging from smaller interior work to larger hospitals, but mostly in the mid-scale range where you can really dig into the quality of spaces and details. Most of it is within...

    Show More

    Cons

    The primary design of projects is rewarded to only a few people within the office almost solely overseen by the Design Director, who's pretty great. Not a horrible system since "design by committee" fails also, but unsure how projects are distributed in the office. Mid-level management was a bit low at the time, but upper level management was a bit top heavy making getting technical assistance on projects difficult since...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As the office grows more people should be involved in the preliminary aspects of design. I would also recommend exploring more advanced technologies within the office. The office was a bit top heavy, 5 partners for a 30 person office, when I was there so upward mobility seemed difficult.

    Eskew Dumez Ripple2015-05-14
  6. "Architect Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Eskew Dumez Ripple

    Pros

    Good location, great atmosphere, friendly employees. Management is very open with staff and takes a genuine effort to foster growth in employees.

    Cons

    Like with most companies, it is not perfect. Some organizational and directional things could be worked on.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the openness with employees and convey a clear direction with where the company is going in the future.

    Eskew Dumez Ripple2015-04-30
  7. "Intrinsic problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Eskew Dumez Ripple

    Pros

    EDR has good benefits. Good perks with lunch an learns and parties. Good people and friends. They do great projects.

    Cons

    There is something intrinsically wrong with the management system that makes it a difficult place to work. Nothing you can put your finger on, but it makes for an oppressive environment.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees the freedom to do their job.

    Eskew Dumez Ripple2014-05-28
  8. "so-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Eskew Dumez Ripple

    Pros

    great recognition within the New Orleans architecture scene

    Cons

    communication between employees and management is poor

    Eskew Dumez Ripple2012-04-21
Found 8 reviews