Defense Contract Management Agency Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Defense Contract Management Agency Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 206 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Defense Contract Management Agency CEO David H Lewis
David H Lewis
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work schedules were great(in 25 reviews)

  • "flexible work schedules, telework available, provides accolades and feed back for work ethic/performance(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor performing DCMA co-workers face few consequences and still receive scheduled GS pay raises(in 15 reviews)

  • "Upward mobility extremely limited(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time

    Pros

    Technological advances, overall pretty sweet job

    Cons

    Initial training can be a lot better

    Advice to Management

    Focus on building from within

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-06-07
  2. "Get to work with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Lead in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex hours, good vacation and nice work environment

    Cons

    I have no negatives to report.

    Advice to Management

    Better database to store GCQA plan and DC&A as well as process reviews and product exams. Much of it is now repetitive and does not allow for easy analysis.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-06-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best Federal Job I've Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Price Cost Analyst in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is a reality when you work for DCMA. I came from an audit agency where we were stressed to do nonsense work. At DCMA, whatever cons I've experienced have been different.

    Cons

    I've only actually liked the job I had the longest at DCMA, that of a Cost Monitor. I've had the Pricer job briefly a couple of times in different places, and it's so dry. I also briefly downsized to a Contract Administrator, and the work was so administrative biased ... Just keeping up with documentation. DCMA is a better agency than the audit agency, yet it matters a lot there what exact position you have.

    Advice to Management

    Do NOT let the audit agency affect DCMA procedures. The audit agency management personnel lack common sense. DCMA's business logic is far superior to audit logic. Keep things simple and straightfward. The audit agency has had a very high turnover due to it's ridiculous management decisions about the work. I hope DCMA can avoid following this example

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-05-15
  4. "Good place to work and gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Administrator in Littleton, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance and good workplace

    Cons

    Metrics for the sake of metrics, and the work can get mundane at times

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-05-12
  5. "Lots of responsiblility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Contracting Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, lots of chances to excel and grow.

    Cons

    Limit location and some negative personnel can poison the environment.

    Advice to Management

    Hold people accountable and make necessary firing/hiring decisions.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-05-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Systems Engineering oversight and Material Review Board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Engineer GS12 801 in Redondo Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very secure position like any other public sector job.

    Cons

    The work is somewhat repetitive and the bureaucracy can be frustrating.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-05-04
  7. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Integrator in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Availability to advance and move around. Flexible work schedule. Diverse and challenging environment.

    Cons

    Lengthy hiring process. It is the government. Have not adopted industry application process. Lengthy process to get rid of people that do not preform.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-04-06
  8. "Ok Place to Work for a set time period"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Contract Administrator 

      I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time

      Pros

      benefits like telework, transportation payment program, accessible training, a little local travel, and tablets/laptops for employees

      Cons

      building is not updated (redwood tower). hvac issues, electrical issues, pipe issues.

      Defense Contract Management Agency2019-04-16
    • "Dcma"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time

      Pros

      Great work and multiple locations

      Cons

      Hard to get promoted quickly.

      Defense Contract Management Agency2019-03-18
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations Research Analyst 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Telework Travel is a plus if you like traveling

      Cons

      Not flexible with change in policies

      Defense Contract Management Agency2019-03-18
    Found 206 reviews