CrowdRiff Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
CrowdRiff CEO  Dan Holowack
Dan Holowack
26 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work

    Jan 26, 2021 - Business Development Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Supportive - Great management - Strong future

    Cons

    - None at the moment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Unlimited Vacation

    May 6, 2021 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Unlimited Vacation - Good Benefits - They let you work remotely - The industry is interesting (travel & tourism) - MacBook Air

    Cons

    - Tough time for the industry - There are competitors to the product

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    na

    Mar 31, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was pretty good until covid

    Cons

    Travel Tech got hit due to Covid

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Committed to Improvement

    Sep 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CrowdRiff has really excellent employee programs: lots of vacation days, annual development fund, parental leave top up, anniversary travel benefit. Amazing team members who are all open, creative, easy to connect with, and share their personalities at work - you really feel like you get to know people well. Managers are really empathetic with employee's work-life balance, open to flexible hours, and understanding of family commitments or emergencies. The leadership team is working hard to maintain frequent communication with the team about upcoming changes, the current state of CrowdRiff departments, and rationale to decisions, which they should work to keep up!

    Cons

    As a changing start-up, especially because of changes due to COVID, the company is naturally in flux and finding its stride again. It's in a transition phase so things aren't perfect yet, but most of the leadership team seems really committed to making an effort to get the culture back to what it was, which understandably, isn't easily done remotely. I think it was clear they are not being complacent and letting the culture sag - they are working to improve it.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Smart people, good culture, stimulating work

    Aug 7, 2020 - Customer Success in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CrowdRiff is a great place to work. The company has managed to hire an incredible group of people. All of them smart, hard working and humble. Because CrowdRiff's industry changes frequently, that can mean product pivots and organizational shifts. However, all that is part of working in this industry, and at a start up. I think the leadership team handles these pivots well. All changes are communicated transparently. It also makes for pretty interesting work, and is definitely a good atmosphere for the kind of people who are adaptive and flexible.

    Cons

    While teams work well together in general, I do find that there can be a bit of a communication gap, specifically between CS and Product. However, I think this is a common tech issue, and one that our team is aware of and working to improve.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people, a few too many pivots

    Feb 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of great people across leadership, and across teams. Genuine care for D&I as part of the culture.

    Cons

    Strategic pivots were relatively frequent. Some more dedicated focus would help build peoples' confidence in the direction.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people, product and company should (and could) be better

    Sep 2, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some of the greatest people I've ever worked with. Employees were hard working, smart, and kind. CrowdRiff has an intense interview process, but it clearly pays off in the people they hire. - Overall good work/life balance. Felt like CrowdRiff cared about its employees and strived to create a good work environment. - Some interesting benefits, like a subsidized travel research program.

    Cons

    Very conflicted about CrowdRiff. There are some really great things about the company and product, but also so many issues that need to be addressed. - Most exec and director level management felt in over their heads. With a few exceptions, it was pretty clear that this was the first time many of them have held management positions. They made poor decisions on the growth of the company, and unfortunately lower-level employees paid the price and lost their jobs, rather than the decision makers. - Not a product-led company. There was no real product roadmap, and product direction changed many times with no real plan. Very little market research has been done, with the company solely relying on what's worked for them in the past. - Minimal career growth. Few internal promotions, and almost no career planning was done. - Blatant favouritism, especially on the Sales and Marketing teams.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    CrowdRiff Response

    Co-Founder and CEO

    Hi there, I value your input and appreciate the time you took to share this feedback. Both positive and constructive input is crucial as it informs how we continue to grow and improve CrowdRiff for current and future team members. When Abhi and I started CrowdRiff, the culture was founded on the basis of being kind to one another, being open to new ideas (no ego) and working hard to create something extraordinary for our customers and the travel industry. It’s nice to hear those values of kindness and collaboration remain strong and reflected in the great people you worked with here. We put a lot of thought and work into our recruitment practices to make sure we hire people that reflect CrowdRiff’s values. It was a challenging start to 2020. COVID hit just 30 days after introducing new initiatives for both product and people. Our focus turned to getting the company strong and growing again. In the 6 months that followed we did just that... establishing strategic customer partnerships, bringing two new products to market and achieving quarterly net growth beyond our forecasts. I’m so proud of the dedication and resilience of our team. They really came together for our customers, our industry and each other. Now, we still have a lot of work to do. Investing in our employees is something I take very seriously too. The work/life balance and benefits you mentioned are good, but just the beginning. We will go further. I appreciate you raising concerns around management, product direction and career planning. Work to improve these areas is underway and being made a priority. I see any form of feedback as an opportunity to reflect and improve as a company, so I want to thank you again for your insight. Myself and our team wish you the best. Dan Co-Founder and CEO

