Earnest Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Earnest Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Susan Ehrlich
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced tech industry startup with strong potential(in 10 reviews)

  • "Reasonable 9-5 work life balance for individual contributors(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Valuable Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Happiness Representative 

    I worked at Earnest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Awesome industry -Hefty compensation -Fast paced tech industry startup with strong potential

    Cons

    -Hours limit work/life balance -coworkers sometimes noninclusive

    Earnest2019-06-22
  2. "Leaving harder times behind us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earnest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Modern and improving tech stack, many initiatives to reduce tech debt that have executive support. - Reasonable 9-5 work life balance for individual contributors. - Decent financial stability and transparency. - Empathetic co-workers and first level managers. - Sense of a comeback in engineering after a large change in direction earlier this year. - Improving executive team, after the acquisition by Navient it...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Almost any enterprise software tool pushed on Earnest by Navient is going to be subpar, from time tracking to expense reimbursement. Workday is the exception. - High security and compliance requirements can make every day life harder than it needs to be. - Open office plan encourages an interrupt culture instead of a mindful culture. - Middle management relies on meetings excessively.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from SLO launch and avoid high pressure projects with hard deadlines. Follow through on the initiatives to reduce tech debt even if it takes longer than originally anticipated, they will pay off with reduced attrition and faster delivery of future strategic projects. If you have to impose a hard deadline on engineering again make sure we start early and strong.

    Earnest2019-05-29
  3. "Life as an Earnie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Earnest

    Pros

    Great benefits and an amazing tech culture

    Cons

    Shifts required odd scheduling fluctuations throughout weekend and late night hours.

    Earnest2019-01-30
  4. "Great company to build a future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earnest full-time

    Pros

    Focused on customer impact Company is focused on building good fundamentals

    Cons

    Lots of changes with business evolving

    Earnest2018-12-19
  5. "Awesome Compony To Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earnest full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Earnest does have Flexible Schedule!

    Cons

    Parking, have to walk a block.

    Earnest2018-11-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good for the most part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Earnest full-time

    Pros

    - The atmosphere of the Salt Lake City office is very energetic - The work is interesting and there is a lot to learn - Competitive compensation - PTO is very generous, WFH is often an option - There is always something to work on, I am never bored - Horizontal organization, relatively easy to get in touch with exec's

    Cons

    - Health insurance for 2019 is very expensive - Understaffed - Getting more dependent on Navient

    Advice to Management

    The servicing platform change in November was an absolute nightmare for both clients and employees. Exec's do not seem invested in solving the never ending problems associated with it. PLEASE do something to salvage what is left of employee morale and bring Earnest's values back.

    Earnest2018-12-07
  7. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Operations Specialist in North Salt Lake, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earnest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Some of the best people I have ever worked for! -Great office in the heart of SLC. -Catered lunches -Work from home days -Snacks in the break room -Making a difference in client's lives -Company parties/team outings -Did I mention the people?!

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Earnest2018-11-14
  8. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earnest full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Communication access to upper management *LOTS of perks (too . many to mention) *Convenient location (near TRAX)

    Cons

    Parking availability ( SLC keeps raising the parking fees)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide easy communication and access to your employees despite the current purchase from Navient. Lets keep it a start up feel!

    Earnest2018-11-14
  9. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Earnest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and fun culture

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed for amount of work

    Earnest2018-10-29
  10. "Best Job I've Ever Had (And I've Had a Bunch)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Earnest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is excellent; hours are flexible, PTO is generous, and WFH is often an option. Regular company events keep work fun Company mission is actually meaningful—our work helps people save money on their student loans and get out of debt sooner. Earnies are generally smart, nice people. I've made great friends here, and enjoy working with almost everyone at the company. Compensation is generous...

    Show More

    Cons

    Office often doesn't have a lot of energy...lots of empty desks. But recent space consolidation should help. The Navient acquisition has added red tape in many ways, and their cost-cutting approach has mean some compromises when it comes to delivering the best experience for our clients. That noisy refrigerator.

    Advice to Management

    Reassure people that we still have a San Francisco startup heart, and are seeking to build beautiful products that are better than our competitors'. Throw money at some amazing engineering talent.

    Earnest2018-10-26
Found 70 reviews