Elementum Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Elementum Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Elementum CEO Nader Mikhail
Nader Mikhail
172 Ratings
Pros
  • "Innovative company creating a new category within supply chain tech(in 29 reviews)

  • "Free food but does that really matter(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not an environment for someone who is not adaptable and cannot keep up with fast-paced environment(in 9 reviews)

  • "Product: Was a great idea and opportunity to be a "Supply Chain Visibility" tool about 5 years ago(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growth company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative company creating a new category within supply chain tech. They’ve finally developed a business model that is repeatable and scalable. The vision is clear and easily articulated across the board. It’s an environment where employees have the opportunity to grow and take on new responsibilities and strong leadership. You’re well compensated and there are times where you’re going to put in work beyond your... normal hours- however you maintain a strong work-life balance. With higher compensation comes expectations, and you need to be comfortable with challenging the status quo and the targets you set. A lot of the negative reviews were from employees that were unfortunately let-go when the company restructured, changed their go-to-market strategy, and refined their business model. Great work perks from fitness, lunches, amazing vacation policy.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say so far.

    Elementum2019-09-17
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Run Don't Walk Away From Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time

    Pros

    Been here for some time and in the early days the compensation was great, but I doubt that's the case now. They offer a lot of the start up perks you'll find in Silicon Valley. The theory behind the solution is impressive and brought in equally impressive people on the ground floor so you'll meet some excellent people. This is one of those high risk high reward situations. If everything aligns here, this place will... be the next big thing.

    Show More

    Cons

    The organization has no identity. Every quarter it seems to change and with that change it just results in more layoffs. There has been a large number of layoffs here and that isn't something new for company. With a new strategy they bring in some amazing people to help move things along but if things don't immediately work out they redirect and layoff those they just hired. It's hard to respect a leadership team... when they do that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you need to change the way you go after the market every quarter it may be time to look at the executive leadership making those decisions. Time and time again the same leaders try to solve problems with little to no success, yet their jobs remain safe. It might be time to reflect on your roles in the company rather than taking it out on the people we work with.

    Elementum2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Fantastic colleagues and clientele - but poor planning and distant management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the smartest, kindest, quirkiest colleagues I've ever had the pleasure of working with. I really enjoy going to work every day to collaborate with these great people. Our clientele is really impressive, and you get a lot of exposure to them. In my team at least, there is a lot of trust in personal autonomy in front of clients. The product has issues, but a lot of what we're doing hasn't been done... before. Many people in the office are persistent nonetheless and have a truly deep appreciation for supply chain and the challenges associated with taming it. The problems we face are interesting and fun to solve. Great Silicon Valley perks like insurance, 401k, lunches/snacks, and a nice office to work in.

    Show More

    Cons

    The management is way too distant for a company of our size. I barely see my boss or the next three levels up the chain at the office. I like the autonomy but I also feel no one ahead of me has my back. It seems the upper management is really poor at long term planning. First we hire, then we layoff. I'm told to refer friends for job postings, then there's a hiring freeze. Plan an extravagant holiday party, then... cancel it. Rent an extra building for expansion, then we cancel the contract. Why are we so bad at planning? Why haven't we been able to recruit a good planner?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring an external hire with deep planning experience to act as COO/CFO. Cost and revenue projections should not be that hard. Start-ups are turbulent but they shouldn't be this turbulent Senior managers -- you need to put in more face time with your grunt troops. If you need to be in the field for whatever reasons, hire someone who is exclusively focused on cultivating relationships within Elementum. Right now I... feel like no one in a leadership position wants to help me succeed.

    Show More
    Elementum2019-01-12
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Poor Planning - Financial Troubles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elementum full-time

    Pros

    -Honestly a great group of people, very motivated and high energy -Pay and benefits are excellent

    Cons

    -Extremely poor planning: (for example) they were offering large internal referral bonuses and classifying open positions as "critical need," and then laid all of those new hires off less than 6 months later

    Advice to Management

    Use this most recent downsize to do right by your remaining people. Good luck!

