DreamWorks Animation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

DreamWorks Animation Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 407 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Margie Cohn
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, free breakfast and lunch, great bonuses, and flexible hours(in 68 reviews)

  • "Free food, relaxed environment, growth(in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not much other than semi-low pay(in 16 reviews)

  • "I am motivated by all works and movies done by DreamWorks(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at DreamWorks Animation

      Pros

      Amazing talent and artists to work with. Fantastic projects and good opportunity to learn from some of the best in the industry.

      Cons

      Sometimes there is a lack of growth in the company. However there is not much to complain about DreamWorks India. It is better than most studios in India.

      DreamWorks Animation2016-03-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "geologist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geology in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      i am working alwes presant mind

      Cons

      not depres any time every time work hard

      Advice to Management

      you give me a chance work hard

      DreamWorks Animation2019-04-30
    • "Friendly Environment with few issues"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time

      Pros

      Majority of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Projects were run pretty well from the get go. Benefits were okay.

      Cons

      Very cliquey environment at times. Who you associated with could determine your career development path & timeline.

      DreamWorks Animation2016-07-18
    • "Be of service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Consultant in Grand Prairie, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Wonderful people to with and for

      Cons

      None I can think of at the moment

      DreamWorks Animation2019-06-13
    • "-"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Licensing Director in London, England

        I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Highly creative and inspiring studio

        Cons

        Difficult working in a satellite office

        DreamWorks Animation2019-06-11
      • "Best"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time

        Pros

        Best place to work for everyone

        Cons

        According to me, there are no cons

        DreamWorks Animation2019-06-11
      • "Great work environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Pipeline Technical Director 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        DreamWorks has a great work environment. They have a beautiful campus and offer actives, classes, and events for their employees.

        Cons

        DreamWorks has an a lot of benefits to offer though does not offer a great salary compared to the market value.

        DreamWorks Animation2019-05-11
      • Helpful (3)

        "No longer an innovator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Manager in Glendale, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Nice campus, good benefits

        Cons

        The culture has taken a 180 degree turn since JK left. No vision, no accountability, no budget, below average pay.

        DreamWorks Animation2019-06-01
      • "Great Culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Production Supervisor 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        - Sense is community - pipeline development - history of company

        Cons

        - Current compensation - Upcoming slate is sequel heavy

        DreamWorks Animation2019-04-16
      • "Great people and working environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) 

        I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Friendly and helpful people. Free lunch

        Cons

        Salary is a bit low in tech industry

        DreamWorks Animation2019-04-07
      Found 407 reviews