Cummins Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cummins Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Cummins Chairman and CEO Tom Linebarger
Tom Linebarger
1,311 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cleaner in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and good employers

    Cons

    Late hours of work and tiring work

    Cummins2018-10-31
  2. "Great place to work! The people make all of the difference."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Corporate Accountant 

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I think Cummins has the best people in the world!

    Cons

    The restructuring actions are a bit unnerving every 3-4 years.

    Cummins2020-02-22
  3. "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SERVICE ADVISOR in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training is very important at Cummins. Well educated employees. Rewarded for success in sales.

    Cons

    Recently purchased by Cummins in states.

    Cummins2020-02-18
  4. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Heavy Equipment Mechanic 

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent work, decent compensation, manageable work/life balance.

    Cons

    Employee development lacking, not much for employees to transition into a developing position.

    Cummins2020-02-11
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Controller in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great management. Hardworking staff

    Cons

    Nothing specific to mention about Cons

    Cummins2019-11-21
  6. "Power Generation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good working environment and benefits

    Cons

    Clear career path is not visible

    Cummins2019-11-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Classic Iron Maiden “Run to the hills, run for your life!”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Heavy Duty Mechanic 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cummins

    Pros

    Some very good people to work with

    Cons

    Branch manager from a non mechanical background, doesn’t have a clue about engines. Disgusting workshop. Minimal workshop tooling. Entrenched multi generational tight fisted cheapness. Absolutely mean with money, not at all interested in capital expenditure.

    Continue reading
    Cummins2019-10-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "faulty engine from purchace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Professional Driver 

    I have been working at Cummins full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros for this engine

    Cons

    Had to replace every censor, took month to figure out the jack brack was done while they so called "technicians" spent me $30.000 on parts and labour for Cummmins to to give them the OK to change several parts that did not need to be replaced to fix the problem at my expense! Then when they replaced the fuel pump they got dirt into the fuel and clodded the regulater filter and the engine over heated and I am stuck in West Vinginia for 3 weeks waiting on parts! The wrong part came in. Had to wait another 24 hours to find out that wasn't the problem. Ordered another part. With a load on that they are sending a crane to take off of my trailer to deliver to the customer, which I totally understand, but I am being charged $800.00 for the crane because Cummins can't figure out what is wrong with my engine that they built!? And today they say the fuel pump was faulty, so sad not their fault!? I have replaced every thing on this motor and do not recommend it to anyone! Cummis used to have a great reputation but I do not recommend it to anyone!

    Cummins2019-07-16
  9. "Product Engineer - Technical Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Specialist 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cummins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work ethics, flexibility of timing

    Cons

    no retention policy, they hire to develop but are now left with very few capable employees to develop the new hires

    Continue reading
    Cummins2019-02-10
  10. "Validation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cummins full-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot. Friendly environment, competitive pay. the work/life balance is great too. If weather is really bad, you can work from home and get a lot done as in you are in office.

    Cons

    Service diagnostics needs to get more attention. It is a very vital thing to have in an engine company that is world wide.

    Continue reading
    Cummins2019-02-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 3356 reviews