    Elementum2019-02-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Fast Moving, Supply Chain Game Changer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elementum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Solving impossible problems - Work and hire top talent only - Extremely competitive pay - Great Culture - Immediate change to processes and people that are holding the company back

    Cons

    - Being stretched by growth - Too much autonomy for individuals who are not leaders - Not enough hours in the day to get everything done

    Advice to Management

    - Learn from the past and try to anticipate bottlenecks before they occur

    Elementum2018-07-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elementum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The people: fantastic colleagues across every functional team. Taking their work seriously without taking themselves seriously. Whatever the ups and downs startup life would bring, these are the people you'll want to be with. - The opportunity: supply chain is beyond ripe for serious disruption, but few companies are truly innovating in the space, and none have Elementum's vision. Combined with a strong and... excited customer base, and growing partnerships, Elementum is uniquely poised to win. - The space: visitors repeatedly told me Elementum has one of the better offices in the area. Pool table, ping pong, plenty of space, whiteboards everywhere, two cafes, showers, etc.. The list goes on! - The perks: beyond the office itself, Elementum takes care of its employees with highly competitive and valuable perks. Dogs in the office, unlimited PTO, 401k, health insurance, meals and snacks, etc..

    Show More

    Cons

    As mentioned by others, it's a startup. You'll see the occasional late night. You'll work hard because there is no time to lose. Things will change quickly because agility remains a key competitive advantage at this stage in the company. It's also a growing startup, and inevitably you'll see growing pains as teams grow and adapt to new structures. That said, leadership is doing well to maintain the strong culture... through the growth.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to and acting on employee feedback! Stay focused and you'll continue the great progress we've made so far.

    Elementum2016-03-18
  7. Helpful (10)

    "A flaming dumpster fire of ineptitude."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elementum full-time

    Pros

    Vision was good but not executable. Some really solid players who worked hard for one another

    Cons

    Everything else. Literally. The ‘vision’ was borne from people who had no idea how Supply Chain actually works in any practical sense. The product was essentially the Emperors New Clothes. Rampant hire and fire culture - the worst I have seen anywhere. Domain expertise wasn’t valued - those that pointed out the issues with the approach were dismissed. The fundamental strategy of the business changed each quarter -... confusion reigned as sales teams had no idea what the message was.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Build a time machine (which is about as practical an idea as the product strategy was) - go back to 2016 and replace the entire senior management team

    Elementum2019-10-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Elementum full-time

    Pros

    Great environment in the BA office / Microservices architecture and new technologies / Challenging problems to solve / Possibility to travel to Mountain View HQ

    Cons

    Business domain too complex for a startup / Poor Leadership and lack of direction / Abscence of expertise on product owners /

    Elementum2019-08-20
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Keep looking elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elementum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product is aimed at solving ambitious challenge with big TAM. In Mountain View you could be offered Silicon Valley level comp and perks (but don't get excited too fast: a proper discount is embedded in the low quality of experience and poor job security). Some people find it cool to have blue chip companies as customers.

    Cons

    Product-market fit is not found, which is a bit overdue. Company has lost times more customers than it has retained. Long implementation time and feedback loop. With product being sold in 3 year deals, value to the client is realized only many months into the contract, if at all. High management turnover. Chances are, you'll get to work for a person with small tenure who is still figuring stuff out, not... trusted by top management, looks for her/his own next gig elsewhere and has no incentive for investing in you. There is no basis for expecting a consistent culture. Personality and skill set of the CEO. Nader is charismatic and probably personally responsible for all revenue company has. Without relationships he built with customers there is probably no company. However, resulting confidence in his own judgement could be getting in the way of hearing other people and making best decisions for the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is potential for Board to find a way to light a bigger fire under Nader. CEO and COO could benefit from getting professional help on enabling managers to do their jobs and hiring the right people. It also makes sense to consider further scaling down and getting out of high cost locations - you need more runway to figure out what are you doing.

    Elementum2019-09-03
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Reckless, unethical, rudderless. Don't risk your career here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales/Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elementum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free healthcare costs for you (not family). Free lunch if you work in the office. Plenty of open desks.

    Cons

    Consistent pattern of hiring people for "experiments" with exaggerated promises and firing them months later if it doesn't work. Changing direction every quarter because they lack the fortitude to see anything through. Unethical business practices are the norm. "We're a 'startup', we couldn't have seen X coming..." is the excuse used to write off all manner of bad behavior. Willing to promise nearly anything... to attract talent knowing they will not retain them long enough to have to deliver it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop using peoples careers and lives as a throwaway for your experiments. Its reckless and has a real human impact to peoples lives. Start caring about the people you hire. If you don't intend to keep them, DONT hire them.

    Elementum2019-08-24
Found 223 reviews