Edelman Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Edelman Reviews

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Edelman CEO Richard W. Edelman
Richard W. Edelman
1,244 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work/ life balance can be tough(in 263 reviews)

  • "Are there times when you're going to need to work some long hours or endure a heavy week and some weekend work(in 181 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Great office environment. Brilliant people to learn from. Get to be apart of incredible work.

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Edelman2018-12-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Well, I think they could improve on issues around accessibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very interesting brands and the actual work itself was intriguing

    Cons

    - Open office (difficult for those with potential disabilities and sensory processing issues) - I am a female with Autism and ADHD - I also now have a PhD with award-winning quantitative research skills and a dissertation that focuses on digital media. Instead of accommodating and making use of my skills, they fired me. - Humiliating treatment from then management who sat me down with a red pen, and forced me to circle my typos on a rough draft while she watched. I have a disability, I process visual information differently. Completely unacceptable.

    Edelman2019-10-26
  3. "Working at Edelman Toronto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Major clients, global network of bright thinkers, PR industry leader, great location across from the ROM

    Cons

    Over the years, Edelman Toronto’s heart has waned. Senior management can be myopic when it comes to choosing future leaders.

    Edelman2019-09-03
  4. "Mixed review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting clients Opportunities to work with intelligent colleagues Travel as part of network

    Cons

    Quite a negative atmosphere in the office due to downsizing Lack of strategic direction

    Edelman2019-07-07
  5. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    1. Great opportunities 2. Global brand 3. Good training and mentoring

    Cons

    1. Lack of open communications with top management

    Edelman2019-06-04

    Edelman Response

    June 18, 2019Edelman

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad you think Edelman is a "best place to work". Me too! I'm also happy to share that we've just rolled out an employee engagement platform that gives everyone the opportunity to directly provide feedback to their managers and those in the reporting line above them on a quarterly basis. I'm confident that this tool will help open communication channels with top management. We appreciate your feedback and I wish you the best. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

    Continue reading
  6. "Great experience and amazing growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing clients to work on, great learning curve and room for growth

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be off at times

    Edelman2019-03-28
  7. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and flexible hours

    Cons

    Internal issues and low salaries

    Edelman2019-02-24
  8. "Good place to work, but you're on the clock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    great culture, great people, great CEO

    Cons

    Its billable hours so you must document what you are doing for every 15 minutes of the day.

    Edelman2018-08-17
  9. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Edelman full-time

    Pros

    Lots of learning opportunities, everyone is helpful and friendly, supportive culture, everyday is different

    Cons

    Average salary, typical cons of agency life (you have to push for your work-life balance, time sheets)

    Edelman2018-06-19

    Edelman Response

    June 26, 2018Edelman

    Thanks for your feedback. I'm happy to hear you're learning a lot and find the culture helpful and fun! I've been at Edelman going on 22 years and can't agree more - I still learn something new every day. Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

    Continue reading
  10. "Fantastic agency to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - British Columbia in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Edelman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really nice people and a variety of interesting work. The company is respectful of employees and clients, and seeks to promote equality and diversity. Beautiful offices and opportunities for promotion from within.

    Cons

    Agency life can make for an inconsistent workflow, but overall it's pretty steady.

    Edelman2018-06-05

    Edelman Response

    June 26, 2018Edelman

    Thanks for your feedback. I'm so happy to hear you're so happy! Maria O'Keeffe, Executive Director, US HR

    Continue reading
Found 1920 reviews