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place for a JR, but not intermediate or above

    Jul 8, 2020 - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - work/life balance - great team culture - good place to start in the industry

    Cons

    - lack of product direction from the company level. The focus of the company changes quarter to quarter, often being brand new product ideas and brand new markets with little research to support the switch. If there is research, it is not provided to the team. - micro management from executive team to product team for product decisions. As a developer at the company, you will be told what to build, how to build it, and not be given room to explore new options in tech. Feature production is the most important, and everything else falls by the wayside. There is a lot of tech debt accumulated, and quick solutions implemented for the sake of being done quicker. Building a system to scale isn't as much of a priority. - as an intermediate dev, your growth is not important to executive/leadership team. You will be kept at the level you are, and more experienced folks (and sometimes similarly/less experienced) will be hired instead of promoting from within. - key product and eng leadership roles are not kept filled. Lots of turn over of director of eng/head of product in last year. There's been a lot of turnover in team leads as well. - women are not given leadership oppertunities (see growth from within, vs hiring someone new), and women leaders/team leads/directors often leave or are fired. - product decisions are made on a whim with little validation. This causes the team to be forced to pivot spontaneously, and write brittle and quick code.

    10 people found this review helpful

    CrowdRiff Response

    Thank you for taking the time to review CrowdRiff on glassdoor. We see all feedback as an opportunity to reflect and improve as a company. I think it is great that you enjoyed our company culture, work/life balance and felt that CrowdRiff was a good place to start working in the industry. This means a lot to us. Investing in our company culture and employees is something we take very seriously at CrowdRiff and we are happy to hear you felt that during your time here. I also appreciate you raising your concerns around product direction, management and career growth. This year we have been focused on developing new product features, performance management framework and management training. That way, we can further support our growing customer base, employee performance and professional development at CrowdRiff. While we know these are good starting points, we acknowledge that we still have a lot of work to do. Thanks again for your insight. We wish you the best.

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Feels like the wheels are about to come off!

    Feb 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Fun industry to be in 2.Dog Friendly Office 3. Foosball table

    Cons

    1.Product has gone stale- a year and a half ago we were constantly releasing new features to stay ahead of the game. Now its all based on stories, with no plan if that fails 2.Leadership is at a loss- The company let go of a large amount of sales staff this month, to fix bad decisions made by management throughout the year. No one on the leadership team was let go, for what was their mistakes. Since the announcement, a handful of team members on various teams have handed in their notice. 3. Huge turnover- Over the last year the product team seems to be a revolving door as management can't get people to stay more than 6 months 4. People don't feel safe in their job anymore

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    CrowdRiff Response

    Co-Founder and CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We agree that our industry, customers and culture are a big part of what makes CrowdRiff a great place to work. To address your concerns, I am confident that our 2020 product roadmap under our product leadership at CrowdRiff, and the doubling of our investment in the product & engineering team will result in our flagship product continuing to be the market leader. The unprecedented interest in our Stories platform has also presented us with a massive opportunity that we made a strategic decision to unlock. You are correct that to realize these goals for the year ahead and beyond, we made strategic changes to our team structure that were necessary. This, along with attrition, is an unfortunate but inevitable part of our growth and shift from startup to scale-up. To your point on our leadership team, it is comprised of a healthy mix of both seasoned executives and newer leaders, all of whom have played a big part in our success over these last 5 years. We will continue to invest in professional development at all levels of our organization to best support our team and help us achieve our objectives. I appreciate the time you took to share both your positive and constructive feedback with us. Dan

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good stuff

    Dec 26, 2020 - Web Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to learn as a junior

    Cons

    Not a lot of promotion from within

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

Popular Careers with CrowdRiff Job Seekers

Customer Success Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Business Development Representative
Learn About the Job
Sales Development Representative
Learn About the Job

Work at CrowdRiff? Share Your Experiences

CrowdRiff logo
or