DreamWorks Animation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

DreamWorks Animation Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 488 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Margie Cohn
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people, the free breakfast and lunch, the various activities they put on throughout the year, feels like a home like you arent even going to work(in 68 reviews)

  • "Free food, relaxed environment, growth(in 67 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Friendly Environment with few issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time

    Pros

    Majority of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Projects were run pretty well from the get go. Benefits were okay.

    Cons

    Very cliquey environment at times. Who you associated with could determine your career development path & timeline.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2016-07-18
  2. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation

    Pros

    Amazing talent and artists to work with. Fantastic projects and good opportunity to learn from some of the best in the industry.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a lack of growth in the company. However there is not much to complain about DreamWorks India. It is better than most studios in India.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2016-03-24
  3. "Wonderful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Animatic Editor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic company that truly cares about their employees. Always something going on to improve the quality of life for employees.

    Cons

    Has offices in multiple locations which isn’t perfect.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2019-08-12
  4. "Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation part-time

    Pros

    Best among the best always

    Cons

    I think I hate the salary altogether

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2019-08-11
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supervisors really care about mentoring their direct report and the company places a lot of resources into continuing education.

    Cons

    Movement between departments (marketing to production) is not always encouraged or allowed. Pay is under market.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2019-07-30
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in London, England

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This was a great place to work whilst it was an independent studio. I worked in the UK office where there was a great atmosphere, true team spirit and significant autonomy in my role. The offices were lovely and in a convenient location and I made genuine friends their who I am still in touch with now.

    Cons

    The purchase of the Studio by NBC Universal.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2019-07-25
  7. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn. Very nice and helpful people. Beautiful campus and free meals. Fun events and activities.

    Cons

    Less young folks on the film side than when I started.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2019-07-24
  8. "Tech? Don't bother...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We get to see Universal films before they come out. Yay. Paychecks don't bounce.

    Cons

    They kicked all of tech off of the Flower campus and relocated all of us at a call center in Glendale. Oh - it's not zoned for food preparation, so you get whatever they can jam into a van and drive over. This means there's no grill to enjoy if you're done having boiled eggplant and kale for the 4th time that week. The new space's water is borderline non-potable (verified by independent testing that TDS was barely legal), facilities consistently breakdown - nothing like walking through a lake of toilet water in an office space. It also means you no longer have access to the on-site medical facility, or any medical facilities. There used to be health stations at every break room with OTC medications, and bandages. I haven't seen a single one of these since we were moved. Since NBCU took over, it's been a downhill slide. Health insurance was changed so if you use Kaiser, you could pay up to $1500/month for single 'coverage'. Little things, like bus passes - used to be a benefit to get you to use mass transit. A metro pass was $30. Now they offer "use pretax dollars to buy one" at more than what it costs to just buy one from metro. Thanks DWA! Soft benefits, I know, but they add up. How about culture? Well, before NBCU we used to have wrap parties when we'd complete a movie. This most recent feature we were told "Don't you think you should wait to see if it makes money before you party?" That sums up the culture shift. How about the quality of our products? Our TV division is doing its best to make us Hannah-Barbera 2.0 and we haven't had a hit in so long that I'm not surprised they're letting someone else do the Shrek reboot. Does it sound like I'm whining a little? Ask our VP who just quit over it all.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2019-08-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Creative Minded Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A sense of community was evident at DreamWorks Animation. There were wonderful perks -- free food, doctor on site, and free movie Mondays.

    Cons

    Few people weighed in on the content being green-lit.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2019-07-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "What was once great is now spiraling the drain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Contributing to some of the most beautiful animated films of all time. Under Katzenberg, creativity, artistry and merit we’re paramount and the company backed that up fully.

    Cons

    NBCUniversal acquisition has slashed all budgets across all departments making it nearly impossible to even keep the lights on. Worse, lights-on is the driving mentality behind budgeting since 2016. No opportunity to innovate, invest or improve. Worse yet again, many decisions taken in the last year (2019) virtually already guarantee the failure of several critical path departments.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2019-07-10
Found 488 reviews