Discover Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Discover Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1913 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Discover CEO Roger Hochschild
Roger Hochschild
97 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "But that's everywhere this is really the greatest call center you can work for(in 58 reviews)

  • "no regard for work/life balance(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Reveiw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Discover full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work and learn new things

    Cons

    There is no such cons

    Discover2019-03-19
  2. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Discover

    Pros

    We had great benefits! the best

    Cons

    if there was a con, low pay

    Discover2016-01-14
  3. "DMS creating stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good benefits and people, flexible work environment

    Cons

    not agile, misses opportunities because of red tape, short term thinking

    Discover2019-08-21
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Assistant in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth is encouraged, pay is great, people are fun and kind

    Cons

    Taking phone calls , not enough off the phone opportunities

    Discover2019-08-20
  5. "Discover is the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in New Castle, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -accommodating -Fun work environment -Ability to grow

    Cons

    -Call volumes are very high at times

    Discover2019-08-19
  6. "Outstanding Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scrum Master in Riverwoods, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Discover for less than a year

    Pros

    Every door is open; as an intern I was able to have coffee chats with anyone (VPs, Senior Managers, etc). Interns are valued as a fresh pair of eyes and offered opportunities to pull in real work. Housing provided with other interns, plenty of organized socials and weekend trips downtown for fun.

    Cons

    Some managers unprepared for interns who waited weeks for their first project. Company has great values, but some of those values are rarely pursued and observed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the supportive environment and open door policy!

    Discover2019-08-19
  7. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits culture volunteer pay gym cafe

    Cons

    Inconsistent advancement call center computer issues

    Advice to Management

    Its probably not a good idea to give employees a weekend notice before they have to have training for weeks at a time different than their regular schedule hours for a “promotion” that several employees waited for for almost 2 years instead of the 2 to 5 months which was promised upon employment that was supposed to give a pay raise but suddenly was now a lateral move. The management is inconsistent with employees. They...

    Show More
    Discover2019-08-19
  8. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed environment with great culture

    Cons

    Lack of regional advancement opportunities. Must be willing to relocate to HQ outside of Chicago to advance.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more remote working opportunities

    Discover2019-08-19
  9. "Great Customer Focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Riverwoods, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Overall Discover offers terrific benefits and has an outstanding drive to provide customer service to cardmembers and merchants.

    Cons

    Lack of agreement within certain departments on how to prioritize business goals and how to execute them. Upper management is communicating that decisions need to be pushed to lower management levels, yet the reality is that the work environment is increasingly becoming more micromanaged.

    Advice to Management

    Replace officers with ones who agree with overall direction of most senior leadership. Keep offering the terrific benefits!

    Discover2019-08-16
  10. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at Discover full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and culture

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Discover2019-08-15
Found 1913 reviews